We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food & Friendly Owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Station Inn

The Station Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food & Friendly Owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I were here recently for an evening meal in the company of good friends. We all enjoyed our food which was well presented and great value for money. I can personally recommend the Pate starter, Salmon fillet for the main course and raspberry pavlova for dessert. All of which were delicious and very generous portions. Nice relaxed atmosphere and very pleasant owners. We will be back.

Kind regards, KB.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    26
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well cooked fresh food, delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I eat here quite often as its nearby and I can honestly say we have never had a bad meal. The food is great value for money, always hot and made from fresh ingredients.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank figreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Not good at all, never again!!"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

after reading the reviews on trip advisor, decided to give it a go.......i now wonder if these reviews are about a different place!! on first impression was like being in an old people's home, very dingy and looked dated, would of normally of walked out but lounge area very small and decided after reviews maybe food would be ok..... poor selection on menu, picked scampi & steak pie as thought can't really go wrong with that, food came, veg was COLD! The steak was chewy and did not look appetising at all! would normally complain but didn't say a word as wanted to leave as soon as we could!! i couldn't even call it cheap & cheerful! will not be back again, very disappointed

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank js1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher r, Manager at The Station Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
very sorry to see you did not enjoy your visit with us. We may be a little old fashioned and plans are in place to redecorate the lounge and refurbish the toilets in January.
the menu may be small but it is varied as everything is fresh and homemade and there is usually several specials which change regularly.
We are not sure why your vegetables where cold and wish you had mentioned this at the time as easily fixed. These are finished to order so normally fresh and hot and served on warm plates.
We work closely with our butcher and use quality meat cut into a decent size and it is then cooked until tender. Once again sorry that you found yours chewy and had you mentioned this then we could of done something about it ..at the very least not charged you.
We have worked hard over the last 30 months and have very many happy regular customers, we always welcome any comment and would like the chance to rectify any issues at the time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“friendly pub with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

As above, really good, home made food. Good guest beer, should have got a taxi and stayed longer! Recommended....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank whatapex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were recommended this pub for our evening meal whilst we were in the area so we thought we'd give it a try.
Although the décor and furniture are a bit dated, the meal was lovely, homemade and not overpriced. They had a specials board but we just wanted something simple and the chips, veg and steak and ale pie were great. There was only us in when we arrived, it was a little late but we had rang first to check if they were still serving meals (probably a good idea to book anyway as we were told they get busy).
We had a nice chat with the owner who told us the history of the rifle over the bar, amongst other things (whilst his wife was busy cooking our meal!!!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ittlepuddytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Station Inn also viewed

Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing