We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape with Northern Lights ”
Review of Sollia Gjestegard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sollia Gjestegard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Part of our nordic tour, we included Kirkenes in our itinerary and decided on Sollia and we were glad we made that decision as it turned out to be a wonderful stay!

Forget hotels in town...if you want a slice of peace and waking up to spectacular winterscape then Sollia Gjestegard is the place. Run by the wonderfully warm and humorous couple Einvind and Jorunn, along with their team Geir, Trine and Christina, their cabins were a real delight! Modest but cosy and equipped with what we needed including perfectly heated rooms and shower with surprisingly good water pressure (much needed!), we thoroughly enjoyed trekking and exploring the forest behind the cabins. And playing in the snow! Fresh, sugary powder!!!!

Best of all, as I thought, it was secluded enough to catch the Northern Lights! And we did...lovely experience!

We didn't feel a need to travel out of the area and only did when we signed up for an activity. All meals were taken care of by the talented chef Einvind and were absolutely delicious!

Pity their beautiful restaurant on the lake was closed for winter, but it'll be another reason for us to visit again.

Thank you to the lovely people there, we had a beautiful and unforgettable experience!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SingaporeStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

This glorious guest-house is located just outside Kirkeness and a Km from the Russian Border. This family run guest-house has great accommodation and a vast wilderness of countryside to explore. The guest-house has it's own huskies and in winter the Husky Safari is a fantastic experience. All the staff are extremely helpful, and the food is exceptional with the restaurant located by the lake. Sollia is a very special place and well worth a visit

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BAG3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We booked a 3 night package deal to stay here with one night added on in Oslo. Our package included breakfast and dinner. This is a real get away from it all kind of place as there is nothing else near by. We were collected from the airport by a lovely guy who told us about Kirkenes and the area in general as we travelled. On arrival we were met by Jorunn who checked us in and showed us to our room. Our package included one trip out at night to wait for the Northern Lights and one meal in the gourmet restaurant on the lake. Jorunn told us the weather was better the next day so our first night was spent having an amazing meal in the restaurant. We had the most delicious king crab starter followed by melt in the mouth reindeer tenderloin with an amazing sauce. Home made ice cream with cloudberries followed, equally delicious. The restaurant is on the edge of the lake and a beautiful place to have a meal. Our meal on the last night was just as good but two course rather than three. Beautifully cooked salmon in a cream sauce with pasta followed but fantastic chocolate fondant and ice cream.

Our room (number 8) was in a block of four and very comfortable. A small kitchen area, seating area, separate bedroom and spacious bathroom as well as a large cupboard to store bags. There was a fridge, hob and kettle. As we were on a package deal we had no car and therefore no access to any shopping! It would have been nice to know this in advance so we could buy a few supplies but we did get a cup of coffee in the main guesthouse where breakfast is served. Not sure if this is available all day but there was no problem getting one after a long walk. Information is a bit sketchy - "dinner is 6 or 7, probably in here" but eventually it all worked out. If you ask, they will tell you!

We paid extra for a trip out on a sledge pulled by 10 huskies. Amazing! Absolutely has to be done. We were very lucky in that we were the only couple going out that day so there was just us and Janek our guide. He "drove" the sledge but we had the choice to do it ourselves too. We just wanted to sit back and enjoy it. Janek was an absolute delight. Friendly, informative, all round nice guy. He shared lots of stories with us. We went out through beautiful countryside over a frozen lake to the base camp where we sat in a teepee drinking hot chocolate in front of a fire. Wonderful. Cuddling 5 week old husky pups was the icing on the cake!

They provide all the kit for trips out - all in one snow suit, boots, gloves and hats (goggles as well if needed). I was worried about clothing but they had all sizes and plenty of kit.

That night we went out on a sledge pulled by a snowmobile to the base camp where we waited for the light show to begin. It was stunning. Again, a lovely fire in the teepee and our guide Gait (?) told us stories about his life, the Sami and the lights. Huskies delivered our dinner (with their drivers) - reindeer soup and rice pudding. Watching the lights in such amazing scenery and peace was heaven.
Breakfast at the guesthouse was delicious and plentiful. Cold meats, cheese, smoked salmon, bread, eggs, bacon, juice, yogurt, tea and coffee. What more could you need?
Lunch was 150KR extra - we had this once - fish soup and a roll - nice but expensive by UK standards.
I would have no doubt recommending this place - there are other trips you can do and they will organise trips to Kirkenes if you want. We read books, listened to music and went for a walk up to the base camp.

All the staff are friendly and helpful. It would have been nice to mingle a bit more with other guests but we were all doing our own thing.

We would love to go back with our two adult children.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I spent two weeks staying in one of the long cabins during my visit. The owners Eivind and Jorunn Nordhus and their staff made this visit both; memorable and relaxing. The property is located outside of the city and within walking distance to the Norway/Russian border making it ideal for hunting the Northern lights, Nordic Skiing, and enjoying the peace and quiet of nature. The rooms were clean and well kept and the beds were quite comfortable and warm even with freezing temperatures outside. Having a kitchen with cooking facilities was a plus, which allowed me to have meals and drinks at my leisure as my schedule permitted. While visiting I took every opportunity of freetime available to hike and enjoy the trails they use for the dog sled runs and even walked to and visited their campsite with a traditional lavvo (teepee). On one such occassion I was fortunate enough to run into Trine Moller who works in reception and takes out dog sled tours. She was kind enough to add logs to the campfire and sat and visited for a bit of time before I was to warmed up a enough for the return trek through the snow. The staff always had warm coffee, kind words, and smiles ... the genuine hospitality was readily available and greatly appreciated. During the stay I was also fortunate enough to have the opportunity to visit their restaurant Gapahuken were Eivind cooked up his delicious Reindeer stew and offered fantastic conversation. I would highly recommend this property to all travellers to this area of Norway and would love to return and visit with my family of four.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I am just returned from here- landed back in Ireland yesterday, had the most amazing time here.. So amazing that it's our second visit!
From the moment you arrive you have a beautiful welcome... The staff are all amazing... Triona is just a gem.. Always has a smile and always there to help.
We had a busy week, dog sledging.. King crab safari ( mind blowing), scooters and last but not least- camping! Our guide for the camping night is a real treasure ( gait) - great story teller.. And even handy with helping with the camera shots! And he makes great coffee too..
Our cabin was super cosy... Food was fab! We looked forward to breakfast each morning.
It's a hidden gem... And I hope it remains just as it is,
Looking forward to returning in 2015!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Splendiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Sharing a cabin with 4 women, one bathroom. You just all HAVE GOT to get along. Our stay was fantastic! Between the dog sledding excursion, the walk to the Norwegian/Russian border, the Snow Hotel the ride to the airport.......everything was perfect! Only thing to make it much better would be to have a visa, a car and more time to go into Russia.

Room Tip: The larger sized cabins are on the back row, looks like the smaller cabins are facing towards the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneSoaringSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We arrived on the Midnatsol on the 4th February 2014 at 9am. Sollia already there waiting to pick us up. Our driver gave us a very informative talk as we made our way to our guest accommodation. We were met at reception by Trine, a lovely young lady always willing to help. We were booked in for the dog sled straight away, where Christina was waiting for us. If you want to do the dog sledding, this is the place to do it. ( not with the Hurtigruten line.) What a wonderful person this lady is as well, treating us to a great experience. In the restaurant, try the raid deer – served rare - sensational. The chef and his partner made the evening a really enjoyable one. All in all, you have to get yourself to Sollia Gjestegård & Gapahuken restaurant and Storskog.
Ian and Michelle - Brisbane, Australia

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkenes
5.3 mi away
Scandic Kirkenes
Scandic Kirkenes
#2 of 5 in Kirkenes
384 reviews
5.3 mi away
Barents Frokosthotel
Barents Frokosthotel
#5 of 5 in Kirkenes
44 reviews
5.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
#1 of 5 in Kirkenes
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
BIRK Husky Accommodation B&B & cabins
6.8 mi away
Kirkenes Snowhotel
Kirkenes Snowhotel
#1 of 2 in Kirkenes
252 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kirkenes Hotel
Kirkenes Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kirkenes
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sollia Gjestegard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sollia Gjestegard

Address: Storskog, Kirkenes 9900, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Sor-Varanger Municipality > Kirkenes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kirkenes
Price Range: £72 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sollia Gjestegard 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation just outside Kirkenes. Sollia Gjestegard is situated next to the Russian border, only 20 minutes from Kirkenes. Good standard cabins and double rooms in nature surroundings. Mini kitchen in each unit, included cooking equippent. We also offer half- or full pension. Local homemade food. We have a relax area with outdoor jacuzzi and sauna with a nice view to Russia. Our Gapahuken Restaurant offers local specialities and it opens up to a large terrace with panoramic lake views. Open for ala carte from June to August. Rest of the year open for groups and guest staying at Sollia Gjestegård at request only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sollia Gjestegard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing