We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & simple in an historic setting”
Review of New Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Place Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shirrell Heath
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Clean & simple in an historic setting”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here for just one night (a Sunday night) whilst doing a car exchange in Southampton.

The food was extremely tasty, though the medium rare steak was almost well done but they exchanged immediately and the replacement was superb. All the staff (mostly Polish) whom we met were very friendly, helpful and polite in what is a quintessentially English country house & garden setting. We watched cricket on their own pitch and children played bowls in the foreground green. We sat at one of a number of nice outdoor tables overlooking the greens and surrounded by gorgeous trees and shrubs, warmed by amazing sunshine (which can't be booked in advance I hear!)

Our bargain £39 room was set as many others in what looks like stable blocks, all red brick, and they were quiet and well appointed with hair dryer, ironing equipment, teas & coffees and plenty of sockets. Our phones worked on their wifi network without hitch. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and characterful. There really was nothing to fault.

Negatives were minor really. We were quite disappointed that the bar sold NO nibbles of any sort, even crisps. It was sometimes hard to locate bar staff who were busy helping diners to the restaurant. I had to hunt for a barman twice, though he was very helpful when we found him :-)

The dining room, for breakfast at least, was like a sauna and only had one window open benefitting just one table of guests. I had to leave breakfast early as I couldn't breathe in the heat. Quality & quantity of breakfast menu was superb.

I wish there was an arrangement with a local taxi company to get a good deal on trips to Portsmouth or Southampton, as this place can't be just for guests going abroad who wouldn't need to visit the local cities, but that's quibbling as it's not the fault of the hotel in any way but it would be a guest benefit.

We would definitely stay there again and for £39 it was unbelievably amazing value.

Room Tip: We stayed in 143 but there may be even better and certainly there must be 'posh' rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photoglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your constructive feedback I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope we can iron out the minor niggles for your next stay, but in the bar we do not sell nibbles as they are complimentary to our guests.
I do hope we can welcome you back to De Vere Venues New Place.
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    489
    257
    133
    61
See reviews for
244
662
47
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I stayed once again at this hotel on a special cruise deal.The price had gone up by £10.00 to £199.00. Dinner was great, you would be happy to pay £30.00 pp for it in a top restaurant! Buffet breakfast and a modern well presented room and ALL your parking (last year 32 days) Taxi transfers to and from your cruise terminal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevePhillips776264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review and again choosing us for your pre-night stay before departing on your cruise. I do hope you had a great cruise departing from Southampton.
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just spent a wonderful weekend at this hotel.Will coming back very soon.Lovely grounds,top notch service and reasonably priced bar and food.Only downside was no hair dryer in the room but after asking at reception this was rectified straight away

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48Andrewnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us, and I do hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for a weekend break getaway from the hustle and bustle of work! and we just wanted a rest. We stayed two nights b&b basis offer and found it quite a relaxing break. Arrived at Reception which was very busy to be expected on a weekend and there was a Wedding, Reception were friendly and kindly helped us with our luggage to the room which was a nice gesture, think they could see were struggling! The rooms are basic but adequate for our stay and the price we paid. The Hotel grounds and Hotel itself are all clean and in lovely surroundings, although the rooms as mentioned in previous reviews are not in the main house, in Chalet style rooms which are comfortable and clean although as a previous reviewers have mentioned they are so hot, with no air con or fans available, luckily we did take a fan as we read the reviews prior to our visit. We used the Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi and found the facilities clean and relaxing, luckily we were the only ones using the leisure facilities on that particular part of the day late afternoon. Our main gripe would be the Restaurant/Bar in terms of the price of drinks and also we did go for a meal in the main Restaurant and wondered why there were no prices on the menu! however, thought well were here now, the dinner was excellent and the Service no complaints there although the price was very very expensive for what it was, and we didn't return the 2nd night we went out elsewhere which was a shame. The breakfast buffet for cooked breakfast is too slow to be honest and the Chef is making fried eggs individually for each guest, (the other offering of scrambled eggs was not the best lets hope that improves) which is mad when you have a busy Breakfast room which then creates a lot un-necessary queing and frustrated guests around you, the breakfast does need to be improved please, the actual Waitresses/Waiters were attentive though and no problems with the actual service. Overall a nice place and comfortable stay and we would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your constructive feedback, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. I would point out that we do provide fans for our guests, when occasionally they are needed, as we do not have air conditioning in the rooms. We do not offer any menu’s that are not priced, whilst the Restaurant menu’s are written daily the template is the same, and the menu’s are priced at two courses for £22 and three courses for £28.
We cook fried eggs, poached eggs to order, and we accept to maintain this standard at peak times especially at weekends there may be small delays, we have put fried eggs out on the buffet at peak times, but our guests have still wanted them fresh from the pan.
Despite these issues I am very grateful for your recommendation, and I hope we can welcome you back.
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed whilst on a business Trip - very friendly staff, efficient check in, lovely looking main building. Good Gym and spa facilities, excellent breakfast, nice bar. The rooms are very interesting, it has a holiday camp feel about the venue. The rooms are tastefully finished and have everything you need apart from Air con - which based on the weather we have in this country shouldn't be a problem, however it was really hot and the room was hot as hell - as it was on the ground floor you didn't want to leave the window open all night or when you left the room. there was a small fan which helped but it wasn't the best nights sleep. Apart from that it was 8 out of 10

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Unfortunately this hotel didn't live up to its hype, the main thing that springs to mind which has been mentioned in previous reviews is the fact that you don't actually stay in the grand house pictured on their website, which seems very deceiving. The actual accommodation we stayed in was more like Butlins style chalets conveniently hidden behind the grand house and not pictured anywhere on the website.

The actual chalets themselves are done out nicely inside with good facilities, cleanliness could have been better lots of empty glasses outside of chalet door and housekeeping banging around and waking you up at the crack of dawn not really what you expect from a De Vere.

When we went in the swimming pool for a relaxing (or so we hoped) swim we were joined by a swimming class which would be fine except for the teacher was shouting and bellowing at the top of her lungs much to the dismay of all the other people trying to relax in the pool. At the end of the lesson she asked the children she was teaching to 'jump' into the pool about 3 times despite the large 'NO JUMPING' signs in the pool?!?!

Very disappointing, didn't deliver what is expected from the De Vere brand name.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthd1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
TOP Traveller tip, please visit web site and view the site map and read the descriptions of the Venue.
Dear Traveller
Thank you for your feedback, it was disappointing to read that you felt the pictures deceiving, our website has a mix of pictures but also written descriptions.This has been advised in previous responses as I would agree we are not a conventional Hotel, also our listing on TripAdvisor is a great source of customer pictures and feedback. The second sentence of the description states “Guests stay in the delightful mews quarters located a short distance from the Grade I listed manor house with its impressive façade” As a Venue our lead picture will always be our superb Manor house, which has fantastic meeting rooms, a restaurant, bar and lounges, I believe we give an honest description of what we are, which I would hope help’s guests with their choice, of Venue. It is never our intention to disappoint our guests and I hope do our best to describe our Venue as is.
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Dropped on this by accident and fell in love with the romance of what it looked like!
The price was a steel for B&B, with bar food and a restaurant if you want!
Its a beautiful old country hose in splendid surround and even a croquet lawn and cricket pitch to the side. We spent the last evening watching the sun go down and a game of cricket from the splendid terrace whilst sipping our drinks (not too cheap mind!!).
Leisure facilities and little chalet type bedrooms are what you can expect!
Its located really well so you wont be disappointed, ven if you didnt venture out!
Thanks for making us welcome!
Ps bet it would make your wedding day if you chose it!
☀️

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased you felt welcome and enjoyed your stay and I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirrell Heath
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
0.7 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
5.5 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,106 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Place Hotel

Property: New Place Hotel
Address: New Place , Shirrell Heath, Shirrell Heath SO32 2JY, England (Formerly De Vere New Place)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Shirrell Heath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shirrell Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues New Place Hotel Shirrell Heath
New Place Southampton
New Place Hotel Southampton
New Place Hotel Shirrell Heath, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing