We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good nights sleep, Great Breakfast, nice swim”
Review of Scandic Kirkenes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Kirkenes
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for one night prior to departing back to the UK.
The Husky teams taking part in the Finnmarksløpe were all around us as this Hotel is effectively mission control for the race point in Kirkenes.
Staff were helpful, rooms were fine, and beds and bedding and the pillows were amazing, the bed was like sleeping on a cloud might be. Only downside is that blinds or something would have been useful – you had to pull the curtains to maintain privacy. _ Particularly with the race outside. Staff were very helpful as due to the race we could not access pick up buses at the normal place.
Swimming pool was very refreshing and the steam room was lovely. Nice touch with bath robes and slippers provided in the bedroom too.
Very good buffet breakfast – including the ability to make fresh waffles!!!
Price wise- well its Norway!

Room Tip: Just pull your curtains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally-Ann56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Slippery bathtub
No privacy, the window is next to the footbridge
No central lamps control
No hotel directory in the room
No coffee/ tea maker
No service provided in front-desk

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JThanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayes here for 1 night while om business.

The hotels location is very central. Located in the downtown area. The staff where friendly.

The rooms however disappointed a little. Although they were large and clean, they lacked in standard and personality. The hotel in general could do with a renovation but it is clean and neat.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Magnus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed only one night in Rica Arctic, we arrived late Sunday afternoon and the whole city was very quiet. The night before we spend in Snow Hotel, amazing experience by the way.

Me and my boyfriend we were both very tired and we were looking for somewhere to eat. Unfortunately, everything except hotel restaurant was closed. So we had dinner in hotel and it was great choice! Food very nice, staff could not be more helpful. We left full and satisfied :)

Our room was on the 5th floor quiet, clean and bed very comfortable.

The next morning we had breakfast. I have to say " that was one of the best buffet breakfast I have ever seen" again staff very friendly.

I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sim030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

we stayed only two nights at rica arctic...but the breakfast was marvellous....the room was clean and fitted to all our requirements. a warm bed was not too soft to have a refreshing sleep. the stuff at receptionwas very helpful and offered all assistance we needed.

and now some critics: we arrived at kirkenes 27th at noon and there was no lunch available.....neither in our Hotel nor in the other Locations in kirkenes.....but this is North norway.....prepare yourself to survive until breakfast on a holiday

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teichmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I'd had an exhausting 3 flights to get there, so perhaps it seemed better than it was, but I liked it best of the hotels I stayed in on my last trip, most of which was a lovely Hurtigruten cruise. I stayed two nights to give myself time to recover from the flights. Everyone was friendly and helpful, the room was great, and the lounge downstairs with coffee, comfortable upholstered furniture, and internet access where I did much of my recovering was a great advantage I hadn't expected. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and the other meals I had there were also excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed there for 1 night but liked it very much.
Hotel is very clean and some reconstruction has lately been finished.
The rooms are done in a very nice northern stylish way.
Sauna, Pool and Steambath was a great experience and it was all nicely done.
Super friendly staff
Looks like everybody is connected with each other in this little town.
Came back from a Quad Safari and the driver new everybody.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkenes
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
#1 of 5 in Kirkenes
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barents Frokosthotel
Barents Frokosthotel
#5 of 5 in Kirkenes
44 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sollia Gjestegard
Sollia Gjestegard
#2 of 2 in Kirkenes
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kirkenes Snowhotel
Kirkenes Snowhotel
#1 of 2 in Kirkenes
252 reviews
22.9 mi away
BIRK Husky Accommodation B&B & cabins
24.6 mi away
Vadso Fjordhotell AS
Vadso Fjordhotell AS
#1 of 1 in Vadso
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Kirkenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Kirkenes

Address: Kongensgate 1-3, Kirkenes 9915, Norway (Formerly Rica Arctic Hotel)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Sor-Varanger Municipality > Kirkenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Price Range: £93 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Kirkenes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is centrally located, close to the Snow Hotel and the Varanger museum. Take a trip on snowmobiles, ATVs or dog sleds along the Russian border. Flexible meeting and conference facilities. Why not finish off with a session at our spa, which offers a swimming pool and a sauna? Scandic Kirkenes offers a whole host of possibilities for anyone who wants to explore the region. The hotel has flexible meeting facilities, with 10 rooms and capacity for up to 450 guests. Set aside some time to visit our spa with swimming pool and sauna. If you are arriving by car, we have many outdoor parking spaces. Free WiFi for all hotel guests. With its ideal location and access to authentic Norwegian nature, Scandic Kirkenes is perfect for anyone looking for a fantastic experience, whether you are on holiday or at your next conference. Try out king-crab fishing or a snowmobile safari when you visit us. We can also recommend a husky dog tour for experiencing the majestic nature of Kirkenes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Kirkenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing