We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous, food and rooms”
Review of New Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Place Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shirrell Heath
Reviewed 11 May 2013

What a bargain, superb rooms, lovely pool and small gym but what sets it apart is the food and service in the restaurant. The scalllop and chorizo starter is simply define, the lamb or the fish dishe's perfectly cooked and the maitre de is outstanding .

Do yourself a favour and spend a weekend here, it is fabulous

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Martin
Thank you for your fabulous review I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially your experience in the restaurant. Thank you for your recommendation I do hope I can welcome you back to New Place.
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

My daughter got married in April at the de vere hotel New Place in Hampshire and the whole day was a great success thank to Fern and her team at the hotel. I cannot praise the staff enough for the way they managed the whole event. Well done to Fern and the team and thanks for making it such a wonderful day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stef N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Stef
Thank you for your wonderful review on your daughters wedding here at New Place. Thank you for your comments on the team and especially Fern I know they will all be very encouraged by them. I am very pleased that we had the opportunity of hosting your daughters wedding, we wish them great health and happiness for the future.
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I've used this place a couple of times for meetings in Portsmouth. This place is excellent value. I paid an extra £10 to have a larger room and it was really comfortable. Superb bed with quality bed linen.
These rooms are a bit like a row of chalets and you walk straight outside when leaving them. The main magnificent building for breakfasts etc is a short walk away ( you can get wet). Breakfasts were excellent value for money too.

I certainly will use this place again

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear John
Thank you for your review on our Venue at New Place I am very please that you enjoyed your stay, the team take great encouragement from your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to New Place.
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This hotel is set on a 32 acre site. The setting is really lovely. The rooms are away from the main house but are well appointed. The bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was really nice buffet with plenty of choice. Had a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotobuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Rotobuck
Thank you for your great review of New Place I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope I can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

What can I say, the staff were friendly and polite even the cleaners. If you want a good place to relax and unwind on a hot summers day this is the place. Well kept beautiful gardens. I arrived dropped my bags and headed for a nice cold drink in the bar. Thanks for opening the back door as there was a wedding party at the front taking pictures. Room was clean, compliments to the cleaning staff. Gym is small (make it bigger) but I managed to get on the rowing machine twice and had a short but good work out. Breakfast was good a nice buffet style help yourself counters and tea on demand, well we politely asked for a second pot. The dawn chorus was a wonderful way to wake up a lot different than the racing traffic noise of the city.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the parking were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passenger_061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Passenger_061
Thank you for your fantastic review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our Venue at New Place. It is a lovely time of year with our garden coming back to life especially when the sun shines. I do hope I can welcome you back to New Place.
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A very enjoyable stay. The lodge type rooms are a very good standard and we had an exceptionally good nights sleep (De Vere beds are the best!). The food was good. The pool was good. Excellent value for money. But above all what a magnificent setting! A stunning and huge Edward Lutyens designed house in extensive lawned grounds which even had its own cricket pitch!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-8 open onto a stunning view of house and grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bantam_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Bantam_10
Thank you for your review on our Venue it is much appreciated, I am so pleased you enjoyed the setting and found your stay to be excellent value. I do hope I can welcome you back to New Place.
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Nice setting, the accommodation was seperate from the main house but no problem as weather was clement. Dinner was very pleasant. The breakfast buffet was rather crowded but that was the only drawback. A thoroughly delightful weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Ewan M
Thank you for your excellent feedback, I am very pleased that overall you had a great stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to New Place.
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirrell Heath
3.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
B+B Wickham
B+B Wickham
#1 of 1 in Wickham
426 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,869 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Place Hotel

Address: New Place , Shirrell Heath, Shirrell Heath SO32 2JY, England (Formerly De Vere New Place)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Shirrell Heath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shirrell Heath
Price Range: £51 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues New Place Hotel Shirrell Heath
New Place Southampton
New Place Hotel Southampton
New Place Hotel Shirrell Heath, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing