We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colona Castle
Nearby Hotels
Steenberg Hotel(Constantia)
US$195
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$65
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence(Constantia)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Constantia(Constantia)
US$286
US$276
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tintswalo Atlantic(Hout Bay)
US$896
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$188
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$297
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
72
19
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
19
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfalse baykalk baycouple stayingchain hotelthe hotel websitecape townprivate balconypublic areasfollowing morningfive star hoteltwo nightsbreakfast was excellentmuizenbergsuitecomfortcolonafranschhoek
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were lucky to be staying at Colona Castle for a weekend visit to Cape Town during an extended stay in South Africa, and have nothing but praise for this lovely boutique hotel. Our hosts, Nicole and Michael Brand, were charming and helpful, the Chinese suite in which we stayed was beautifully appointed and full of interesting and original touches, as were the public areas of the property. Our breakfast was elegantly served at a table with fabulous views across a huge swathe of lake, sea and mountain, and another couple of days would have suited me very nicely! As well as being beautiful and peaceful the location was also extremely convenient, being situated about midway between the central and waterfront areas of Cape Town and the southern attractions of Cape Point, Boulders Beach etc. It would also be easy to get across the mountain to the western side of the cape peninsula from there, and of course the attractive area of Kalk Bay with its quirky shops, interesting bars, and lovely restaurants is only a very short distance away so perfect for a relaxing drink and dinner. Nicole kindly booked a table for us at the renowned Harbour House and knew just where the best tables were located so she made sure that we dined with a view! I was surprised to learn that they don't get as many people staying from the UK as from other European countries, as Colona Castle really does tick all the boxes.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were greeted by Michael Brand one of the co-owners, the minute you step onto the property, you just have an 'ahhhh' moment. Our suite was meticulously clean, and the service was excellent on all fronts. We wanted to switch off and have breakfast on our terms not a set period. This is a place we will visit regularly. Well done to Michael and Nicole Brand for creating a little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: Book the English suite or the Penthouse!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sshah23920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

One of the best boutique hotels I have stayed in. Amazing views, great service, neat, clean, spacious rooms. We were in an upgraded suite but I believe most other suites are as good or big.

Nicole and Michael (owners) bring about a great touch and warmth to the place. They are quick to respond to any needs, they also make it a point to stop by and check every morning on what we were planning to do and add their own experience to make things even better.

The location is great, beautiful views of the False Bay one one side and Table Mountain on the other. We had a car and therefore found the location in Muizenburg to be outstanding.

Loved their breakfast, and David, the cook was superb! Willing to make any adjustments to make things better.

The pool area looked lovely but we didn't swim (no time). Wish we had.

All in all, if you are looking for a small boutique experience, lovely views, nice clean and lovely old English charm, great warm service - I'd say you will love it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sanjay18007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A jewel among all the boutique hotels near Cape Town. The cuisine, accomodation, service and the location with beautiful sea views - everything of the highest luxury standard! I warmly recommend a stay at this magical place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We arrived into Cape Town late in the evening, our driver that Colona Castle arranged was waiting there to pick us up and took us starit to the hotel. When we arrived, the manager Nicole was wiating for us. Even though it was late she took the time to show us to the room and helped us get settled in. The room was beautiful and the bed was fantastic. Nicole helped us with all of our arrangements in Cape Town and went above and beyond my expectations. The evenings were very cool but each night that we returned to the hotel a fire was waiting. the breakfast in the morning was fantastic. They really have thought of every little detail here to make your stay memorable. I stayed in the Chinese Room but saw several of the rooms. The English Room was my favorite and I will book this when I return. However, all of the rooms were beautiful even the standard rooms. The hotel is very centrally located. It is just 15 minutes from some excellent wineries and about the same to Boulders Beach. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else because this place was perfect.

Room Tip: I loved the Chinese and the English Room, both very spacious with nice balconies.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adventuretravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews