We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and good location”
Review of New Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Place Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shirrell Heath
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We booked2 nights under a Devere special deal, bed, breakfast, evening meal, wine and a vinyard tour at the weekend for £99 per night. The room was apart from the main house, small but modern and confortable.. We went on the vineyard tour on the first day, bought some wine but upon return to our room found a bottle of wine had been left on the side. The staff said we could have it in the room or take it to the restaurant. The restaurant was in the main house and was magnificent with a 1700 era ceiling. The food, service and friendly staff were all excellent. Next day we had a super buffet breakfast, more sightseeing, then a second night with another great meal and another free bottle of wine. Great hotel, location, food and staff. We will book again.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the low numbers nearer the house in case it rains. The higher the room number the...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bougivalbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback on trip advisor, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay . We very much look forward to welcoming you back to New Place.

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,424)
There are newer reviews for New Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,175 - 1,181 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

after a slightly bumpy start, i spent 4 very enjoyable and peaceful nights. slightly out of the way but easy enough to find. ample parking except when there was a function one afternoon. room was not enormous but big enough. heated towel rail was welcome even though i was there in May! a large clock in the bathroom was a weird touch but welcome since i don't wear a watch at all!

Room Tip: i specifically asked for a quiet room with wifi connectivity and i was not disappointed.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pike7544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed here for one night. Very impressive building as you pull into entrance but this is not where our room was. Room blocks reminiscent of school buildings next door. Room small but ok, was fine for one night. Breakfast was v good.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Traveller

I am sorry that you did not find your stay special at New Place, we encourage all guests to view our web site where we give a honest description and a site map to view. I am pleased that you enjoyed our full English breakfast buffet. Thank you for your response.

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed here for a night pre cruise.. Although it is a little way out from Southamtpton we managed to get a really good offer which included dinner bed and breakfast and 2 weeks parking and a taxi to and from the ship for £169.00!!! The package was really good value for money. The hotel was excellent. friendly and helpful staff and the food was a of a very high quality. We were spoiled for choice on the evening menu. Relaxing bar. nice restaurant, large bedroom and ensuite.We will defifitely stay there again..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor, I also hope you had a great cruise, from Southampton. I am pleased you found our Venue excellent and the staff and food to be quality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Venues.

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The hotel is very scattered and the bedrooms are separate from the Bar, reception etc. However it is very nice and relaxing place to stay. The rooms are nicely decorated and we had an extremly enjobable two nights here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the same building as the lesuire facilities and you need a SAT-NAV to get to th...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Modest613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear traveller

Thank you for your kind feedback on trip advisor.

I am pleased that you had a relaxing and extremely enjoyable stay with us. I hope you will visit us again as we will look forward to welcoming you back, to De Vere Venues New Place.

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

After reading some of the scathing reviews of New Place I was a little unsure if we had booked the right place to go to for a few days, how wrong I was. This is a lovely place to stay, yes it is prominently for business travel and conferences but as a family we were welcomed with open arms. The reception staff were very friendly and courteous and nothing ever seemed too much for them. Our room (No 92) was at the bottom corner of the mews style accommodation (only 30 seconds from the pool) and was well laid out, very clean & comfortable and having a safe in the wardrobe was a great idea. We managed to use the leisure facilities each day and the swimming pool was fantastic. Most of the time we were the only people in the pool, which was excellent as it allowed us to teach our 3 year old to swim (albeit only a little bit) without anyone else getting in our way or indeed us getting in their way. I have travelled quite a lot on business and breakfast is always something I look forward to – the breakfast here was first class. I have re-found my love of poached eggs.
In general – a lovely venue, in a lovely setting with excellent service, a place that we would definitely stay at again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WoodyA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind feedback on trip advisor.

I am pleased that you were welcomed with open arms, and enjoyed our hospitality with your family at New Place. I especially liked the fact that you were able to teach your 3 year old to swim in our pool, that’s a great achievement, and I hope a lasting memory.

I hope you will be able to return to De Vere in the not to distant future, as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Mark

Top Tip for guests wanting great access to the pool then please request rooms in bedroom block 4 when available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I was surprised when i arrived to find the rooms were in blocks outside but actually i found it really convienient. The room was lovely and modern. It was a good size with a comfy bed, nice bathroom with toilettries and flat screen TV. It was plenty warm even a little too warm during the night. I was happy to have a ground floor room - as a smoker it was convienient for me to just nip outside and not trek through corridors in a hotel to find an outdoor space. The breakfast was great with a chef cooking freshly prepared eggs and omlettes to your liking. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for you kind and constructive comments on trip advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed you stay with us and if you find your self in the area for business of leisure we would be happy to welcome you back to De Vere Venues New Place.

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirrell Heath
0.7 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
3.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
5.5 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,145 reviews
1.3 mi away
B+B Wickham
B+B Wickham
#1 of 1 in Wickham
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Place Hotel

Address: New Place , Shirrell Heath, Shirrell Heath SO32 2JY, England (Formerly De Vere New Place)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Shirrell Heath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shirrell Heath
Price Range: £50 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues New Place Hotel Shirrell Heath
New Place Southampton
New Place Hotel Southampton
New Place Hotel Shirrell Heath, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing