We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Basset Hound

Basset Hound
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Thingwall
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had another amazing meal at the Basset hound as usual staff where lovely and every meal cooked to perfection

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank redgrift4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Basset Hound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your comments. We look forward to seeing you back again very soon !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile


Consistently high standard food and fast service. Good portions. Cannot fault. Great pub. That Cath is fabulous too.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank RachLM89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Basset Hound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of the Basset, it's great to hear you found everything so enjoyable.
We will pass your comments to Cath, she is indeed a great asset to us !!

Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

I was looking forward to a roast and was informed that this was the best on The Wirral. The meat was tasty but the rest (veg, yorkshires, gravy crackling) was disappointing. The meal wasn't very hot and seemed like it had been re-heated or left lounging under those warm lamps.
Didn't want to whinge and spoil it for everyone else so I uncharacteristically kept my thoughts to myself.
That said, the service was good and the Peroni was excellent.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Ursulaey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Basset Hound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will speak with our head chef to resolve these issues.
Great to hear you found the service good and enjoyed your Peroni.
Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We picked this place to eat Sunday lunch as in fairness we have eaten here many times before from the weekday menu and have been very pleased with the service and food. My husband chose roast beef and pork, which appeared to be of poor quality. He also had to ask and wait quite a while for mustard, which we feel should have been offered with roast beef as standard. I chose bacon wrapped chicken breast, which looked unappetisingly pale and tasted equally bad. It was not very hot and had some sort of partially cooked stuffing inside. The Yorkshire puddings were soggy lumps of batter, the roast potatoes were soggy on the outside and mushy on the inside. It would seem that some of the meal was reheated. It is my view that if you cannot produce a fresh roast dinner, then you should not bother at all. We did not feel able to mention our disappointment at the time as we were guests of others. We will not return here for a Sunday roast in the future.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Basset Hound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

We're so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your roasts. We have been receiving a lot of positive feedback regards to our Sunday roasts lately, especially the new chicken breast wrapped in bacon, it's one of my personal favourites. We never ever reheat any food, it is all freshly prepared. I will certainly inform the team to offer mustard in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Went for dinner not knowing they have had a minor rebranding and menu change, the saver menu no longer exists and there is only a reduced choice main menu. We ordered a mushroom soup which tasted like packet mix and was the most edible item we received, then the sharing platter which everything was unpalatable, garlic chiabatta burnt on top with flour on bottom, scampi tasted of chemicals, breaded mushrooms were under cooked breading was not browned didn’t taste as expected, onion rings I didn’t even bother and chicken nuggets were mushy in the middle, fries were not good. Overall found it expensive for unpleasant food and the service was slow despite not being busy. As a result of the menu changes and prices I won’t be returning.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Millytroy212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Basset Hound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

We still serve our value menu up until 5pm every day except Sundays. We also offer a set menu after 4pm Monday - Saturday...2 courses for £10.50 or 3 courses for £12.50 which is also great value for money.
Please let us reassure you we do not use packet mix for our soup on any occasion. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the food on this occasion. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basset Hound also viewed

 

Been to Basset Hound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing