We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Petmoy
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom

I want the shower

Review of Kirkenes Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jul 2014
at the top of the world and with a glimpse of the NORTHERN LIGHTS I cannot fault this hotel. Food good, service good and shower I wanted to stay in all day. We had an excursion to the Ice Hotel which was very interesting but you really need Norwegian clothing to stand the cold in January
Date of stay: January 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£97
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £96
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from Kirkenes Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£133
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 miles from Kirkenes Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£215
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £215
4.8 miles from Kirkenes Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
£64
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Kirkenes Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£315
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £315
  • Lol.travel
8.8 miles from Kirkenes Hotel
    5.7 miles from Kirkenes Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    £65
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      £65
    0.0 miles from Kirkenes Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    £124
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      £124
    24.9 miles from Kirkenes Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    22.9 miles from Kirkenes Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    42.9 miles from Kirkenes Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Kirkenes
    Reviews (41)
    Filter reviews
    41 results
    Traveller rating
    1
    10
    16
    7
    7
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    1
    10
    16
    7
    7
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    15 - 20 of 41 reviews
    Reviewed 28 May 2014

    Booked Hotel Wessel (previously listed on tripadvisor as Kirkenes Hotell) via email last minute while on the Hurtigruten, as our couchsurfing arrangement fell through. (Found the information in the brochure we picked up in Tromso, since it is now under a different name than the one previously reviewed on tripadvisor).

    The manager responded in a timely manner and confirmed our booking, which put us at ease. The bus into town dropped us off at the bottom of the hill, but not hard to find (as long as your luggage has wheels).

    The manager (Metta, not sure if this is the correct spelling) was warm, cheerful, and helpful. The hotel is not staffed 24 hours, but she could be reached via the phone if needed.

    The accommodation was very basic but comfortable and sufficient, (heated floor in the bathroom), a shower with just shower curtain so the floor does get a bit wet, but the heat dries it up quickly. We opted for without breakfast. There is hot coffee downstairs in the lobby. Hairdryer is on request only. There is just one and you return it to the reception when done - but it's super powerful! :)

    Metta handles the booking, cleaning, etc., but always found time to answer our questions and was always open and frank, which allowed us many insights.

    Hotell Wessel is located within walking distance to everything downtown Kirkenes, and right across the street from Surf and Turf, a surprisingly nice restaurant/cafe in a town this remote (or it seemed to us), with a nice selection of local ingredients (that Metta told us about).

    The hotel is also next a Chinese restaurant which we did not try. But if you don't want to go out in the snow to get food, there is this option.

    Kirkenes is a small town and it seems everyone knows everyone (at least people in the tourism business). Metta knew the Birk Husky people (see our other review) and was able to offer us tips on what to expect and how to prepare.

    We also got good tips on how to stay warm, since one of us is from the tropics and this is the first experience in a snow-bound environment (in the arctic, no less)!

    Overall, the accommodation was very basic. Apparently it's where the local people stay when they have to visit the hospital in town. Don't expect much in terms of what is commonly expected of a hotel (remember, we were planning to couchsurf). It would have gotten 3 stars for being average (or even more basic, really) for hardware, but Metta and the others added a lot of character and warmth to a simple basic place. Thus the "very good" rating.

    (The disco downstairs mentioned in the previous review is no longer there. There was no noise problem, except one early morning when there was work being done on the road just outside of our window).

    Date of stay: February 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank dimsumcafe
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 September 2007

    We stayed in the Kirkenes hotell for one night, and even though it was OK , I don't think I would recommend it to anybody. When we arrived, we had problems getting the rooms we had booked, but it ended well and we got the rooms we were promised. The rooms were nicely furnished, and the bathroom was small, but adequate and quite modern. The minibar in one of the rooms had a temperature at about 45 degrees Celsius, and the wall was smashed (must have been some party). There were red ear-plugs on the night-table as we arrived, and being Saturday night and disco night on the ground floor, they really came in handy... The breakfast was plain but OK and served in the Chinese restaurant in the same house. We ate dinner there the next day, and it is the most expensive Chinese-restaurant I have ever been to - and the food was below average. Internet in the lobby - free of charge. No elevator, but the luggage was sent up in the small "food-elevator", so you don't have to carry it up the stairs. All in all - quite OK, but nothing I would crave for to stay in again.

    Date of stay: September 2007
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    4  Thank Ragnhild
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 August 2004

    This is an old hotel that is well located in a very small city,however it leaves much to be desired. There are stairs like in many old hotels, but the young man at the desk did help us with our luggage when I requested assistance. Although we had made our reservation several months in advance and had an e-mail confirmation, we were told that we didn't have a reservation,but the four of us could have the last 2 available rooms. Later we saw a sign outside advertising vacancies. The room was small, basic and in need of a good cleaning The bed and pillows were less than comfortable. Breakfast was included and was served in the on-site Chinese restaurant. Since we were less than comfortable we opted to move to the Rica Arctic Hotel and the young man at the desk was again helpful with our luggage and would not accept a tip. I couldn't in conscience recommend this hotel, but would commend the desk clerk for his understanding and helpfulness.

    Date of stay: August 2004
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    10  Thank countessjc
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 August 2023 via mobile
    Google Translation

    Date of stay: May 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 September 2022
    Google Translation

    Date of stay: May 2022
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews