We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding At New Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Place Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shirrell Heath
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wedding At New Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

My daughter got married in April at the de vere hotel New Place in Hampshire and the whole day was a great success thank to Fern and her team at the hotel. I cannot praise the staff enough for the way they managed the whole event. Well done to Fern and the team and thanks for making it such a wonderful day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Stef
Thank you for your wonderful review on your daughters wedding here at New Place. Thank you for your comments on the team and especially Fern I know they will all be very encouraged by them. I am very pleased that we had the opportunity of hosting your daughters wedding, we wish them great health and happiness for the future.
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    464
    236
    127
    57
See reviews for
225
615
46
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I've used this place a couple of times for meetings in Portsmouth. This place is excellent value. I paid an extra £10 to have a larger room and it was really comfortable. Superb bed with quality bed linen.
These rooms are a bit like a row of chalets and you walk straight outside when leaving them. The main magnificent building for breakfasts etc is a short walk away ( you can get wet). Breakfasts were excellent value for money too.

I certainly will use this place again

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear John
Thank you for your review on our Venue at New Place I am very please that you enjoyed your stay, the team take great encouragement from your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to New Place.
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

This hotel is set on a 32 acre site. The setting is really lovely. The rooms are away from the main house but are well appointed. The bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was really nice buffet with plenty of choice. Had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotobuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Rotobuck
Thank you for your great review of New Place I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope I can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

What can I say, the staff were friendly and polite even the cleaners. If you want a good place to relax and unwind on a hot summers day this is the place. Well kept beautiful gardens. I arrived dropped my bags and headed for a nice cold drink in the bar. Thanks for opening the back door as there was a wedding party at the front taking pictures. Room was clean, compliments to the cleaning staff. Gym is small (make it bigger) but I managed to get on the rowing machine twice and had a short but good work out. Breakfast was good a nice buffet style help yourself counters and tea on demand, well we politely asked for a second pot. The dawn chorus was a wonderful way to wake up a lot different than the racing traffic noise of the city.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the parking were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passenger_061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Passenger_061
Thank you for your fantastic review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our Venue at New Place. It is a lovely time of year with our garden coming back to life especially when the sun shines. I do hope I can welcome you back to New Place.
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

A very enjoyable stay. The lodge type rooms are a very good standard and we had an exceptionally good nights sleep (De Vere beds are the best!). The food was good. The pool was good. Excellent value for money. But above all what a magnificent setting! A stunning and huge Edward Lutyens designed house in extensive lawned grounds which even had its own cricket pitch!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-8 open onto a stunning view of house and grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bantam_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Bantam_10
Thank you for your review on our Venue it is much appreciated, I am so pleased you enjoyed the setting and found your stay to be excellent value. I do hope I can welcome you back to New Place.
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Nice setting, the accommodation was seperate from the main house but no problem as weather was clement. Dinner was very pleasant. The breakfast buffet was rather crowded but that was the only drawback. A thoroughly delightful weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Ewan M
Thank you for your excellent feedback, I am very pleased that overall you had a great stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to New Place.
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

we are staying here tonight and we booked this because of the pool - but just when we went to use it at 6.30 pm they closed it, saying its closed for maintence - well ok, but they give no opening time, and they could of warned us and said it was going be closed between 6 to when ever, and we would of gone there ealier. We only wanted to stay here for the pool - so my kids are pretty annoyed.
Rooms are dirty and could do with a paint
Safe is broken.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear tanya614
I am sorry that we had to close the pool and understand your child’s frustration. This was a situation that could not be advised in advance, we have a very robust system for checking water quality and safety, and when we tested at 5pm the chlorine level had risen to an unacceptable level. With a clear duty of care to our guests we had to close the pool until the levels had stabilised and it was safe to re-open the pool. We also had to carry out an investigation to see why the level of chlorine had risen to an unacceptable level. Unfortunately we could not say accurately when this problem could be fixed, and had to leave the pool closed overnight. I would like to assure all of our guest that your safety is always the priority in situations like this, and whilst I fully appreciate the frustrations, we have to ensure the procedures are followed and the pool can be re-opened safely.
I am pleased to note that you are returning this afternoon with your daughter for a swim, many thanks for your understanding.
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirrell Heath
3.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Old House Hotel
The Old House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wickham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
9.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Place Hotel

Property: New Place Hotel
Address: New Place , Shirrell Heath, Shirrell Heath SO32 2JY, England (Formerly De Vere New Place)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Shirrell Heath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shirrell Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your New Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues New Place Hotel Shirrell Heath
New Place Southampton
New Place Hotel Southampton
New Place Hotel Shirrell Heath, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing