We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh dear oh dear” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Oak

Royal Oak
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Pirbright
Price range: US$5 - US$17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Oh dear oh dear”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I have used this pub for the past couple of years and always given it the benefit of the doubt. But tonight has proved they need to sort out there service or go under. The food is good. Typical pub grub. Looks good and does the job. Food ordered was served within 30 mins, which considering how busy they are due to the weather was great. BUT. The service is dreadful. This was a very busy night as the weather was suburb (and forecasted for a while) but apparently only 2 people trained to serve drinks. If you are a local to this establishment you will get served immediately! But, non locals will have to wait! This seems to be a trait with this company. Oh yes. The beer is good but be sure to get your glass topped up to a full pint! 3 times I had to ask. The "so called trained to serve at the bar staff" have obviously been trained to meek cash by not pouring a full pint. Oh the looks you get when you ask them to top it up are hilarious. As I said. A great pub. Nice food. But poor service. Sort our your service and I will come back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate all feedback in which ever form it takes as we truly believe this is the only way of improving what we do. We are continually training and working towards giving the best service to all of our guests. We thank you for taking time to tell us we did not deliver so we can strive to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    94
    41
    28
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chobham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunchtime visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have been going to the Royal Oak for years because it provides good fod and real beer in a proper pub environment.
The last visit 25june 14, was sooooo disappointing.
I ordered a ploughmans. A plough mans is a simple meal of cheese, fresh bread butter and some onion maybe. I was served stale bread in two thin slices, thin sliced cheese, some vegetables I failed to identify and a poor, very por, excuse for a pickled onion. I left most of it.
Such a shame a so called traditional pub has to serve a crap plough mans that is trying to be something it isn't
Pretending to be something it isn't sums up the pub.
Oh, and you cannot run a tab. You must order drinks then fo date the bar. You wait for service each time as your food gets cold or stale. This is to protect them from theft. Customer service is well down the priority list of the owner (I think it must be a chain now)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate all feedback in which ever form it takes as we truly believe this is the only way of improving what we do. We are continually training and recruiting and working towards giving better service to all of our guests. I apologise that the food and service you received on your visit was not up to the high standard we are aiming for. We thank you for taking time to tell us we did not deliver as we truly want to provide the great service you would expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dad's 75th Birthday Bash”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I booked about three days before with no trouble at all, young chap was very polite on the phone. When we arrived our table was ready for us. I took a birthday cake with us and they were very accommodating when we arrived to take it from me to have ready for us after our meal. We ordered our food which the starters came in about 10 minutes, but I must say that once finished we did wait a while for the plates to be cleared (pub wasn't busy). Ours mains came out quite promtly and the food was very good, no problems at all. Overall we had a lovely time with lovely food and the staff being very polite and helpful. We will go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are really pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shame about the aggressive and rude manager, food and staff fine”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

A family 70th birthday celebration combined with Father's Day ended with a sour taste. Having booked two months in advance, on arrival we were informed that we had to be out within 2.5 hours due to a subsequent booking. We ordered food which arrived slowly but was perfectly decent. When with only 45 minutes to go of our 2.5 hours, the main courses still hadn't arrived we expressed concern about whether we would be done in time. Realising that there wouldn't be time for pudding for the adults, we subsequently ordered kids puddings and coffees and paid the bill ahead of time. Notwithstanding that, with 10 minutes to go, a member of staff was sent over telling us to leave even though we hadn't finished. We said that we would finish our coffees and leave. The next minute the manger came over and, in the presence of 4 young children, ordered us to "get out" . We pointed out the slow service, which he acknowledged but told us to "get out" anyway. In a somewhat shocked state we left, leaving drinks unfinished, but sadly the abysmal treatment ruined what should have been a lovely family celebration.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rupert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate all feedback in which ever form it takes as we truly believe this is the only way of improving what we do. We are continually training and working towards giving the best service to all of our guests. We thank you for taking time to tell us we did not deliver as we truly want to provide the great service you would expect
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good menu and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We found this pub to offer an extensive menu, including a number of meal offers. All the dishes we saw being served looked delicious as were all our 4 mains. There is a nice garden and good drinks selection. Prices are very reasonable. Though a bit noisy at times, this is a good family pub which was packed out on our visit a lunchtime on a Saturday. Though it has had some bad reviews, this was not our experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are happy to hear that you enjoy your visit; it’s great to hear positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Oak also viewed

 
Worplesdon, Guildford
 

Been to Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing