We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and nice”
Review of Scandic Kirkenes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Kirkenes
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Be'eri, HaDarom, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable and nice”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed heret for one night in the end of march 2013. It was freezing outside, but very hot inside and we even had to leave an open window during night (this was not to bad, as we were able to wait for the Northern light). The staff was very helpful and breakfast was very good with a lot of choices of bread , cheese and fresh fruits. The bus to the airport stops right in front of the hotel! Ask for a room on the 5th floor - you'll get a nice view on the city.

Room Tip: Ask for the fifth floor, facing town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    172
    71
    17
    8
See reviews for
59
143
30
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Nice location, centre of this small town, everything, including supermarket on a walking distance. Great breakfast, with a lot of fresh fruits. Helpful staff, free coffee and tea during the whole day. Wifi Internet. Bus from the Airport stops just in front of the Hotel. So, if by some reasons you are in Kirkenes, you can stay in this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaza64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed two nights in the Rica Arctic Hotel. We choose it because of the location in downtown Kirkenes. We decided we wanted a better taste of the town rather than be several blocks away on the Arctic waterfront. We were very happy with our decision. The hotel restaurant was quit nice, as were other restaurants. We particularly enjoyed was walking the little town at all hours, we've seen a lot of oceans and great views but really visiting a little town above the Arctic Circle in Norway is something we don't often do.
Did you know they have a nice indoor shopping mall in one of the downtown buildings, and a wonderful little historic museum? I bet not. (See museum review of Borderland Museum, also called Varanger Museum IKS, an interesting 15 minute walk from the Hotel.)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunterLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Our one night stay here followed the completion of our 6 day cruise north from Bergen. I had picked up a bit of a bug on our travels by sea so it was good to relax in a warm, friendly and nicely furnished hotel. Okay, nothing outstanding but comfortable and quiet. I don't think the dinner is very reasonable (£100 a head) but all food is generally much dearer in Norway. There is a decent restaurant down the road (the Surf & Turf Bistro! - sounds corny but the food was really good and much cheaper). We were only 10 miles from the Russian border here so it's very remote and, in February, pretty cold. Pool and sauna were closed for refurbishment but should be open again soon. Charming staff (despite some rude English guests). Great breakfast.

Room Tip: One with a window! It really does get quite hot - even if sub-zero outside. Maybe it was just me not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed at the Rica Arctic Hotel for 4 nights from 10th February 2013.

Upon arrival at Kirkenes airport I was absolutely devastated to find that my suitcase hadn’t arrived. Upon reporting it to a very unhelpful guy at the airport, I couldn’t help but get the impression that it was a common occurrence.

When checking in at the hotel, I asked the receptionist if there was anything she could do to help, even if only the offer of a toothbrush!! However, I was faced with the comment ‘Its not my problem’.

When I eventually decided to retire for the night, after making numerous calls re my luggage, imagine my horror when I turned back the bed to find a VERY large blood stain on the mattress topper. How this was not spotted when changing the bed I have no idea, as it was clearly visible through the sheet.

We booked an upgraded ‘Superior’ room which overlooked the front and the town square. The room was functional but clearly lacked hanging space and there were no drawers whatsoever for your other clothes. It struck me as clearly a ‘one night’ stay place.

Previous Norway hotel experiences have always had an heated bathroom floor, but there was no such luxury here. However, in defence, the shower was very good.

As part of the ‘Superior’ room, they provided bathrobes and a mini bar which had to be paid for as extra. Otherwise, on looking through other room doors in passing, I could see no difference.

Breakfast was an OK experience, acceptable choice, but hot food was cold. Also one morning, someone dropped food on the floor which was left there all through breakfast for people to tread into the carpet.

As we had only booked bed and breakfast, we decided to eat out at other times.

While we were there the hotel was also without water for about 12 hours. No flushing toilets, etc.

Trying to find a positive note, there was free coffee available in the lounge and you were able to use a computer and printer, placed in a dark corner, to book online for your return flight. A light on my mobile phone came in very handy!!

We booked several trips directly through Pasvikturist in Kirkenes and dealt with a very helpful lady there called Monika. Well recommended. Give them a try.

As previously reported, eating and drinking out is very expensive in Norway. One night we went to the Surf and Turf as it had good reports. Yes the food was very good, but 2 burger and chips, one beer and one small wine, came to approx £70. A baguette from the local petrol garage was £17.

Would I go back to this hotel again…. Probably not. I would chose the ’No 1’ hotel in Kirkenes.

Room Tip: Be aware... Stayed in room 224 which took the door approx 3 minutes to self lock. Dont walk away wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The hotel staff were very friendly and the food served in the hotel restaurant is delicious! The price is fair but the quality of the food is better than most restaurants in oslo. The room is clean in general and the location is right in the middle of the town center. Overall, I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
183 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Our stay on this hotel in a very cold February was fine. Nothing special but nothing wrong except the meals on half- board were edible but no more. We did have a lunch which was was superb (and paid for separately). There is a computer for printing boarding cards (as SAS insist on not letting you print your boarding cards until less the 22 hours before your flight. Rooms and facilities were average. Staff were helpful to my wife when she wasn't well.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkenes
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
#1 of 5 in Kirkenes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barents Frokosthotel
Barents Frokosthotel
#5 of 5 in Kirkenes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kirkenes Snowhotel
Kirkenes Snowhotel
#1 of 2 in Kirkenes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sollia Gjestegard
Sollia Gjestegard
#2 of 2 in Kirkenes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
22.9 mi away
BIRK Husky Accommodation B&B & cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Kirkenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Kirkenes

Property: Scandic Kirkenes
Address: Kongensgate 1-3, Kirkenes 9915, Norway (Formerly Rica Arctic Hotel)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Sor-Varanger Municipality > Kirkenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Kirkenes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is centrally located, close to the Snow Hotel and the Varanger museum. Take a trip on snowmobiles, ATVs or dog sleds along the Russian border. Flexible meeting and conference facilities. Why not finish off with a session at our spa, which offers a swimming pool and a sauna? Scandic Kirkenes offers a whole host of possibilities for anyone who wants to explore the region. The hotel has flexible meeting facilities, with 10 rooms and capacity for up to 450 guests. Set aside some time to visit our spa with swimming pool and sauna. If you are arriving by car, we have many outdoor parking spaces. Free WiFi for all hotel guests. With its ideal location and access to authentic Norwegian nature, Scandic Kirkenes is perfect for anyone looking for a fantastic experience, whether you are on holiday or at your next conference. Try out king-crab fishing or a snowmobile safari when you visit us. We can also recommend a husky dog tour for experiencing the majestic nature of Kirkenes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Kirkenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing