We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love or Hate”
Review of Kirkenes Snowhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirkenes Snowhotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

You either love or hate this hotel and concept... I loved it. Quite magical. But once the wonder and uniqueness of the experience wears off, don't forget you have to sleep in -4.

Also found the 'entree sausage' cooking a great way to break the ice (so to speak).

I agree with some of the other comments here, that it did feel a bit like a factory. You had to arrive at very specific times, and leave dead on 9 am. This is more of a 'ride' or 'experience' than a genuine hotel facility. I certainly would not recommend more than 1 night.

Room Tip: Be prepared for an adventure, and pack your sense of humour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

we were really looking forward to this visit, but were sadly let down, we were there for the day visit, we were not offered a seat, there was no bar and our drinks were in plastic glasses. Poor! The rooms smelt and the ice carvings were of immature content, Paddington, Disney etc. The mould with which they had made the ice hotel was sat by the front door, spoiling all illusion.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, choose a different location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kevin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

we had a 4-hours-stay at snowhotel...we visited the Hotel with all rooms, then the deers and the Dogs.....it was very very nice to have a glance to the rooms, which are all diferent in carved decoration....as the overnight stay is very expensive in relation to the stay at other Hotels, we didn't spend the night there.

all in a very nice stay for some hours......the tour for the polar light is also very nice...but sadly we could not see the light this night

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teichmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel is outstanding. It offers a very unique experience and is beautifully decorated by Chinese artists. The food was also excellent and the service efficient. The only downside was that the sauna was not heated at 6 am as promised and had no bucket for the water.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank KViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My 9 friends and I attended dinner at the snow hotel. Groups that arrived quite later than us were served first. We were waiting a very long time. Because we were not staying the night, we questioned when our transport was scheduled to return to Kirkenes. We were advised we would have to leave straight away, (it was well after 9pm). Some of my friends did not finish their main meal and none of us had dessert. We had anticipated a pleasant night but the slow service made it a very expensive entree.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank bron1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The hotel has relocated and added a new restaurant and beautiful bathrooms that are almost connected to the snow hotel. The beds are slabs of ice with mattresses on top of them. They give you sleeping bags, muslin sleeping bag liners, wool socks & balaclava to weather the night. I recommend the following: toe warmers (also brought hand warmers but did not need them), something to put over your eyes - the rooms are lit all night, uggs - or some other easy to get into warm grippy boot for the walk to the bathroom, and don't overdo it on beverages. The dinner was in stages and you will pay extra for alcohol. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you do get too anxious about staying all night in an igloo - there are 3 outdoor "cabins". The whole facility is beautiful and well worth the visit. There are husky dogs, reindeer and snowmobiling right there, as well.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Huntsville Merckette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

10 of us from India visited Rovaneimi and wanted to see Aurora borealis and enjoy husky ride and other sports. We chose snow hotel for unique experience and enjoyed very much. The husky ride on the frozen lakes in late evening was exciting. Hotel provided excellent winter gear for rides.
Most of us were vegetarians and dinner they served was delicious. at the same time we were informed about sightings of Auroras. Lot of obstacles prevented us view of them. We had taken bus tour which took us to far away from citi lights but by the time we reached aurora faded away.
Staying in Snow hotel which had beautifully carved rooms and beds was a great experience.
Caution for those who are not familiar with the snow is you should have proper footwear. It is slippery everywhere. While on huskyride apply some cream on your face because there is a chance of burning your nose and face.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alkavaidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkenes
4.8 mi away
Scandic Kirkenes
Scandic Kirkenes
#2 of 5 in Kirkenes
389 reviews
4.9 mi away
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
#1 of 5 in Kirkenes
660 reviews
4.9 mi away
Barents Frokosthotel
Barents Frokosthotel
#5 of 5 in Kirkenes
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Sollia Gjestegard
Sollia Gjestegard
#2 of 2 in Kirkenes
105 reviews
18.9 mi away
BIRK Husky Accommodation B&B & cabins
4.8 mi away
Kirkenes Hotel
Kirkenes Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kirkenes
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkenes Snowhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkenes Snowhotel

Address: Sandnesdalen 14, Kirkenes 9915, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Sor-Varanger Municipality > Kirkenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kirkenes
Price Range: £485 - £672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Kirkenes Snowhotel 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snow is a gift from the sky. Cold, still, pure and beautiful. Welcome to Kirkenes Snowhotel. To a world where you sleep in snow, walk on snow and may drive a scooter or a dogsled on snow. We even serve snow in the restaurant! Our romantic Snowhotel opens December 20th., and is open until April 20th. Kirkenes Snowhotel lies secluded in the wilderness 8 km outside Kirkenes. Here 180 huskies await you. Reindeer are grazing behind our unique chalets. Under the fjord ice, the giant King crabs dwell. When the northern lights are dancing, they illuminate the surroundings with their green and yellow colors. If you come - we change you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kirkenes Snowhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing