We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ingoldmells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlins Skegness Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingoldmells
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Went to butlins skegness 9th-13th june, yet again did not displease, very happy overall with our holiday. Immediately felt welcome, and was showed where we were staying. Had no troubles checking in. Rooms where very clean but a little bit disappointed that they no longer provide towel's.
The new little stars fair looks lovely now its moved my 2 year old son loved it .
Entertainment yet again fantastic altho if u want to go to center stage u do need to start queuing quite early to be able to get a seat. New swimming pool fantastic. New restaurants fantastic. Generally lots to do. Will defo be returning for our 4th time next year. Always been new things to do. Well done butlins

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicia2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi alicia2586

When guests use the word "fantastic" often in reviews, it makes us very happy!

The team at our Skegness resort will love reading your comments, and we're delighted you plan to come back for the fourth year in a row.

Thanks again

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,688)
There are newer reviews for Butlins Skegness Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,762 - 2,768 of 4,688 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

My parents took my family, (husband, myself, 2 & 4 year old), & my brother & his partner, for the latter May bank holiday weekend. I did have a bit of a 'snobby' attitude about it, however, it was much better than I thought. We stayed in Silver accommodation &, although the bedding & bathrooms were clean, the dining furniture & carpets were a but dirty. We also had a funny smell in our apartment, however, someone was out to see to it within an hour of it being reported.

The landscaping & design was very aesthetically pleasing, particularly the younger children's fair rides (my 2 year old would have spent all 3 days there!). There was plenty for the children to do & the pool is excellent. The changing rooms were a bit manic but the pool itself didn't feel horrendously busy, although there was a queue for the flumes.

My husband and & I went with my brother & his partner to 'Reds' one evening. It was very busy but we managed to get a table. We saw the Pink tribute & the Redcoats show. It was very cabaret but Pink was quite good.

We ate at one if the buffet style restaurants one evening & the food was good enough, with lots of choice. We had a meal at the Italian restaurant for my dad's birthday & it was great. The food was same choice & price as Pizza Express but better quality & they really made a fuss of my dad.

We would definitely visit again & think it's great for the kids. The fact that most things are free there is a bonus too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snelsontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi snelsontravel

We are delighted that your break at our Skegness resort exceeded your expectations!

Your feedback and comments are much appreciated and will help us ensure we maintain the high standards we set. The fact that you would "definitely" visit again is great news!

We really look forward to welcoming you and your family soon.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It depends on what you want from a holiday - if you want cheap and cheerful, Butlins is ideal and the kids will have fun.
Unlike Center Parcs though where you can just spend hours walking through the forest and taking the children to the many parks along the way - Butlins is all about consumerism - they want you to spend vast amounts on the literally hundreds (no exaggeration) of arcade machines.
Yes all the shows are included in the price - but they are not amazing - 'Discover Magic' was painfully boring for my 5 & 4 year old, and the animal show was ok if you want to see a snake and a spider (the man presenting it was the best bit, he was really funny). Even the shows with characters were a bit cobbled together with not much of a story.
The best thing we saw was the puppet theatre - my children loved the puppets (the man presenting this though was very sexist to his female assistants - getting them to wiggle their bums to the audience and saying 'cheeky!' - seems a bit dated these days.)
The pool was surprisingly good - loads of flumes etc It can get very busy though.
You can visit the beach but all you can see is a huge windfarm! - You can't even see the sea really because it is so far out! (We were there at 3pm) The sand is lovely and soft.
Apartment was ok but noisy at night until around midnight (we were in the Gold Apartment)
The funfair was really good too - just stay away from the stalls which will rip you off obviously

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillsidelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Hillsidelife

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. It really helps us to hear what guests think.

We're glad you enjoyed the Fairground and Splash Waterworld, but we'll pass your views on the shows onto our Entertainments team so they are aware of your feelings.

We certainly agree on the sandy beach at Skegness - it's won a Blue Flag award again this year.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This particular holiday was a reserved one but went with an open mind. First of all it's a long way to go from london. On arrival I was pleasantly impressed with decor it seemed as if you were in Barbados with New England style pastel colour apartments , welcome was friendly and all seemed well. We booked a silver apartment which looked slightly run down compared to the gold apartments. Once inside the apartments it was not cleaned properly with chips under sofas and also an ant problem. We were very lucky as we arrived Friday morning and their wasn't many people so we got to do all the activities without queues, however the following day their were horrific queues for all the activities on site. Evening entertainment is aweful but the arcades are fun . The theme park was sufficient and the best are the go-karts, which coat £5 per ride. The beach is awesome and really clean. People are a mixture . Overall it's exactly what you think about butlins . In the end it's all about the kids. Food was of good standard and service was great . In fact service was great throughout. Town centre is a typical seaside town nothing more. However it was fun overall. Don't expect a lot and you will be impressed .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prlrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Prlrt

We're glad to hear you had a fun time at our Skegness resort - we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review, as guest feedback is essential to us.

We will be sharing your comments with the team on resort, particularly with regard to the issues you encountered with your accommodation.

Thanks again.

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at butlins Skegness from 9th June for 4 nights. Our first time was last year with just our little boy who was 2 and I can honestly say he never forgot our butlins holiday last year and always talked about the bob cars so we just had to take him back this year with his new little sister who is 8 months. We all had the most amazing holiday, and didn't want to leave our little boy was in tears when we left. We cannot fault anything about the holiday apart from it went too quick! We stayed in a gold apartment and had premium food and ate in the deck restaurant every day, special thanks to Annette, Gail and James who were brilliant with my little boy. The food was fantastic and I would thoroughly recommend including premium food, lots of variety and not just fry ups! Lots of fresh fruit cereals, pastries, pancakes, omelettes so much selection and for dinner to, lots to keep children and adults very satisfied. The restaurant has plenty of staff someone is constantly cleaning the drinks machines or the ice cream machines, and cleaning tables and high chairs. The opening times are fab too with my children they are up so early so an early breakfast is brilliant and dinner is served from 430 which again is brilliant for children.
Our apartment was very spacious and quiet, cleaned lovely every day for us and it was great to have a patio door leading out to the large grass area so my little boy could run around with his football.
As for entertainment their was something on constantly to keep my little boy entertained, which is fantastic as he is always on the go! Tots football was brilliant, swimming pool fantastic and warm with plenty of lockers and changing rooms which were clean, fair ground was fun too and indoor soft play area is good, outside water jets with the music are amazing! access is fantastic every where with a buggy too.
We didn't go to any of the shows at the centre stage as after dinner we would go to the tots disco then watch the skyline gang and then head back to apartment with our very tired but happy children.
A lot Of people have a negative opinion of butlins, but until you have tried it you really cannot judge . We have always holidayed at centre parcs which is always lovely but with an energetic 3 year old there is not much to cater for for him apart from the pool, so we thought we would try something different, and if you are like us happy children mean happy parents, they are only young once so we have had a holiday for them to make such fun memories, we will do holidays abroad when they are older but at this age every thing is so magical to them and who can beat a cuddle from fireman Sam or bob the builder!!
I have booked for next year already!
I cannot praise butlins enough, and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Deck restaurant is a must
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 987Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi 987Kate

Nothing pleases us more than to read a guest saying "we all had the most amazing holiday" when reviewing a Butlins break!

There are so many lovely comments that we will be sharing with the team at Skegness. I know they will enjoy reading them.

Of course we're even more delighted to hear you have already booked for next year. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have just returned from a short break to Butlins Skegness with my 6 year old twin boys. My boys have autism and when we arrived at the restaurant next door to Coast on Friday evening, one of them started to have a meltdown. The staff very quickly recognised he was having an issue with the size and noise etc of the restaurant and we were asked if we wanted to change to the Coast restaurant which is smaller and quieter. unfortunately my little boy has a very big phobia of flies and when we went into Coast, he saw one and things deteriorated and I decided we would have to leave dinner. The staff were amazing and the manager Michelle, brought us dinner to our room and said that if we needed to eat in our room for the rest of the break, she could help us with this. The next day was much calmer and we managed to do lots of activities and eat in the restaurant calmly. All the staff were super friendly, helpful and understanding and we had a lovely time.

anyway I just needed to say how nice it was to visit somewhere so special needs friendly and it would be nice for the restaurant staff to get some sort of recognition for how helpful they were.

We stayed in room only with the dining plan. the rooms were basic but clean. Food was nice with a good selection and there was always something for the kids to eat.

The activities were great fun - we enjoyed the Scooby doo show. Rather than stand in a queue to get in we waited till the show was just about to start and then went to the front to sit on the floor of the dance floor where they were inviting children to come and sit (another holiday maker had given us this tip)

We used Tesco vouchers to go on this holiday. Not sure if I would pay full price, but definitely worth it with discounts etc
We stayed in Breakwater Grove in room 28 which was far enough away from the main resort to be quiet at night but a very short walk to all the facilities. it is also only one storey so no noise from rooms above or below.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mads B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Mads B

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. We appreciate the chance to hear your thoughts.

Of course we're delighted to read the team at Skegness were "super friendly, helpful and understanding" - those comments will mean a lot to them, and we'll make sure Michelle sees your review.

Thanks again

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Our 1st stay at Skegness the last two years we have been Bognor & minehead..
Not impressed with Skegness we chose a 'standard' apartment with 'premier dining'
Didn't expect a palace but cleanliness would have been nice! The red carpet was black! The kitchen floor had gaffa tape on and the bathroom sides had cigarette burns .. Beds were comfy though!
The food... Don't bother with premier if you have young children as the food is the same as food court full of grease! My daughter (4) bit into a potato waffle and oil squirted out and dripped down her arm, we told the food manager and his reply was 'sorry it's because it's been sitting there soaking up the grease!
There was also an allowance for guests to freely walk around with children smoking cannabis! (Have put in complaint about this)
Also we paid extra for a b line pass and got good seats at the front just for people to stand in front of us! My advice go to Bognor or minehead much better butlins'

Room Tip: Maybe go gold!?
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Cat M

Thank you for leaving a detailed review - while we're disappointed to read some of your comments, it helps us to maintain the high standards we set ourselves.

Be assured we will pass your comments back to resort, particularly those about the smoking and the elements of your accommodation which fell short of expectations.

We'd love you to come back to Skegness as the team would love the chance to give you a brilliant break.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingoldmells
2.4 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
3.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#5 of 25 in Skegness
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#18 of 25 in Skegness
243 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
The Kings Head
#1 of 1 in Addlethorpe
27 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
#2 of 3 in Ingoldmells
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlins Skegness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlins Skegness Resort

Address: Roman Bank | Ingoldmells, Ingoldmells, Skegness PE25 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness > Ingoldmells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingoldmells
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlins Skegness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1604
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Lincolnshire coastline, Butlins Skegness resort is the place to go if you’re a beach lover. Butlins Skegness boasts a luxury spa, fantastic outdoor family pools and the longest, sandiest beach. Staying in charming New England style accommodation you’ll feel right at home. Make the most of the county famous for its agriculture and take the kids to visit a real working farm, or even meet the seals at the seal sanctuary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Skegness Hotel Skegness
Butlins Hotel Skegness
Butlins Resort Skegness
Butlins Skegness Resort Ingoldmells, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing