We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thrigby Hall Wildlife Gardens

Thrigby Hall Wildlife Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Filby
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited Thrigby Hall wildlife park on 18th June '14. Was £13.50 each in had a voucher to get a £1 off each. Quite a small park not very many animals for the price. We have been to quite a few wildlife parks and zoo's recently all roughly about the same price but this seemed least value for money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank eltab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    195
    56
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grandchildren loved it !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We got here with my two grandchildren aged 4 & 5 at opening time and stayed till closing. the children were able to run around as it was an enclosed open space. they loved the tree house and all the animals especially the crocs. Feeding times were interesting and informative. Prices in the cafe are reasonable too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank VinnieW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent day out the whole famliy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Well worth a visit, especially to walk narrow foot bridge over the tiger enclosure! Very good for kids.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowestoft
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A lovely wildlife park with beautifully cared for animals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were supposed to be going further afield but left too late and decided to go to Thrigby on the spur of the moment .It is easy to find and beautifully situated. They do not have as many animals as Africa alive, but their wildlife compliments its selection beautifully. We saw tigers, porcupines, gibbons ,monkeys, otters, porcupines, snakes, birds etc very close up-often from aerial walkways. The enclosures are set out in such a way that you can "walk through" parts of the habitat. There are plenty of picnic areas, lovely plants and a Japanese themed walkway with breeding birds and turtles. We visited on a Saturday in early June when the weather was pleasant and the park was not crowded. The admission prices were reasonable and refreshments were not overpriced. I would thoroughly recommend this for a day out. The only group who would have limited access would be the disabled as they would not be able to use the walkways. Although I have not been to Thrigby myself previously I did organise for residents of a care home to go there a couple of years ago and the manager was very helpful and agreed a very good rate for the clients and carers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank chrissmmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

this is not a cheap place to visit around £27 for two adults but is well worth a visit. you can come and go as you please as long as you stamp your hand before you leave the main gates which is really handy if you want to go back to your car for your picnic. there is plenty of outdoor seating and a covered picnic area close to the main entrance which was brilliant as when we visited it was about 26 degrees!. all the animals looked well cared for and had large well thought out enclosures there is also walk ways above the animals so you can still see them if they are hiding. you could easily spend a whole day here so worth the entrance fee. would highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank chardenvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thrigby Hall Wildlife Gardens also viewed

North Walsham, Norfolk
 
Weston Longville, Norfolk
 

Been to Thrigby Hall Wildlife Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing