We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, expected better service for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mesta Medieval Castle Suites
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mesta
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced, expected better service for the price”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Very impressive interior decoration, very helpful staff, but still overpriced and some rooms (especially the enterance apartments) are very damp. Don't go for the cheaper ground floor apartments. Our internet line was not repaired for 3 days.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
33
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Situated in the townn of Mesta, south of Chios town, the Medieval Castle suites is a must for romantics. The suites with the patio areas ar the best as we payed an extra 30 $ on our second day to upgrade.It was very romantic with the stats over us all night. we loved Iris rest. dinner was very exciting as was the only rest with good greek wine selection. Cafe bar named Maona was the happening spot in town with very nice music ang a great slection of spirits. Lok for the beaches as jne is better thaan the other in the whole area. must seee old church and new church. Over all we loved the hotel and especialy "Mesta Village". I highly suggest.

Room Tip: pick the room that have balcony areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbirdBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Staying within this village was a wonderful experience. The room was beautiful, comfortable and had a lot of character. The real gem, however, was this location. We were able to drive down to the Port of Mesta and have a great dinner at Papa Mikalis and then return to the village and relax in our room before venturing out to the cafe located next to the church. The cafe was quite wonderful. We enjoyed visiting with local residents, the owner of the cafe and a a few tourists. (Since we visited in the off-season, there were not many tourists!) Driving and finding Mesta was no problem due to the well marked roads. Finding the room--that was sort of difficult since the village is enclosed by walls and was designed around a labyrinth, for security. I was disappointed by the breakfast, it was overpriced and I would have skipped it had I known. I would definitely visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcala de Henares, spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

When you are staying in such beautiful place as Mesta, and just inside the medieval fortress in a middle-age house restored to the detail, but with all modern commodities, there is no much you can critizise about a hotel. However, there are a few thing that can be done better and I would like to point them out for the owners to provide a first-class service (because the price is not cheap!).

First, the cleaners can do better. Behind the computer table, underneath the beds and some hidden corners in the batroom you have to clean too! As the cleaners forgot to flush, the toilet bowl included a "gift" courtesy of the previous guests, which is unacceptable. Also, hair and some dirt in the bathroom floor as well as some cigarette butts in the patio plants pots somehow blurred the excellent overall impression that we had when we entered in the room. We had been waiting a long 3 hours for checking in and it was about 13h when they announced that the room was ready. When we reached the room they were still cleaning so they were a bit rushed to have the room ready for us which might explain the previously described mess. The second day the beds were made very fast and only supperficially :(

Second, our room had a locker but it couldn't be used because of a couple of "friendly" previous guests who left it closed (thank you). All in all, it is the management duty to check that everything is perfectly ready for a new guest to check in so they should have realized about it and fixed it.

Another thing that can do better is the breakfast. I assume that remote places like Mesta must have a limited offer of products, specially in low season, but some fresh fruit, and a more decent olive oil, as well as a more varied offer would be really appreciated. However, I must say that fresh orange juice at no extra cost was a nice surprise.

We stayed in room 302, a double room with a convertible sofa, a tiny patio with a table and 2 chairs and a full kitchen which is all very convenient if you travel with kids. The room is nicely decorated and has a computer with Internet connection working fine (certainly not the fastest out there but OK), satellite tv with about 400 channels and a hifi system for CDs and DVDs all included in the room fee. The bathroom was very small and the shower had some leak that made the floor to get wet very easily, something really uncomfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the quality of sleep superb -both quality of bed and quiteness of the room- and the surroundings simply a place you must see!

Room Tip: The local restaurant To Mestousiko (small grill with outdoor seating) on the corner of the new churc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssalonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I really loved the concept of the room that I stayed in: It was like a cave, built of stone but at the same time full of comforts like a LCD TV, hi-fi system, modern lights (in fact the room was full of lights and light switches!) and a really cozy bathroom. The rooms were really clean and tidy, and the cable internet connection was a really pleasant surprise! There was also a fully-featured computer in the room, but I preferred to use my netbook. The bed was one of the best that I had ever used in a hotel, with a hard mattress and a comfortable cover.

Breakfast was really nice and adequate: Not great in variety but consisting of a number of savory and sweet items, fresh orange juice and some desserts. I never had a problem filling up before a busy day at Mesta and it kept me full until lunch.

There were some signs of humidity in the walls and the air inside the room was indeed humid, but when we left the windows open there was no problem. Also, the bathroom supplies (especially the toilet paper) were not frequently restocked, so we had to be rather cautious when using them. There was also a problem with the flush which was not noticed, leading to a low water flow.

In general, I was really pleased with the room and I would surely recommend the Medieval Castle rooms. The minor issues aforementioned were not enough to spoil the good image I had during my stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are scattered all over the village, so you may choose the one closer to the breakfast spot/vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vprot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Mesta is a very interesting part of Chios. The Medieval Suites are in restored old houses in Mesta. The suites are very comfortable, clean, the staff is very helpfull and friendly. In my opinion it is the best place to stay in Chios.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Medieval castle suites are the most beautiful, well appointed, stone maisonettes in all of Chios, if not the Aegean! The staff is phenomenal, we were with our one year old and they took special attention to bring us fresh fruits in the morning and to make sure all our needs are met. The rooms are really nice and spacious, with modern amenities enveloped in an amazing turn of the century architecture. This is a very hard combination to achieve with such level of detail.
The suites are within the fort town of Mesta, which because of the beautiful narrow cobble stone streets with archways, does not have any motor traffic within.
So quiet and safe, I cannot express how wonderful it is to walk home from he town square "platea" with a light head, full belly (go to Maouna) and no worries other than saying hello to the locals. I just never wanted to leave, and with a small child there is no safer, quiet and beautiful destination in all of Greece.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickmannhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesta
0.0 mi away
Lida Mary
Lida Mary
#1 of 4 in Mesta
131 reviews
13.8 mi away
Grecian Castle Hotel
Grecian Castle Hotel
#1 of 7 in Chios Town
177 reviews
7.6 mi away
Emporios Bay Hotel
Emporios Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Emporios
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mesta Mastic
Mesta Mastic
#2 of 4 in Mesta
43 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sea Breeze Hotel Apartments
Sea Breeze Hotel Apartments
#1 of 1 in Agios Emilianos
46 reviews
14.0 mi away
Chios Chandris Hotel
Chios Chandris Hotel
#2 of 7 in Chios Town
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mesta Medieval Castle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mesta Medieval Castle Suites

Property: Mesta Medieval Castle Suites
Address: Mesta 82102, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Chios > Mesta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mesta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mesta Medieval Castle Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mesta Medieval Castle Suites offers distinctive combination of 14th Century's elements, modern equipment, luxury and comfort. Here you can feel sure that you will enjoy an exceptional vacation filled with inspiration, relaxation and unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mesta Medieval Castle Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mesta Medieval Castle Hotel Chios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing