We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of New Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Place Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shirrell Heath
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Lovely hotel in generous grounds. Our rooms were spotless, modern and comfy. The staff very friendly and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant and had a delicious meal. We were very sorry to be moving on after only one night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunholstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us I do hope we may welcome you back for a longer stay in the future.
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

When we arrived at this location we loved the original old building. However, the sleeping accommodation is in separate buildings that look like a mix of army barracks and a motel. The room was very small and there was no air conditioning. There is a fan in the room which was a necessity as it was so hot. The room itself was clean and perfectly fine for our one night stay. We went for a walk around the property later and it is lovely - it has a cricket pitch, croquet lawn, tennis court (not sure which, if any, are available for the guests use). We did not visit the swimming pool, but we could smell the chlorine all the way up the stairs to our room and from the activity witnessed at the reception we gathered that it is open for swimming lessons for the local community. We had to visit reception again soon after arriving and the member of staff suddenly remembered to give us extra information she had forgotten originally - quite important info as it turned out. We had breakfast in the restaurant and it was quite nice. It is buffet style so some of the food had been sat in the warming trays for some time - the croissants were terrible.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we highly recommend all of our guests to review our website, where we believe we give a honest description of our layout supported by pictures of our actual bedrooms and site map. We do not advertise or have air conditioning in the bedrooms.
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just stayed at this venue for 1 night, didn't eat in the restaurant however we did enjoy the laid out breakfast... A glorious setting and and a great old historical building.....
The down side was the bedrooms, very small and dark and they are in need of a good revamp as they are looking very aged....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pdorclk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback, regarding your stay here at New Place. I am sorry the rooms were not to your taste, pictures of our actual rooms are view-able for the Trip community, on our website to help expectations. I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and our Manor House..
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Attended a wedding in the area and this was well priced for 1 night. Quite unusual as rooms are a little motel style all on one level, very clean and modern with everything you could need in there. Didn't seem to be a huge amount of parking and had to park a bit of a walk from our room. Had to also get our head round the map to fully locate our room and where we were able to park etc. Didn't have breakfast as £10 seemed expensive, cannot comment on the leisure facilities either as did not use. Overall clean and comfortable accommodation which is a little hidden away but affordable and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kangercol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. I recommend all the Trip community to view our web site and view our site map, as we are a venue and not a conventional hotel. We have parking for over 240 cars over our 32 acre site. The breakfast priced at £10.50 I believe to be great value for an all you can eat hot and cold buffet, which can be pre-purchased on-line for only £8.50.
I do hope when visiting the are you will consider returning to New Place.
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here a second time,
because we got a real bargain in the De vere sale.
The rooms are big enough and modern, it would be great if the windows
open as there is no air con'.
We made use of the spa and pool, which is lovely, and was very quiet.
The grounds too, are beautiful, and it was peaceful and very quiet.
Great value for money.

Room Tip: we like to stay near the pool, so you can go in your swim gear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased you a enjoyed a peaceful great value stay here at De Vere Venues New Place. I do hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Lovely building, setting and grounds. A warm welcome on arrival. Room was more motel than hotel however it was a well equipped room with ironing facilities, tea/coffee and decent sized bath!! A comfy bed, separate area to sit, parking right outside the door. The hotel had great leisure facilities too just wish we'd had more time to use them. A return visit in order.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CoalburnRobf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark s, General Manager at New Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and recommendation, high praise indeed. I do hope we can welcome you back to De Vere Venues New Place.
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The location is beautiful, looks like a nice place to stay for a couple of nights, but the room was tiny. We had two children, one staying in a travel cot, and we were unable to move around the room with the beds in place. At all. And the beds weren't in place when we arrived late in the evening, so had to wait while they fetched them and set them up. On the plus side, breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRG_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirrell Heath
0.7 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,096 reviews
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
B+B Wickham
B+B Wickham
#1 of 1 in Wickham
411 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
10.4 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Place Hotel

Address: New Place , Shirrell Heath, Shirrell Heath SO32 2JY, England (Formerly De Vere New Place)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Shirrell Heath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shirrell Heath
Price Range: £45 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues New Place Hotel Shirrell Heath
New Place Southampton
New Place Hotel Southampton
New Place Hotel Shirrell Heath, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing