We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colona Castle - the perfect hideaway to switch off.”
Review of Colona Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colona Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were greeted by Michael Brand one of the co-owners, the minute you step onto the property, you just have an 'ahhhh' moment. Our suite was meticulously clean, and the service was excellent on all fronts. We wanted to switch off and have breakfast on our terms not a set period. This is a place we will visit regularly. Well done to Michael and Nicole Brand for creating a little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: Book the English suite or the Penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sshah23920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

One of the best boutique hotels I have stayed in. Amazing views, great service, neat, clean, spacious rooms. We were in an upgraded suite but I believe most other suites are as good or big.

Nicole and Michael (owners) bring about a great touch and warmth to the place. They are quick to respond to any needs, they also make it a point to stop by and check every morning on what we were planning to do and add their own experience to make things even better.

The location is great, beautiful views of the False Bay one one side and Table Mountain on the other. We had a car and therefore found the location in Muizenburg to be outstanding.

Loved their breakfast, and David, the cook was superb! Willing to make any adjustments to make things better.

The pool area looked lovely but we didn't swim (no time). Wish we had.

All in all, if you are looking for a small boutique experience, lovely views, nice clean and lovely old English charm, great warm service - I'd say you will love it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sanjay18007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A jewel among all the boutique hotels near Cape Town. The cuisine, accomodation, service and the location with beautiful sea views - everything of the highest luxury standard! I warmly recommend a stay at this magical place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We arrived into Cape Town late in the evening, our driver that Colona Castle arranged was waiting there to pick us up and took us starit to the hotel. When we arrived, the manager Nicole was wiating for us. Even though it was late she took the time to show us to the room and helped us get settled in. The room was beautiful and the bed was fantastic. Nicole helped us with all of our arrangements in Cape Town and went above and beyond my expectations. The evenings were very cool but each night that we returned to the hotel a fire was waiting. the breakfast in the morning was fantastic. They really have thought of every little detail here to make your stay memorable. I stayed in the Chinese Room but saw several of the rooms. The English Room was my favorite and I will book this when I return. However, all of the rooms were beautiful even the standard rooms. The hotel is very centrally located. It is just 15 minutes from some excellent wineries and about the same to Boulders Beach. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else because this place was perfect.

Room Tip: I loved the Chinese and the English Room, both very spacious with nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adventuretravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

One night at Colona Castle definitely left a desire for more! The staff, location, character, food, suites and general decor/ambience are first class...and the food is even better! Thanks to Nicole and her team.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It would surprise most to know that any guest be treated like royalty, even when they aren't a paying guest, yet this is was this amazing couple from "the castle" did. I had acquired a night "on the house" through a fundraiser so wasn't expecting much... but I was SO wrong :) These guys are amazing and extremely accommodation. The rooms are indeed fir for royalty so the name of this establishment is therefore no surprise. Breakfast was outstanding and the view breath-taking; and this from a "local" who is used to such beauty. A truly comforting and pampering experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ettienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have stayed at the Colona Castle and have greatly enjoyed our stay. This is very a boutique hotel, with personal service, a world apart from a chain hotel. You are treated like an individual and not just another number. A great place to relax and enjoy Cape Town and the surroundings (really easy to get to Cape Point in one direction and the wineries and other sightseeing.
You feel special by the way you are personally and royally treated by the hosts. The food is delicious. The rooms are spacious and beautiful.
Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anneli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
17.2 mi away
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
164 reviews
14.2 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
11.3 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
527 reviews
11 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
375 reviews
2.9 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colona Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colona Castle

Address: 1 Verwood Street, Off Old Boyes Drive | Cape Town, Lakeside 7945, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Lakeside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Price Range: £141 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Colona Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the epicentre of Greater Cape Town, Colona Castle, graded 5 Star, is truly a sophisticated, elegant and enchanting base from which to explore Cape Town, the Peninsula and Winelands. Gracing the mountainside above a tranquil Lake District on the warmer False Bay coastline, and furnished with a treasured antique collection, this splendid Mediterranean style retreat offers character, exclusivity and infinite charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Colona Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colona Castle Hotel Lakeside
Colona Castle Cape Town, South Africa - Lakeside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing