We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern lights wonder”
Review of Kirkenes Snowhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kirkenes Snowhotel
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,548 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“Northern lights wonder”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Visited in March 2013. Fantastic experience staying over in themed snow room. Warm welcome from staff. Good dinning experience eating local food ( Salmon , reindeer veg, cooked on open fire in wooden restuarant. Alcohol expensive as in all of Norway (about £11 for a single shot) . Spent evening sledging and watching Northern lights which were superb and wonderful.

Slept in snow hotel warm and snug in sleeping bag although room is -5. Morning sauna , shower and continental style breakfast. Then looking at Husky's and Reindeer in grounds.

An excellent romantic treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    67
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
41
129
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The hotel is really a big igloo built of snow each year. It is divided into 'bedrooms' which are carved out rooms off one of two corridors with a curtain for privacy (not that you need privacy in a one piece sleeping bag and ballaclava in a constant temperature of -4 degrees! Toilets are in a separate building so if you have bladder problems this experience may not be for you.

We had a tour of the rooms and a meal by an open fire in a nearby wood constructed restaurant which was good fun. We were pleased to get back to our hotel and snuggle up in a proper bed and did not envy those hardy souls who chose to sleep in the snow hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VANDICARLTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in March 2013. It isn't an ordinary hotel, of course - made entirely of snow (except for the blocks of sculpted ice) and an internal temperature maintained at -4C (however the external temperature was -25C, so it was a relief to get inside).

There's a separate heated restaurant where we could warm up and be served delicious food cooked over a wood fire. And also a heated shower, and sauna block. Bedrooms, though, were in the snow building. We were provided with warm clothes and a sleeping bag, which I found to be not quite warm enough although my wife kept warm in hers. The big downside for a bloke in his late 60s who needs to get up in the middle of the night is that the toilet block was 50 metres away - that's a walk of 50 metres through -25C open air! But I managed - nowhere near as bad as I feared.

Spectacular views of the northern lights, friendly young staff and excellent food made up for the slight discomfort. A experience not to be missed (or repeated!).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prune-Etna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed one night. It was brilliant. On arrival we were given a talk on what to expect and then told to take our time and look around in all the bedrooms and see the amazing ice carvings on the walls. They were incredible and we took photographs of many of them. We were allocated our room for the night and met in the dining room. An octagonal looking hut about 50 yards from the hotel with a central open fire used for cooking. We sat on tables of eight and met other travellers and exchanged stories and experiences. The meal was excellent with red and white wine thrown in. My wife is a vegetarian and she was well catered for. Over the course of the meal, we were given instructions as to how to stay warm in bed with the sleeping bags and sleeves we were given. We had booked an excursion and after dinner we were taken to see the Northern Lights which luckily played ball as they were spectacular. We also paid a short visit to the Russian Border. Breakfast was included. All the staff were brilliant, very helpful and extremely friendly. Buses took us back into Kirkenes where we had the morning to look around before heading onto our boat and back to Tromso.

Room Tip: Don't drink to much the night before as it is a lengthy process getting up to go to the loo whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed at the snow hotel a couple night ago. It was run by the same people we did ice fishing with and king crabbing. We had so much fun on these two excursions with our tour guide michael we were very excited to head to the snow hotel. We got given our room number and then got to have a look at all the other rooms at our leisure and take photos. We went into a woodern hut for dinner. Met some new people and had great food. We then wandered around and saw the northern lights in the distance. They taught us how to stay warm so had a comfy night sleep. After breakfast we patted the reindeer and played with the huskys before heading back. Everything was so well organised and such lovely staff.i highly recomend you doing all of your activities with the snow hotel staff. Best service we have had on our 2 month scandinavia trip.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We visited here ( didn't stay)

A lot of time and skill must go into the snow hotel, but it didn't inspire me or even make me go 'wow'. I think the first reason is that it isn't in the middle of nowhere but very close to Kirkenes ( half hour walk from centre up hill). It didn't feel like a romantic location, and for a building so special , and the price, the location needs to match!
The carvings are very cutesy - I would have liked to see some more elegant snow/ice art. I didn't really find it as beautiful as I thought I would.
The smoke alarms stuck on the snow made us giggle.
We watched the dog sledding.. I would recommend people look elsewhere - Sollia up the road would be a better choice. The dog sledding is round a frozen lake, but next to a busy road and coach park. Again, for the prices you pay I think you would expect more of a wilderness experience!
Interesting to see ( there is an entry charge), as there is the reindeer and huskies there too. But I was SO glad I hadn't paid the HUGE prices to stay here as I would have been disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaildevonshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

or do I? We were brought out to the Snow Hotel in the afternoon as we'd booked a dog sledging excursion i think run by the same company that runs the hotel. The excursion was fantastic. the guides are friendly and fun, the dogs are beautiful and obviously loved and cared for. We went for what seemed like miles out over two lakes and had a toasted cheese and reindeer meat sandwich and hot fruit juice in a Sami tent whilst the guides told us stories and the dogs rested. Even though our excursion finished around 5pm we were taken back to the Rica Arctic hotel (where we'd stored our main luggage) as the Snow Hotel didn't want you until 6pm. We were collected from the Rica Arctic wihin half an hour of being dropped off. We were ushered into the Ice Bar just inside the entrance to the Snow Hotel for a drink and encouraged to look at the rooms and pick the one we liked the most to sleep in. We had a quick drink and were then taken to where all the sleeping bags and other kit is kept to show us what was what and have a demo of how to insert the sheet into the sleeping bag and advised what to wear to have a warm and comfy night.
Other reviews have complained about the facilities being inadequate so we must have been lucky to be in a group of just nine people staying on the 28th February 2013. The Gabba restaurant is how I imagined Norweigan restaurants would be with a roaring log fire. We enjoyed the sausage,then fish followed by icecream and berries. We avoided drinking too much in anticipation of our night in the snow room and the distance between our room and the toilets. We saw the Northern lights briefly outside the restaurant so decided to join the 'Hunt the Northern Lights' tour as it was a clear night and the last chance for us to see the lights before we left for home in the morning. Our driver took us up near the Russian border and pulled into a layby for the most spectacular sighting lasting a good 40 minutes.
On arrival back at the Snow Hotel we collected our sleeping bags, sheets, woolen socks, etc. I wore thermals and a light sweater and my own socks plus the woolen socks provided. Getting into the sheet and then the sleeping bag in the snow room is not easy and you have to be careful zipping up the sleeping bag so the zip doesn't jam but once you're inside it's really snug. I slept soundly until about 6:30am and didn't wake because I was cold. I've never done the back packing or camping thing so have no point of reference for the facilities. However there were only two others in the warm room when I got there in the morning. I had an unhurried shower before breakfast. There were plenty of clean towels and if I'd not brought my own toiletries they were provided along with a hairdryer. Even with all nine of us around it didn't feel crowded (I can understand though that double that would have been crowded in the space) and we'd all become friendly during the previous evening and so being altogether was companionable. Breakfast was warm bread and the usual selection of cheese and cold meats and good coffee. We may have been lucky because there were a small number of guests that were good company, the sighting of Northern lights following a great day with the dogs but I had the best time. Would I do it again? No, because it was just perfect and anything less would be a dissapointment.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkenes hotels
4.9 mi away
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
#1 of 5 in Kirkenes
635 reviews
4.8 mi away
Scandic Kirkenes
Scandic Kirkenes
#2 of 5 in Kirkenes
362 reviews
4.9 mi away
Barents Frokosthotel
Barents Frokosthotel
#5 of 5 in Kirkenes
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Sollia Gjestegard
Sollia Gjestegard
#2 of 2 in Kirkenes
100 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Kirkenes Snowhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkenes Snowhotel

Property: Kirkenes Snowhotel
Address: Sandnesdalen 14, Kirkenes 9915, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Sor-Varanger Municipality > Kirkenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kirkenes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:1 star — Kirkenes Snowhotel 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snow is a gift from the sky. Cold, still, pure and beautiful. Welcome to Kirkenes Snowhotel. To a world where you sleep in snow, walk on snow and may drive a scooter or a dogsled on snow. We even serve snow in the restaurant! Our romantic Snowhotel opens December 20th., and is open until April 20th. Kirkenes Snowhotel lies secluded in the wilderness 8 km outside Kirkenes. Here 180 huskies await you. Reindeer are grazing behind our unique chalets. Under the fjord ice, the giant King crabs dwell. When the northern lights are dancing, they illuminate the surroundings with their green and yellow colors. If you come - we change you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kirkenes Snowhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing