We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

After our Hurtigruten cruise it was a great place to stay. We toured the snow hotel, an excursion off the ship, then checked into,our very clean room with an amazing view. Walked into town and had the soup of the day at the Surf and Turf restaurant....delicious . The dinner in the hotel restaurant was very good, again an amazing view, as was the breakfast the next day. We did sign up for the night snowmobile tour. We were picked up at the hotel, tKen back to the snow hotel where we had a blast speeding across the fjord and even had a glimpse of the northern lights. We would highly recommend this hotel. Location, amenities, staff and view!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKellyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    281
    54
    13
    11
See reviews for
82
265
42
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

After sailing from Bergen to Kirkenes on The Nord Norge we stayed for two nights in The Thon Hotel Kirkenes. We quickly learnt that everthing in Norway is VERY expensive. However, on arrival reception was excellent with 'Denise' organising our rooms and flight confirmation requirements most efficiently. A short wait was necessary to get into our rooms. Denise suggested that we relax and enjoy a complimentary coffee or tea in the restaurant. At first we we led to believe that the rooms would not be available until 3pm (it being 10:00am at the time! Within 30 minutes, and after a relaxed cup of coffee we were handed our keys.
The rooms are light and spacious with adequate (if not generous) closet space. The bathroom was good and very clean (as was the rest of the hotel). The view from our room was down the Fjord and added to the feeeling of light and space.
Breakfast was included on both mornings. A buffet arrangement that was good. Reception organised our bookings with a local tour company to go Crab Fishing. It was expensive but proved to be great fun. Could not get a booking for Dog Sledding because they were fully booked, not the fault of the hotel.
Overall The Thon Hotel was clean and light. The staff were excellent in looking after us and our various needs. The breakfast was good and plentiful (omelettes cooked to taste were lovely). The stay was expensive but we would return should we go on The Hurtigruten again.

Room Tip: A room with a view along The Flord is worth pursuing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

+ in walking distance to the Hurtigruten quay
+ clean rooms
+ very good breakfast
+ bus stop in front of hotel for airport, Hurtigrute, snow hotel
+ nice terrace for viewing the northern lights

- windows don't open
- beds a bit soft

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank BangjoHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at this Hotel after arriving in Kirkenes on the Hurtigruten Ship MS Nordlys. We were fortunate to have a room with a beautiful panoramic view of the water. The Hotel is very comfortable and centrally situated. The buffet breakfast was excellent and there is free tea & coffee available. Our room was well equipped with a good bathroom. We would love to stay at this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P'line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOLOS-GREECE
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

we stayed end of januar 2014.
beatiful location by sea ,5minutes walk from city center.
rooms very modern ,though simple,comfortable;
nice designed bathrooms.
breakfast wonderful,with nice views,
personal very friendly.
kirkenes is beautiful small city, end of hurtigruten route
ideal for winter sports.i recommend dog sledding

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTOS_GR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This Thon (like many others) is not the most attractive building but inside the room are very comfortable and those with views are even more impressive. Place is immaculately clean and staff very professional and helpful. This is not a romantic boutique hotel but a very functional one. Breakfast was excellent buffet with eggs or pancakes cooked to order. Hotel is located in the 'centre' of Kirkeness what there is of it! As with most of Norway prices are not cheap. We could not see a huge difference between 'superior' rooms and standard ones. There are standard rooms with sea views. Bus stops right outside for airport or ferries.All in all an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed three nights at the Thon Hotel in Kirkenes at the end of our Lapland/Finnmark tour in search of the northern lights at the end of March 2014. The hotel is situated right on the water with magnificent views. You must get a room with a water view. We were in a "superior" room - these all had water views. The room wasn't that big (I can't imagine how small the non-superior rooms are) but was good enough. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been nice - but you can always pop down to the bar area for these - free of charge (but not hot chocolate - they charge for that).
The restaurant also has water views and the food was excellent. Ditto the buffet breakfast - a marvellous selection - my only gripe being that the fried eggs were cold by the time I got to them.
Having spent many hours out in the cold at various locations on our tour looking for the northern lights, the highlight of our hotel stay was watching the northern lights from the comfort of our room!

Room Tip: Go for a "superior" room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkenes
0.2 mi away
Scandic Kirkenes
Scandic Kirkenes
#2 of 5 in Kirkenes
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barents Frokosthotel
Barents Frokosthotel
#5 of 5 in Kirkenes
40 reviews
24.9 mi away
Scandic Vadso
Scandic Vadso
#1 of 1 in Vadso
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sollia Gjestegard
Sollia Gjestegard
#2 of 2 in Kirkenes
98 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kirkenes Snowhotel
Kirkenes Snowhotel
#1 of 2 in Kirkenes
249 reviews
23.1 mi away
BIRK Husky Accommodation B&B & cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Kirkenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Kirkenes

Property: Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Address: Johan Knudtzens gate 11, Kirkenes 9900, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Sor-Varanger Municipality > Kirkenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Kirkenes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel, (open 5/2010) located directly on the seaside. 200 m from shoppping and restaurant area. The restaurant 69’north is specialized on local food, as king crab, reindeer and salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Kirkenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing