We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly suprized”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ingoldmells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlins Skegness Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingoldmells
nottingham
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasantly suprized”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just back from 3 nights staying on the touring site in the Caravan Village. Spacious pitches and plenty of space for 3 grandchildren to play. The toilets and showers were clean but a bit basic. Everything at Butlins is about the children and my grandchildren loved it. The Splash Waterworld was very good but the changing rooms could have been a better layout as the floor was very dirty. They loved the fairground especially the Little Stars Fairground and the amusements in the Skyline Pavilion. We ate at several of the restaurants. The best was Ludos Italian - tasty food at reasonable prices. All the staff we met were helpful and friendly. A tip would be to book any activities as soon as you arrive. Our boys wanted to do mini tennis and soccer school but they were booked up so the eldest took part in the Road to WemBillyfootball tournament and had a great time. It was very well organised and all the kids seem to really enjoy it. A real fun holiday for children.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jools54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Jools54,

Wonderful to hear your grandchildren loved it at Butlins Skegness and that they enjoyed Splash Waterworld and the fairground. We're pleased you got to try Ludos Italian, the food really is yummy!

Thank you for your feedback we will pass your comments onto resort, we hope to see you again soon!

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,697
    1,356
    671
    304
    359
See reviews for
2,831
358
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was my first time visiting butlins and I though it was going to be very run down but the amount of things there to do for kids is amazing they will never get bored I had a fantastic time the apartments were lovely and clean and I think it was a good idea that it had a free fair there's swell there's also fantasy island that's amazing if anyone was suggesting to take there children here you should they would love it there's so much to do!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 574Annie12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Annie,

Thank you for the lovely review, we're so pleased you had a fantastic time with us at Butlins Skegness! Great to hear we kept you entertained and that you had so much to do!

We'd love to have you back again!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I would say 3.5 but the kids really had a great time.

This is a return week, exactly one year later. Nothing in the resort seems to have changed much. It could really do with a refurb. Same old fairground rides and arcade machines looking shabbier for another year.

Food upgrade was worth it to get away from hell.

Aside from the negative comments we had a great time. We stayed a week and felt the entertainment did repeat after 3 days. We had b-line passes which are a must to casually beat the queues after dinner. Otherwise you will not get a table unless you like queuing early.

I would rate this 5 stars for a first visit. 3.5 there after. You must upgrade the food and get a b-line pass. Extra money but worth it. We stayed in lagoon bay which is close to everything and the room spacious (but tired) compared to a chalet.
We also added housekeeping for clean towels every day, but the cleaning was poor.

Overall: Great variety for the kids.

Room Tip: Lagoon bay for a great location to facilities without a massive hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Mike,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear your children had a great time with us. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your stay in comparison to last year. We will pass on your comments regarding the facilities and dining to resort so that we can continue to maintain our services to a high standard.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I've been to Butlins a number of times over the years and my latest visit to Skegness was probably the best of all. From checking in to checking out and everything in between, we found the staff to be excellent. Every member of staff that we spoke to gave us the impression that they were there to make sure we had a great holiday - and it worked. The entertainment was great, albeit typical for the type of holiday that Butlins is, and was well suited to entertaining the whole family.
I was also impressed by the general cleanliness of the resort as a whole. If I had to complain about anything it would be that the big cabaret halls could have been ventilated better. But that would be picky - after all we visited them most days we were there.
I wouldn't recommend a Butlins summer holiday for couples without children but for families with young children you can't fail to have a good time. We didn't eat in at the camp as we chose to find restaurants off the camp so I can't comment on the quality of the dining but everything else was good.
Whoever is running the camp should be congratulated on the quality of the staff because the welcome they extend to their guests and the service they provide was first class and made our 4 night break memorable - we will be back.

Room Tip: If you're prepared to take a chance on availability then you can get good "last minute"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Rhondda_Rob,

We're pleased that you had a great family holiday at Butlins Skegness! We are so glad that your experience with us from checking in to checking out was excellent and that you enjoyed the entertainment we have to offer.

Thank you for your feedback we will pass this on to resort and hope that you come and visit us again soon!

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester, midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend, for the first time since I was a kid! How different everything is! Had a fantastic time but this was mainly due to having beautiful weather and booking premium food also. We booked a silver room which was ok, but looked a bit shabby, needing paintwork and updating a little. The beds however were very uncomfortable! The daytime entertainment/activities were good and kept my two children busy. A real disappointment was the fact that most things closed at 5pm. So for the kids, there was little to do in the evening except the shows. My problem was I was not prepared to queue with a 2 and 8 year old for over an hour to get a seat at the shows! So, we didn't really see any of the late evening shows. The redcoats themselves were fantastic and were a real credit to Butlins! I would go again but only by booking last minute to ensure good weather. I can't imagine it would be so great in the rain as the fairground is not under cover and neither is the play area. I was really surprised by how lovely the beach was! A good break had by all!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank dreijerss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Dreijerss,

Thank you for your review, we're pleased to hear that you had good fun on your break at Butlins. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you felt we could improve whilst on your break, we hope that by listening to our guests we can continue to create a high standard of service at all our resorts. We will pass on your feedback regarding the accommodation and entertainment, we do have B-line passes that allow you to skip the queues, if you decide to visit us again. :)

We hope to see you soon.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Not much different from 1st visit service gone downhill especially in bar areas why they cant have separate point for food in the sun @moon waited in queue 20 mins for drinks service very slow think we will try somewhere else next year

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank denisDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi DenisDurham,

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear your experience did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback so that we can continue to improve our resorts. We will pass on your comments regarding service and resort restaurants. If you would like to give us a more detailed review of why you feel this way, please send us an email to tripadvisor@Butlins.com so we can discuss it with your further.

We hope you will consider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a great holiday in Butlins, we stayed from Monday-Friday during July. We stayed in one of silver apartments on a self catering basis, the accomodation was a a good size and we were on the ground floor and next to a grassed area, which was good for sitting and relaxing and kicking the football around. Luckily we were also quite close to carpark too which was handy for dragging the luggage etc back and forth (I overpacked)!! There were a few issues with the apartment but as soon as we reported these they were seen to straight away. The apartment also had everything we needed, apart from towels (but this is stated on the Butlins website).

The entertainment day and night was quite good for kids and adults, but it was often hard to get a seat so it's worth getting there early and queuing for the best seats.

The fairground area was also a favourite as was the Splashworld - this is very clean and there are plenty of lifeguards on too.

We were often at the park next to the Sun & Moon pub, my partners son loved it but I think it could maybe be a bit bigger or maybe another park somewhere on the complex.

We ate at the Firehouse one night, the food was very good and reaosnably proced too. All the staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome.

Good holiday for all the family. :)

Room Tip: Try and get a ground floor apartment, clsoe to complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amesthomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Amesthomp,

We're pleased you had a great holiday at Butlins Skegness and that Splash Waterworld and the fairground were popular with your family. Thank you for your feedback we will pass on your comments to resort.

We're glad your enjoyed your break and hope you will come back and visit us again!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingoldmells
2.4 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
3.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#8 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#2 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
#3 of 3 in Ingoldmells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlins Skegness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlins Skegness Resort

Property: Butlins Skegness Resort
Address: Roman Bank | Ingoldmells, Ingoldmells, Skegness PE25 1NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness > Ingoldmells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingoldmells
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlins Skegness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1604
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Lincolnshire coastline, Butlins Skegness resort is the place to go if you’re a beach lover. Butlins Skegness boasts a luxury spa, fantastic outdoor family pools and the longest, sandiest beach. Staying in charming New England style accommodation you’ll feel right at home. Make the most of the county famous for its agriculture and take the kids to visit a real working farm, or even meet the seals at the seal sanctuary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Skegness Hotel Skegness
Butlins Hotel Skegness
Butlins Resort Skegness
Butlins Skegness Resort Ingoldmells, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing