We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable break”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ingoldmells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlins Skegness Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingoldmells
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable break”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Booked a weekend break at Skegness Butlins for myself, my husband, 78 year old mum, and my grandchildren age 6 & 14.
We wanted an apartment for the space, and needed this to be ground floor as mum is a wheelchair user. The only one left was Gold which cost just over £500 for spring bank holiday weekend, ouch!
To be fair, the apartment was to a very high standard with everything you needed including a dish washer. Individual sachets of tea, coffee, sugar and milk for 6 people were there on arrival and topped up daily, and maids came in daily to make the beds and change bathroom towels when needed.
The majority of the resort is wheelchair friendly, but there are a few gravel paths which aren't easily negotiable.
We didn't eat much in the resort as it was good weather so we went out and about. We did eat at the Rock and sole, cost £32 for 5 of us which wasn't bad. The food was ok, served quickly and was hot. The staff were helpful, bringing our meals to us rather than expecting us to wait at the counter.
My granddaughter had an adrenalin pass to use the climbing wall, high ropes and free fall. £17 pre-booked and good value for money. The staff were great, putting everyone at ease and giving them the confidence to complete the activity.
I think it's unfair that there are some rides in the funfair that incur a charge. I can understand some of the activities being charged for but feel all funfair rides should be free.
We are planning to book again later in the year but will possibly be looking at silver accommodation next time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Kayp75,

We’re pleased you enjoyed your break with us and made the most of the activities we have to offer! Ground floor accommodation tends to go very quickly so definitely get in there early next time :).

We will feedback your comments to the resort, great to hear you are looking to book again!

We can’t wait to see you again soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,713
    1,372
    681
    310
    363
See reviews for
2,880
360
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (980)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our latest visit, one of many in the last 5 years, was a quiet one. We gave most of the usual clubs and entertainment a miss, and spent most of our time in the new Splash Waterworld.
In spite of the huge amount of visitors due to terrible weather, the pool did not feel over crowded (once away from the pool entrance.) The new seating/ sun beds meant family members not swimming could join in the fun.
We also used the cinema which was showing the latest new releases and a family ticket for £18 was very reasonable. Although the screen was small, sound was excellent.
Once again the food in the premium restaurant, The Deck, was fantastic. Couldn't be faulted and the service was on par with the food.
We went for the cheapest accommodation, and although it could have done with a paint, it was spotlessly clean and well sized.
Well done Butlins and thanks for a brilliant short break.

Room Tip: All depends on your perspective. Cheap, clean but rough around the edges- go standard. Otherwise, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Fiona,

Sounds like you had a lovely quiet break with us at Butlins Skegness. Great to hear you made the most of Splash Waterworld and the cinema. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our premium dining, we hope to have you and your family back again soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

we went to butlins Skegness 23rd may for 3 nites we stayed in a silver two bed room which was nice n modern but we did suffer with ants and when it rained the bathroom stank but apart from that it was nice ! we had our breakfast in coast restaurant each morning a little dear at £19 for two but it was worth it we ate loads !!! for tea we just got a pizza from ludos but it wasn't up too much and nor was the chip shop chips were awful !! I thought bobs yard being outside for the kids was a bit strange as when it rained there wasn't much to do for the little ones my son harry 4 loves bob the builder all there was to do was the soft play inside next to the fair we recently went to minehead where bobs yard is inside and soft play is inside the pavilion !! I do prefer minehead to Skegness as theres a steam train and the town is a lot closer !! we had a door in our room adjoining the room opposite and cud hear the family talking good job there wasn't party animals I think I wud go back to Skegness but stay in a apartment next time

Room Tip: go for gold if u can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiny89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Tiny89,

Thank you for your review, we’re glad you enjoyed your breakfast from Coast! We are currently dealing with the ants and hope to resolve this problem as soon as possible. We will pass on your comments to the resort, great to hear you would like to come back again!

Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Absolutely love Butlins! Ignore any negative reviews, I think some people expect a 5 star hotel! Our teenage son loves it, and we don't see him much when we go, as he meets friends at the VIP club (club for teenagers). This is a place that caters for all ages! Going again in 3 weeks! yippee!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise2000_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Louise,

We’re glad you love Butlins! Thank you for such a lovely review, we can’t wait to see you in 3 weeks time! Yippee!!! :)

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Attended the Tiny Tots Break and was so impressed. From 'checking in' via the 'drive in' the whole break was well organised and full of fun. My 2 year old Grandson was overwhelmed by all the activities taking place which made life easier for us as we didn't have to think about things to entertain him. Most of the entertainment is included in the price so there are no issues if your child wants to keep going on the rides at the fun fair. I agree that the staff work very hard and are extremely friendly and helpful. They appear to be genuinely happy in their work and sincere with their efforts to please. The resort and accommodation is very clean. The only criticisms of the standard apartments is that there is only one bedroom equipped with a mirror. Very difficult to dry your hair without the help of a mirror and a plug socket close by. Also, the children belonging to the family staying in the apartment above us were a little noisy jumping around at 6am each morning. I suppose this is to be expected but this is the only reason why I have marked the sleep quality down. It's a shame as the beds were so comfy and bedding smelt lovely and fresh.
We chose to go self catering but we ate out most of the time as the food in the Sun and Moon pub was very nice and affordable. There is a small Spa shop on site where you can buy basic provisions and prices are only a little more than prices at home. I would not hesitate to recommend this break. In fact, we have already booked for next year. There is so much to do at the resort (including adults... bowling, pool, swimming, go cart racing etc.,) and although there is a charge for some of the adult activities, the prices are reasonable. For beach lovers, the beach is just a short walk away. I could go on further raving about the break but I'd advise taking a look on the Interactive Resort map on the Butlin's site for full details. Fabulous!

Room Tip: Take a portable mirror if staying in the standard apartments as although there is a mirror in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayLovers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi HolidayLovers007,

Great news that you had a fabulous break with us! It’s good to hear that the adults are enjoying our ‘Just for Tots’ breaks as well as the little ones :). As it’s was a ‘Tots’ break the little ones do tend to wake up earlier, we’re pleased our beds were nice and comfy for you though!

Wow, booked to come back already! How exciting, we can’t wait to see you again :).

We will pass on your feedback regarding the mirrors; hopefully this is something we can improve in the future.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have been to Butlins so many times over the past few years we have been upgraded to gold premier club status! We go a few times a year, mostly in-between term times to grab a 3-4 day break. On the face of it, its a still a cheap break for those of us who have to go away during the school holidays. Yes, there are things to pay for when you get there and we factor that into the cost, but overall I think it is good value for money. This is our experience so far:

We have found that there is little advantage in waiting to try and get a 'last minute' deal, if you get a good price, book it whilst you can! We always go silver accommodation and try to get an apartment. If you book a room, even with a meal plan, it can feel a bit claustrophobic with children and a lounge and kitchen area makes all the difference. Standard is too basic and often not nice.. Gold is nice but for what you get extra its not worth the large premium you pay. The last two times we have been we have been upgraded to gold anyway. Gold apartments are a long way from the Skyline, about 10-15 mins walk in some cases. Silver is a bit closer, but if you can bear it standard apartments are right next to the action!! When we were in gold we were incredibly lazy and drove from our apartment onto the car park right next to the Skyline by splash waterworld. No one questioned it and it meant no rushing for breakfast ;)

Meals - We have tried every catering package going. Self catering feels liberating, especially for breakfast because you have to get up pretty early and haul yourselves to the dining areas. No lunch provided and then the evening meal. This year, we tool out off-peak premium dining. It was nearly the same cost as standard and but the food was lovely (as it always is in premium) and best of all it suited us lazy people perfectly. Late breakfast 10-11 and then we had a snack later in the day before having a late dinner (6.45-8pm).

I am not an entertainment person - I find the shows cheesy and boring but the family game show was excellent, even for a cynic such as myself. I have never been into wrestling but it was brilliant entertainment. We invested in Sky bar passes one time, a special bar above the action and it was worth every penny. We felt like VIPs but have never been able to book it since as it is very popular. Children aged 3, 4 , 12 and 18 all found something to entertain them. I cannot imagine many places where that can happen.

There are so many shows, so many things to do even before you get to the things you have to pay for that it is exhausting! My best advise would be not to try and do everything in a day.. pace yourself and take a few apartment breaks. The best thing about Butlins in my opinion is that they really do take care and their attention to detail is brilliant. The staff are very friendly.. especially when they have to put up with guests who complain at the slightest hint of a que! We will continue to go back until the children have all grown up and I suspect I will look back on these years with the rosy tinge of good memories..

Room Tip: Standard rooms are poor but very close. Silver rooms/apartments are nice and most within a decent di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Paul,

Thank you for giving us such lovely feedback, we’re so pleased to hear that you enjoy Butlins so much that you come back again and again! It sounds like you’ve tried almost everything at our resorts, and you have some great advice in there for new guests :)

We can’t wait to see you again soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by Butlin's at Skegness and will definitely go again. We had booked a silver 2 bedroom room for me, my husband and our 5 year old son. On arrival we had received a free upgrade to a 2 bedroomed apartment so we got a lounge/dining/kitchen room included for free which was very handy.

The building was a bit shabby outside with peeling paint but it wasn't bad. The room was reasonably clean but they hadn't cleaned under the sofas (I didn't go looking but you could see some old biscuits or crackers just under the front of it!) The bathroom and kitchen were spotless.

We had the premium dining package and we could choose to go to The Deck or The Yacht restaurants for our breakfast and evening meals. The Deck was our favourite. There was lots of choice. We had Full English breakfast each morning. Fish and Chips, Lasagne, Roast dinner, lovely hot and cold desserts. They also have curries, burgers etc and plenty of stuff for fussy kids like jacket potatoes, fishfingers. sausages, bread and cheese, salads and soups.

All the staff were very friendly and polite. I couldn't fault the restaurant staff or the red coats, they were great. The entertainment was good. We went to a Cirque du Hilarious show and a wrestling show, my son did clock making (£5) and fun fencing (free). The swimming pool was brilliant, it did get very busy when it rained but we got in without waiting.

The beach gate takes you to a gorgeous clean quiet beach but unfortunately the gate closes at 5pm so you can't go for an evening walk on the beach without going off the premises. It would be better if it could keep open later for a peaceful evening activity because everything is quite hectic on site. There is a lovely small park by the beach gate with giant sized beach ball, sunbed, parasol etc which my son loved.

The fairground is great, we also did ten pin bowling (extra charge) and played in the arcades. The place has a lovely atmosphere. There are a lot of tween kids running riot in the evening and people just let their toddlers stroll round the buffet tripping people up but that isn't Butlin's fault.

We were in the furthest possible building (Pearl Court) from the main attractions so it was a little walk to get there but it was fine for us. The queue to get into the most popular evening shows like Dick vs Dom and Scooby Doo was crazy so we skipped them and just went to the quieter shows because if you are not early enough in the queue you end up sat far back and rude people do let their kids stand on chairs at the front and block the view. I might consider buying a B-Line pass next time to get into the shows early and get the best seats but it would have been an extra £45 for the 3 of us.

We will be booking for the same half term next year and are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazmina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Kazmina2014,

We’re pleased you enjoyed your break at Butlins Skegness Resort, thank you for your kind feedback. Great to hear you had a good time at the fairground and other activities on resort, we would definitely suggest a B-Line pass for next time if you would like front row seats to the shows.

Can’t wait to see you again soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingoldmells
2.4 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
3.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 26 in Skegness
459 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
501 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlins Skegness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlins Skegness Resort

Property: Butlins Skegness Resort
Address: Roman Bank | Ingoldmells, Ingoldmells, Skegness PE25 1NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness > Ingoldmells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingoldmells
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlins Skegness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1604
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Lincolnshire coastline, Butlins Skegness resort is the place to go if you’re a beach lover. Butlins Skegness boasts a luxury spa, fantastic outdoor family pools and the longest, sandiest beach. Staying in charming New England style accommodation you’ll feel right at home. Make the most of the county famous for its agriculture and take the kids to visit a real working farm, or even meet the seals at the seal sanctuary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Skegness Hotel Skegness
Butlins Hotel Skegness
Butlins Resort Skegness
Butlins Skegness Resort Ingoldmells, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing