We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff”
Review of Scandic Sarpsborg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Sarpsborg
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sarpsborg
Trondheim
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly staff”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Perfectly situated in the town center. Really nice, clean room and bath room, beds are really good, different pillows to choose from, breakfast good. Nice and helpful staff. Have used this hotel many times and it is my favourite choice in Sarpsborg due to location. Have parking facilities in basement (cellar). Main bus station at the behind the hotel and a shopping center too. Different restaurants just 2-5 min walk from the hotel. Looks a bit worn at the entrance, but the rooms are in better shape, at least those I have seen.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mor-t-tre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    41
    38
    19
    8
See reviews for
30
33
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lillestrom, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hotel is centrally located and next to a nice park. The building itself is boring and worn, but my room was nice and clean, but a bit small. Nice breakfast, but a bit crowded restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torolf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hønefoss Norway
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Central, as all hotels within 'downtown' city (a small one). Built early 60's.
Clean, nice staff, breakfast not overwhelming but good enough.
Free parking for 4 cars next to entrance, free parking for about 20 in basement.
Post office close. Shopping mall same building. Pub next door, karaoke and live music.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

The hotel looked much better on the pictures then what we experienced when we arrived. The whole place was worn and must have seen it's best days 20-30 years ago. There was an unpleasant kind of unfresh air inside the hotel. The bathroom was nice and clean, there was filth under the rather nice bed. Next to the reception of the hotel there was a very noisy pub, and we were unable to sleep before the people left there around 2 am. The staff was nice and service minded. The breakfast was good. However, all in all the hotel was a great disappointment. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ressakailn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarpsborg hotels

Oslo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2007

With its 30 years plus/minus it is no doubt this hotel is aging a bit - just like my self. However, the room was spacious and with a nice and modern interior. The bathroom were no less than EXCELLENT - warm floor, shiny clean and stylish with a well working shower. Yes, this will be my choice also the next time I am in the area. There is also a mall (abt 50 - 60 stores I would guess) in the same building and quite a few inexpensive but quite cosy restaurants in the street St. Maries gate a half a block away.

  • Liked — Centrally located, well kept
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarpsborg
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Sarpsborg
Quality Hotel Sarpsborg
#1 of 2 in Sarpsborg
622 reviews
7.7 mi away
Scandic City
Scandic City
#3 of 6 in Fredrikstad
166 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Fredrikstad
Quality Hotel Fredrikstad
#1 of 6 in Fredrikstad
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Fredrikstad
Hotel Fredrikstad
#2 of 6 in Fredrikstad
105 reviews
7.9 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#6 of 6 in Fredrikstad
58 reviews
14.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Halden
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sarpsborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sarpsborg

Property: Scandic Sarpsborg
Address: Sandesundsveien 1, Sarpsborg 1706, Norway (Formerly Rica Saga Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Ostfold > Sarpsborg Municipality > Sarpsborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sarpsborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Sarpsborg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from Oslo, the hotel is ideal for seminars and conferences. There are 67 rooms, bar and two restaurants . Car Park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Sarpsborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing