We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day!”

Thrigby Hall Wildlife Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Filby
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great day!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Can work out expensive but a saving can be made by printing a voucher, nice attractions plenty of stuff for kids to do & lots of picnic benches!
Avoid the gift shop if strapped for cash, can be very expensive!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sasha1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    197
    57
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Legendary Thrigby”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent for families, a really laid back experience. I really enjoyed the reptile enclosures - worth bearing in mind that lots of the animals are rescue creatures. We're it not for Thrigby it seems a lot of the reptiles in there would have been put down.

Since we went lady year they have added a children's maze out the front which is great, you can still Se them and they can see you but sort if see through it so all the fun of a maze without the worry. I haven't explained that very well but it's good. Loads of notices everywhere about hygiene, conservation and so on so good for school trips. We enjoyed our once a year trip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scrumpyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great day at Thrigby Hall.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Visited Thrigby Hall yesterday, with my partner and three boys aged 6, 9 and nearly 12. We have been to a few zoos over the years, but actually, we saw lots here that we have never seen before. The boys loved the large crocodiles in the swamp house and the huge snakes. The whole set up is impressive, with many of the animals being able to be viewed from treetop board walks as well as the ground. This gives you a totally different perspective and brings you much closer to the animals. The monkeys were our favourites, especially the baby gibbon who was a real character! My older two boys really enjoyed the rope area. This was basically a few really thick ropes slung over and around some trees. A simple idea but one we had not seen before, and very effective.
Everything seemed clean and well maintained and we found plenty to see and do for several hours. we would recommend this day out for families with a broad age range.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shame about the water !”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had a lovely day at Thrigby with our daughter and two grandsons (7 & 10). All the animals looked in very good condition, but wherever we went, the pools and lakes were green, dirty and stagnant. A nice fountain (or two) in the larger lakes could improve that and be aesthetically pleasing too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Munchie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely visit”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I had a lovely visit yesterday, really enjoyed our day out here, wonderful place for a big picnic and plenty for the children to do! I got a bit scared with how close the tigers can get to you with only two bits of caging in the way.
Gift shop was a bit pricey but I guess you sort of expect that.
Didn't see much staff around apart from at feeding time.
Overall lovely day.

Helpful?
Thank Adelaide G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thrigby Hall Wildlife Gardens also viewed

North Walsham, Norfolk
 

Been to Thrigby Hall Wildlife Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing