We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room but let down but other things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
Ranked #2 of 3 Ingoldmells B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Had family room which was clean and good in size and had no problem. Loud music well into night past midnight and hotel food was poor as well as restaurant around the hotel but main town worth a travel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Did not like Ingoldmells but this is purely down to personal taste. The room was very modern and clean. We stayed in a Superior Double and were very disappointed, the bed was comfy but very low to the floor. After looking on the hotel website we were amazed at how clever photography can make something so basic look so good. The view from the window was a corrugated metal wall which made our stay at the seaside even more special, be aware that if you are staying with children the noise levels from the bar / family room are very bad and go on until the early hours.

Room Tip: If you like to go to bed early ask for a room furthest away from the bars overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The room was lovely, but: - only two pillows overall for the double, and for the quality, may as well have not bothered and we stayed in the family room which was conveniently situation directly above the fun pub! May have been an idea to realise that families with small kids may want to sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, nearer the caravan park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We wanted a night out by the coast and decided on a hotel rather than a b&b. it was very clean and up to date with modern door key cards which were also for the main door as extra security. Room was spacious with a king size bed. En suite was a bit small but still did the trick. There was a bit of noise from the bar downstairs but we expect that. The only thing missing from the experience is the lack of breakfast. A buffet in the pub at the front would have topped a great night off!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazzler1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Decided to stay in a hotel this time rather than a caravan and was very impressed with the cleanness modernness and the quality. Good price would stay again, bit noisey untill 12 but then that's skeggy for you really

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gladwinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my partner & little boy, the room was very nice, modern & clean.
Staff was very friendly & helpful.
Room was cleaned everyday, even though they said it would be cleaned once.
Kept us topped up with tea & coffee making facilities.
The bar underneath did have music playing till early hours but we managed to get to sleep no problem.
There was kids running up & down the corridor but thats not the hotels fault its the parents.
Would definately go again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayeLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

If you have children I do not recommend this hotel. The bar is directly below and music(parties) carry on till 2am.
Right where do I start, the room. Basic, yes I know it's cheap but it's so poor I wouldn't let my dog stay there. The pillows were so awful, the bed, nice and big but the mattress awful. We had to have a family room with no intentions of using the single bed. No pillow case used and looked like there was blood all over it. Obviously this side was down, wasn't until I turned it over to use it on the master bed as you only get one crappy pillow each.
The window wouldn't close properly so the room was freezing. Couldn't go down and complain as there isn't any staff there after 7pm.
The bathroom, well omg I've never seen anything so small, I had to stand up to wipe otherwise you had your head in the sink. The only good thing I can say is that there is a hair dryer in the room.
Oh and don't let the pic fool you, the picture of the entrance because that's all it is, tucked around the back of a scummy pub. Looks nice and modern but it really isn't.
The only people I would recommend this hotel is a party of lads for a night out because they really don't cater for families or couples. I gor recommended to stay at hotel number 8 but choose it's sister hotel instead. What a big mistake. £49 what a complete waste of money. Good luck if you stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylieliz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingoldmells
3.5 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
3.1 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
3.8 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#22 of 25 in Skegness
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#18 of 25 in Skegness
254 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#5 of 25 in Skegness
303 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Hotel & Bars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel & Bars

Address: Anchor Anchor Lane, Ingoldmells, Skegness PE25 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness > Ingoldmells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ingoldmells
Price Range: £57 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchor Hotel & Bars 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Anchor Hotel & Bars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel & Bars Ingoldmells, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing