We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday Weekend”
Review of The Villager Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingoldmells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Villager Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Ingoldmells B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We booked at last minute at the hotel and were lucky to get 2 rooms. The reception process was simple albeit conducted in the bar area, as it is above the main family pub in Ingoldmells.
We got an electronic key each and felt the hotel part was quite secure.
The rooms were modern,clean and all you need.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are on the front where the noise is quite loud from pedestrians and music from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the Kingfisher caravan park in Ingoldmells and visited the hotel 3 times, we had a long wait for food (45 mins) which was just mainly frozen food, we were also told that they served until 8.30pm but on one of our nights we were told no food at 7.15pm I think this was due to a party being in and that they couldnt cope with it. Our empty plates stood on our tables along with our empty glasses (from our way over priced drinks) until I went and asked for them to be removed. We watched a Buddy holly tribute who was seriously poor, we also seen the Micheal Jackson act that was a woman just dancing, and to top it off that same woman done the Freddie Mercury tribute with a stick on tash (bizzare to say the least). We found the Havana bar on the same strip had better drink better service better entertainment and an all round better pub.

Room Tip: Dont!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulhardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Had a great stay we go to ingoldmells alot and really enjoyed our stay wish we could have stayed longer . Staff very cheerful and helpful, room very good and very clean . Would recommend it and will be back next easter thankyou for our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

took 2 grandchildren for a weekend away.  Room was very nice. Bathroom floor very slippery when getting  a little wet from shower.  Very clean.  Room very large. When the music started up it was one big nightmare. It was not turned down till midnight and still then it was quite loud.
Next morning we were all tired after only getting a few hours sleep. The room was not cheap as it was room only with no breakfast . Family room but not a family hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandMarylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic position for the shops and bars , the rooms are very nice clean and comfortable, the staff on arrival were very pleasent and welcoming ,This is the BUT, if you like an early night now and again or have young children that need to be in bed early , forget this place , the noise coming from the pub downstairs is loud, and goes on until midnight , then after the music stops the buzzing noise starts for the rest of the night, it's difficult to get a good nights sleep unless you have had a good drink yourself ,we tried the food and we found it as good as anywhere else , but it was more expensive than most. I would give the rooms 8/10, the sleep quality 4/10 due to the noise , the food 5/10 due to the price, hope this review helps,

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front , most noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We only used the restaurant part, it was an ordeal, where do i start 2 of us had fish and chips ,it was really bad ,oily, raw, batter yuk ,asked if the kids could have beans instead of peas, was told no ,i said ok, can you ask a superviser the same question ,to which the answer was now yes ,strange ,paid by card as you do ,went to the bar then ,only to be told we dont take cards at the bar ,so then we had to use the cash machine, and got charged ,the final straw for that visit, was when ,i asked for a glass of liebfraumilch wine only to be told, we only sell it by the bottle ,weird .The next day out of convenience we went there again just for drinks ,the kids then said can we have a snack, they wanted a bowl of chips each hubby went to order 4 bowls of chips and garlic bread ,only to be told, before you can order chips you will have to buy 2 meals ,i was disgusted with the whole event if it had been a top class place i could have understood ,but it was a scruffy restaurant which needs a makeover, money grabbers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollypops3109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed for 1 night on the 5th August but wish we had stayed longer. The room was directly over the pub which could get noisy but as soon as you closed the window we couldn't hear anything but we have older children so we weren't early to bed.

There was parking behind the hotel which was great and we parked up when we arrived and went off to the beach until our room was ready. When we checked in we were shown up to our room which was the first one at the top of the stairs and on the front facing Fantasy Island. We stayed in a family room and was surprised at how spacious the room was, it was also very clean, modern and well equipped with tea and coffee facilities

Would definitely recommend the hotel and when we go back to Ingoldmells we will definitely be staying at the hotel again as it so close to all attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brasso4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingoldmells
3.0 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
2.6 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
3.2 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#18 of 25 in Skegness
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#5 of 25 in Skegness
303 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#22 of 25 in Skegness
47 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villager Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villager Hotel

Address: The Villager Sea Lane, Ingoldmells, Skegness PE25 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness > Ingoldmells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ingoldmells
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villager Hotel is a modern, stylish family run hotel in a premium location. Our double rooms all have king size beds & our family rooms also have full size singles for children (cots are available upon request). All of our rooms have modern, spacious en-suites, flat screen LCD TVs, tea & coffee making facilities & hairdryers, ironing facilities are available upon request.On-site parking is situated to the rear of The Villager & is included in our room rate.We serve our extensive menu in The Villager on the ground floor from 11am (10am at weekends & school holidays) until 8.30pm & we also serve full English Breakfast until noon daily.We have live entertainment during the season every weekend & then every night in the school holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Villager Hotel Ingoldmells, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing