We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun weekend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ingoldmells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlins Skegness Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingoldmells
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun weekend”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in silver room basic but clean and spacious which was fine for us, we stayed half board premium and food was fantastic. The new splash pool is brilliant kids loved it. Will be back again next year

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank shz90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi Shz90,

We’re so pleased you had a fun weekend with us, thanks for a great review. :)

See you next year!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,667
    1,339
    664
    295
    353
See reviews for
2,780
355
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We went as a family kids 14 , 10 very warm on 1st day but rained the rest ,3rd time we have been usually stay in caravan but whent for the silver accommodation this time OK cleanish , loads to do even in wet weather but be warned swimming pool is chock a block , night time entertainment is great for all ages , fairground is good but is ageing , don't be afraid to take your own drinks in to the shows as this will save you a lot of money. Would go back again

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank chesterpadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Chesterpadge,

Luckily Butlins also caters for bad weather! Splash Waterworld can get busy when the weather is not so great, glad to hear you still had lots to do though and that you enjoyed our night time entertainment.

We’d love to have you back again soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed in silver accomodation the rooms were clean and tidy everything you need for a weekend stay.Have not been to butlins for a few years and was pleasently surprised by the updated site entertainment was good food very good and the staff in the dining room were excepional special attention for mags the supervisor brilliant .We took a group of children various backgrounds and they all had a fab time and anyone who has not checked out the fun splash are missing out hours were spent in there and i have heard that a lot more improvments on the way .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaffknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Kaffknight,

Thanks for your kind review! We’re pleased the kids had a fab time, we are always looking to improve all elements of our breaks including Splash Waterworld :).

Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Butlins is great place to stay, plenty to do indoors and outside so whatever the weather it doesn't matter. Huge queues for shows but if you take turns it's not that bad, we just chose our top two , couldn't imagine queuing for everything. Splash world is amazing caters for all.
Down side is the beds, even in gold accommodation they are dreadful uncomfortable and extremely squeaky. Please please can butlins get this sorted ASAP we have all come away with severe back and neck pain.
All in all though great place to go to for family get togethers

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darren k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Darren,

We agree rain or shine there’s always something fun to do at Butlins! If you’re thinking of coming back again soon you could try out our B-line passes, that way you can miss out the queues and go straight in! Great to hear you had a good time in Splash Waterworld, it really is perfect for all.

We are constantly looking to maintain the highest possible standards in all our accommodation, and therefore we will pass on your comments about the beds. If you would like to discuss this further please send us an email to tripadvisor@Butlins.com.

Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I will start with the good things about our holiday there were nine of us in total two families the apartments were fine nice big rooms and basic facilities these were fine for what we needed nothing special but we didn't expect anything different both families have been in the past and loved it each time so kind of knew what to expect. This was the first year we had paid for breakfast and tea included and we weren't disappointed buffet style so could choose what you want and how much, go up as many times as you like and ice cream for the kids afterwards perfect. The emergency entertainment guys are very funny. The shows were amazing as always but that is where the compliments stop unfortunately. The red coats didn't seem very interested at all unlike previous years when they say hello as you pass or stop and talk to the kids but none of that this year. Now we did already have a problem my daughter had broken her arm the week previous (too late to cancel) so agreed it wouldn't be easy but she would be able to go on the rides in bobs yard and so on, how wrong were we they have moved bobs yard from being undercover to outside near the fairground so because it rained for most of the week it became flooded and this prevented anybody from using those rides which then meant she couldn't go on anything, the funfair for my older daughter hasn't changed in years and it shows the rides keep breaking down all the time. The swimming pool was so busy we couldn't get a locker or a cubicle to change in we took the kids once and after that experience were so stressed we didn't do it again. The shows on an evening are brilliant but getting a table is impossible and if you are lucky enough to get a table then you get ignorant people standing in front of you so then we had kids constantly moaning that they couldn't see, to me the shows seemed dangerously over occupied. If it is raining there isn't enough to do which doesn't cost you an absolute fortune. I have never had a bad thing to say about butlins in the past but this experience has defiantly put both families off from returning for a long long time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Bella120181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Bella,

We’re pleased that you enjoyed the dining options we have to offer, and the shows. We hope your daughter’s arm is recovering, sorry to hear the rest of your stay did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to give us such detailed feedback about your stay, which we will pass onto resort. The only way we can continue to deliver great family breaks is with the help of feedback like yours – we’d be delighted if you were to return.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

First time at butlins and I really enjoyed it! We stayed in a silver room with family in separate rooms. I wasn't overall impressed with the room. Very good size and on suite was big however we had a dirty shower curtain, mould also on the skirting boards and the cupboard inside the desk smelt of left over food. We did have a broken plug however but maintenance fixed that straight away. Would note bring an adapter plug!! we only have two plugs for the whole rooms, not enough!

The food court had a very good choice of food, lots of different optitions each night and you can go up as many times as you can fit in!! does get very busy however especially on the first night.

The activities and entertainment was endless, you will not be bored!! Swimming pool you could spend all day there and there are lots of arcades which are good for filling in time. Would recommend booking activities on the first day as they get filled up quick, sadly we missed out on bowling as it was all booked up. Only thing we found was that other than the spa there wasn't many extra activities for adult females.

Would defiantly go back again soon!

Room Tip: Not sure if your able to chose room location but we stayed very close to the spa so not much walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForeverKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Katie,

How delightful that you enjoyed your first time at Butlins, great to hear the food and activities kept you entertained and your tummies full! Thank you for your feedback we really do appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. Marvellous news that you want to come back again!

We hope to see you soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Second year in a row here with esf events for kids rugby. Stayed in the standard accomodation half board. The rooms are generally clean and all that you need for a weekend stay. However my sisters room did have a massive infestation of ants!!! The food is great for the money and lots of choice for everyone. Staff are always helpful. The best bit I think is you can take your own booze into the main tent on an evening which saves a fortune. Kids live it, the funfair is great and the swimming is good too. Busy times the queues are massive For the slides so worth planning well in advance to get a quiet time. Overall a good break and will be going again next year only for the kids rugby but don't think I would choose to go for a family holiday.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank littlewood83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Littlewood83,

Fab to hear you enjoyed your stay for the kid’s rugby, and we’re so happy you’re planning to come back next year! Thanks for your feedback; we do suggest a B-Line pass for busy breaks as you can avoid queues and get to the good stuff quickly! We are currently dealing with the ants and hope to have this rectified as soon as possible.

Look forward to seeing you soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingoldmells
2.4 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
3.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
237 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 26 in Skegness
452 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
#3 of 3 in Ingoldmells
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlins Skegness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlins Skegness Resort

Property: Butlins Skegness Resort
Address: Roman Bank | Ingoldmells, Ingoldmells, Skegness PE25 1NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness > Ingoldmells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingoldmells
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlins Skegness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1604
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Lincolnshire coastline, Butlins Skegness resort is the place to go if you’re a beach lover. Butlins Skegness boasts a luxury spa, fantastic outdoor family pools and the longest, sandiest beach. Staying in charming New England style accommodation you’ll feel right at home. Make the most of the county famous for its agriculture and take the kids to visit a real working farm, or even meet the seals at the seal sanctuary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Skegness Hotel Skegness
Butlins Hotel Skegness
Butlins Resort Skegness
Butlins Skegness Resort Ingoldmells, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing