We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely day out”

Thrigby Hall Wildlife Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Filby
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely day out”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

this is not a cheap place to visit around £27 for two adults but is well worth a visit. you can come and go as you please as long as you stamp your hand before you leave the main gates which is really handy if you want to go back to your car for your picnic. there is plenty of outdoor seating and a covered picnic area close to the main entrance which was brilliant as when we visited it was about 26 degrees!. all the animals looked well cared for and had large well thought out enclosures there is also walk ways above the animals so you can still see them if they are hiding. you could easily spend a whole day here so worth the entrance fee. would highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank chardenvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    201
    57
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Well worth the visit, highly recommend””
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We visited on 10th June, with my 3 yr old son, I would highly recommend it. I couldn't believe how close you could get to the animals it was fantastic. Loads of varieties of animals to look at and the feeding times were great to watch.
I would recommend going in the week days as it was very relaxed and no crowds.
The walkways over the animals are great and lovely surroundings the playarea was great as well.
5 stars

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank emalouiseema20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Monty - The Noisy Cockatoo!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Met up with son; partner and young grandson, aged 22 months. Wife, son and I were last here about 20 years ago and yes it had changed a lot!
The animals were in much better surroundings and the aerial walkways gave not only a wonderful view of the animals, but the surroundings as well. The animals were in good condition and as it has links with a number of animal conservation groups it is good to know that part of your entrance fee is helping in a small way to fund part of the work.
The staff are friendly; approachable and answer any questions. They are also very versatile and hard working as during the four hours that we were there we saw a number of staff doing a variety of jobs, from feeding animals to cleaning the python tank!
The grounds are well laid out with plenty of grassed areas and benches with seating. There is also a separate covered picnic area and if you want to go back to the car to get your food make sure that you have your hand stamped so that you can get back in!
Finally, the "Title." Monty is a cockatoo who lived with a gentleman who has been a great supporter of the Hall and when he could no longer look after Monty they took him in and he is a permanent resident at the Hall, along with other cockatoo's. It doesn't matter where you are in the grounds, you can hear Monty!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place to see animals”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having read some other reviews I have to say I hadn't noticed anywhere being run down but maybe I'm not that observant.
My two children love it here and have been twice. Lots of animals to see and can get a really good view of the tigers which pleased my son no end.
Took a picnic and sat in the picnic area so no idea on food prices.
Good playground area.
Expensive to get in, as most places are but did have a money of voucher.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaBoarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Visited last week with our 3 grandchildren aged 18 & 14 and was surprised at how near you could get to all the animals - safely I hasten to add! We arrived about 10.30 and didn't leave until after 4.30 as we wanted to watch some of the animals being fed. The keeper feeding the animals was lovely; she gave us various info on them e.g. names, age, etc. and readily answered everyone's questions. Plenty of picnic benches including some under cover for rainy days. We thought the gift shop wasn't overpriced which makes a change. We all enjoyed our visit and will certainly go back if we are in the area again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PCJackson92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thrigby Hall Wildlife Gardens also viewed

North Walsham, Norfolk
 

Been to Thrigby Hall Wildlife Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing