We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family break”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ingoldmells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlins Skegness Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingoldmells
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family break”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed in a gold 3 bed apartment just out of the half term break. It was spacious modern and clean. The deck dining was impressive with plenty for all tastes. The entertainment was of a good standard. The prebooked activity vouchers we bought were handy too. An updated funfair here would be a great addition.

Room Tip: B line passes a must if you like watching the evening entertainment. Upgrade to gold if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Sarah,

Great to hear you used our handy activity vouchers, they're definitely worth it if you've got little ones! We're so pleased you had a great family break and hope to see you again soon!

Thank you for your feedback!

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,739
    1,395
    695
    318
    372
See reviews for
2,945
366
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had a week here in July. First week of school holidays and it was fab.

Standard apartment was clean spacious and did the job. Was hardly there anyway. Beds were comfy and bathroom clean.

We went self catering made our own breakfast and brought dinner and tea. Food was good but a little expensive, the pub onsite serviced normal pub food burgers steaks sandwiches etc and only a few quid more than home. Ate here a few times

Chicken restaurant was lovely similar prices to nandos and lovely food.

Buffet restaurant was £18 per person. This is where everyone in the dinning plan ate. Wide variety of food and deserts and cakes were gorgeous.

Entertainment was faultless. Our kids were never bored.

Drinks 3.60 a pint so not much more than at home

Funfair water fountains donkey's beach were all lovely and arcades were good but can get pricey. Lazer quest go karts and all sorts

We got the bus to ingomells 60p each where we had a subway and went to the fair and shops onsite shop is a spar so can be a little dear but good for things u desperately need

We had a fab week our kids are 5 and 2 and miss the place already

Was sad to leave. So much to do and couldn't do it all in a week

Defo be back next year

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi K010101,

Aww we miss you too! Thanks for letting us know how much you liked our entertainment on resort, we will make sure our entertainments team get your feedback.

Come back and see us soon, we wouldn't want you getting too homesick :)

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Holiday with family to celebrate birthday party. Children loved it always something to do. Very little though for older generation. Never seen so many domestic arguments - in dining area / chalets very noisy and chaotic at times.

Room Tip: Only go if have children with you - nothing for older generation. Very noisy and chaotic. Eat fish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Valerie,

Happy belated Birthday! Thank you for taking time out of your day to let us know how your stay was. We're pleased to hear your children had lots to do, we try our best to make sure all ages are catered for but understand this may not suit all. We will pass on your feedback to our team on resort and hope that you will come back and visit us again.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

4 night stay in summer holidays cost a fortune
Chalets were grim
School dinner food just ok, juice disgusting
All venues had poor sound systems, massively over crowded and roasting hot (air conditioning a joke)
The woman working on on hook a duck was a bit snotty
Arcade and soft play at the fairground was ancient and filthy

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Ralfish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Ralfish,

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you feel this way. We appreciate you letting us know what you feel needs improving and we will pass on this information onto resort. We try our best to cater our prices to all families and have special offers on all year round.

We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just returned home today from our Monday to Friday stay at Skegness resort. This is our 5th time in 2 years and we love it. We have two young children. 6 year old girl and 3 year old boy. Each year has been top drawer. The Redcoats and entertainment team are some of the best in the UK. My kids totally love the SkyLine Gang, and at 32 I must admit so do I. The whole place is superb for the kids, and adults in my opinion. This year we took the option of having our food included. For the price you pay we have no complaints. Reading some of the reviews on here and the negativity about the food, what to people want?? Food prepared by Gordon Ramsey? Whilst I agree with the comments about the upkeep of the accommodation (lick of paint) I can't fault the rooms. We went silver, two rooms and bathroom, that's all that was needed, at a place like Butlins with all that's going on and things to do, your room is for sleeping and getting showered and ready. If you want a TV that's works, well why pay to go to butlins to sit in your room and watch Tele? Stay at home. Some people must spend half their time scrutinising every nook and cranny. (silver spoons) anyway as I said, we loved it. So much to do, as I type this my little girl is in tears in her bed crying it went too quick. I told her 'Time flies when your having fun'.

Live entertainment was brilliant. The Kaiser Monkeys have to be the best live cover band I've seen. The Redcoats show last night was superb. The hours these guys put in during the day then perform like that at night is brilliant. Although I was able to point out the SkyLine Gang without costume on to my wife, which was a but fun, we didn't spoil it for our kids.

The Waterpark is up there with the best in England (if there's many). The rides, what to people want for free? All the moaning and groaning about the entertainment repeating itself. Open your eyes. At the end of the day it's about the kids and as long as they enjoy it then that's all that matters.

See you in 2015. Or 2014 is still a possibility.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rattaz1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Rattaz1981,

How adorable, although we wish she wouldn't shed a tear! I'm sure she'll have the chance to come back soon. :)

Thank you for your kind words, we're sure your review will be very helpful to new guests about to visit. We're so pleased that you and your family enjoy what Butlins has to offer. We are so proud of our Redcoats, they put so much effort into making families breaks great and it's so nice to know that their hard work is paying off.

Come back and see us soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

It shocked me when I saw that the apartments were poorly kept outside. The banisters and woodwork were rotten! The entertainment this year was poor! Scooby doo live needs reviewing, 2 actors you couldn't hear what they were saying and another had a lisp!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasH1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Thomas,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear about your time with us, this is not something we would want our guests to experience. We will make sure that this is fed back to resort but it would be great if you could send us a quick email to tripadvisor@Butlins.com to give us some more details, such as your full name and contact details and where you stayed on resort and when.

We'd hope you will consider coming back again.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

staying here for the second year in a row, myself/my partner/our 4 year old son/5 month old daughter/mother/sister. In butlins terms, 4 adults a child and an infant.

I will just say, if your posh or 'well brought up', you will have to just look past the amount of benefit scrounging chavs that do come here. There is alot of them who have holidays here curtsey of us taxpayers. I'm not posh by any means but that does annoy me. And the foul language these chavs use in front of everyone is appalling but that obviously is not Butlins fault. Just pre warning you,

We are staying in gold apartments (currently writing this now whilst still here, last day). We originally booked silver last year but upon arrival we were told we got upgraded to gold FOR FREE!! Obviously no complaints there. Its wonderful. My guess as to why we were upgraded is because What used to be silver accommodation last year has completely changed. What was silver is now changed to gold apartments and silver has now been downgraded to very similiar apartments to standard (they have dropped the price if silver now too, not as much as it used to be). Anyway, honestly I have no complaints about where we are staying. Its the furthest apartments away from the main area but that is ok as I enjoy the walk. Rooms very spacious and clean. Can easily fit our travel cot in the master bedroom. I very much doubt we will get upgraded for free again so seriously thinking of paying that bit extra.

Cannot fault the entertainment, Any child below the age of about 12 will never be bored. SO much to do. I won't list everything butlins has to offer, you can simply read down at other comments for all of that. I will just say I have no issues with any of it. Children 'should' love it.

The only issue I have with bultins Is the price of things in there and the fact the cash machines charge you for money, frankly i think that should be made illegal. They are very expensive. Its probably best to shop outside the resort if your on a budget. We did eat at the deck. It is dear but very nice. Breakfast is £12 for over 5's and £3.50 for under, under 2's free. I guess you can get your moneys worth as it is an all you can eat buffet type place. Hot chocolate is to die for. Far better than costa or starbucks and think how much they charge.

We have booked again for Silver next year, but i am seriously thinking of upgrading to gold. Its really nice up here. If you book you holiday IN resort you get a major discount. Ours was almost half price. We are actually paying £100 less for next year being in a silver for 7 days than we paid last year for being in a standard for 5 days. 4 adults 1 child and 1 infant (free anyway) for 7 days for us was £839. Online that is about £1500.

So. Negatives
... Price of things in resort (though its the same with any holiday village, center parcs, haven etc)
... The amount of scrounging chavs (not bultins fault though obviously)
... I guess the queues are long but again, its the same anywhere like this really. Cannot be helped.

Major positives
... Staff are awesome
... I do love the gold apartment
... Water park
... The Deck food
... kids entertainment.

Obviously there are a lot more I could have said. Anyone with primary school children would get their moneys worth. Unless you have a fussy kid, there is no way any child can get bored. I would always recommend booking IN RESORT if you want to come again next year. Major discount

Room Tip: Standard and silver are pretty much the same. Only different is silver get a microwave, its quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mclark15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlins Skegness Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Mclark15,

Great to hear you came back for more! Thanks for taking such precious time out of your break to write a review for us. We love that you think our team at Minehead are awesome! We will make sure they are made aware of that. We appreciate all your feedback, we are always looking to hear from our guests so that we can cater our breaks to you.

Good shout booking in one of our holiday booking shops. We'll see you again next year!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingoldmells
2.4 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
3.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#8 of 26 in Skegness
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travellers Rest Motel, Ingoldmells
1.4 mi away
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
#3 of 3 in Ingoldmells
116 reviews
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Kings Head
#1 of 1 in Addlethorpe
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlins Skegness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlins Skegness Resort

Property: Butlins Skegness Resort
Address: Roman Bank | Ingoldmells, Ingoldmells, Skegness PE25 1NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness > Ingoldmells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingoldmells
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlins Skegness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1604
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Lincolnshire coastline, Butlins Skegness resort is the place to go if you’re a beach lover. Butlins Skegness boasts a luxury spa, fantastic outdoor family pools and the longest, sandiest beach. Staying in charming New England style accommodation you’ll feel right at home. Make the most of the county famous for its agriculture and take the kids to visit a real working farm, or even meet the seals at the seal sanctuary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Skegness Hotel Skegness
Butlins Hotel Skegness
Butlins Resort Skegness
Butlins Skegness Resort Ingoldmells, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing