We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BANSBARI LODGE-they can do better !!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Bansbari Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manas National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bansbari Lodge
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“BANSBARI LODGE-they can do better !!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We visited the place on the 2nd of Jan 2012.The park was full of the new year revellers and one could hardly feel that it was a National park.The lodge itself is a building built by the ITDC and leased out to the Assam Bengal navigation at the height of Militancy in the area. The rooms are large and the facilities are basic . I mean that they are not plush but give the feel of a govt. guest house. The toilets are cleaned only once a day and are not well maintained. The lodge is a large structure in itself.
The staff is not professional but the Manager is a great guy and is always there to help you .To my horror I saw one of the staff member almost burn his hands in an effort to light the log fire using Gasolene ! The food was just mangeable -they serve fish curry made with local (cheap ) fish varieties.
But since there are no better places to stay so one has to make do with it.But a rafting trip and elephant safari will aptly compensate for the slight shortcomings in your stay.....

Room Tip: Try and get room on the front side of the first floor as they have a great view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maneesh1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    22
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
12
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My comments are in the same lines as the previous 2 reviews.

Do not expect a fancy jungle lodge African style. This is a very basic sleep+eat+warm smile type of lodge.

Rooms are basic, spacious, clean & ok. Ask for mosquito nets for the night. Toilet standards could be better.

Best part is the warm smile on the young faces of the crew. When the crowd is less, they almost act as family members. Very helpful in the dining room, churning out basic food of your choices. I was told that most of the park rangers/staff are ex-Bodo rebels, who have now been given employment by the Govt = positive signs!

When you head into the park, i suggest that you drive all the way up to the border of Bhutan checkpost, up the hill. The riverside settings during sunset is awesome. YES - we did see few rhinos on the way back.

Before heading to the hotel from Guwahati, always remember to check the political situation. Communal riots can erupt enroute.

Room Tip: Carry flashlight, treatment for wasp/bug bites, games to keep you occupied in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kumaresh_sekaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

You might think its a bit bit basic when you arrive, but don't panic. Everything that matters is there and is fine. Beds are comfortable clean and comfy. Showers work really well. Food is tasty and cold drinks available.

Hotel is right next to the park gate and at the moment you are still allowed in manas after dark.

The staff are amazing and work really hard. And cant do enough for you. manas is a bit of an extreme destination compared to other parks but definitely worth it.

If your expecting five star luxury with all the trimmings you Probably don't really know what you are doing. If your looking for a co mfortable stay and access to world class wildlife habitat you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Arden1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

My wife and I, just returned from a trip to the Manas Tiger Reserve. We stayed at the Bansbari Lodge where we found the rooms and the bathroom to be spotlessly clean, without any bugs, flies, etc., the bed comfortable and the food very delicious and sufficient. We were quite a bit aprehensive, having read a previous review on the hotel, but we are glad to state that our experience has been overwhelemly positive. We found the Manager, the Assistant Manager and the Staff to be in constant attendance and very knowledgeable and helpful in their efforts to help us at every stage of our stay at Bansbari.
On our arrival, in a car that we had booked ourselves (a very comfortable Toyota Innova) we were offered cold drinks. When we asked for tea and coffee instead, it was delivered withing a few minutes, with a smile! Dinner was buffet style, as was lunch and breakfast with the (2)eggs made to order.
Daily room service was available. We did use their laundry service and found that to be very reasonable, even by Indian standards, and quite sufficient!
The management aided and guided us with all the safari arrangements in the park and had trained guides available, who are essential for a rewarding visit to the forest.
The walk to the river, with a guide from the hotel, was very rewarding as we saw quite a few birds endemic to that area, and was able to photograph them at close proximity. There was a 'picnic' spot on the river bank, but we did not see any garbage. The elephant ride was quite exciting with seats not uncomfortable at all; how else can you see the remains of a python that had swallowed a deer a week ago and then was itself eaten by a tiger .. together with the deer of course?
The only negative, if that is a negative: we found the staircase to be rather dark as they use the energy saving tube lights which do not generate too much light.
The hotel faces a tea garden, and was a beautiful sight in the morning from the attached veranda of the room, with sun rising over manicured tea bushes and peeking through some tall trees.
The entrance gate to the park is less that 10 meteres from the hotel's front gate. The Assistantn Manager, who would welcome us at every breakfast, would walk up to the park every morning and ensure everything was correctly done.
The place is quite remote and even then we did not face any difficulty or any shortcomings. Being so remote, electricity is often interrupted in the evening, but their own generator would 'kick-in' within a few minutes .. a big relief!
We recomend this place and in fact are planning another trip in 2013 in March, when the tall grasses are burned for a better view of the large animals.

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs front gate facing rooms. Do carry a flashlight (torch) as a standby and ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank sdg/cdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We visited this lodge for two nights prior to our cruise on the Brahamaputra River with Assam Bengal Navigation. The cruise was bad enough but the stay at this lodge and the journey to it was a nightmare.

A friendly chap picked us up from Guwhati airport and, with great anticipation, we went to our vehicle for the 4-5 hour drive to Manas NP. We knew it would take this long. What we did not know was that the vehicle provided by Assam Bengal Navigation, and for which they charged us c US$150 return would almost cripple us. The guide and driver were fine but the back seat had us sitting with our knees under our chins. It was painfull after about 1 hour and very very distressing after 5!. We had one stop on the way at a mosquito infested motel.

The roads have been washed away following the floods in Assam last year. There is no money to repair them. The people manage the best they can. However Assam Bengal Navigation, rather than closing the lodge for a time because of this, continue to take unsuspecting tourists up to the lodge. We are adventerous and willing to 'rough it' but as paying customers we expected, at the very least, a safe comfortable vehicle. We had to endure it on the return journey even though we had complained once we reached the lodge.

There is noone in charge from Assam Bengal Navigation to speak to once you are in Assam. The local representative from Guwhati makes himself unavailable and the UK agent, Andrew Brock cannot be contacted because of poor communications from Assam. We did contact him on our return and have been met with an attitude of 'you paid in full up front, I have got your money, tough'.

We arrived at the lodge and were hardly able to walk. We staggered up to our room and found a concrete room, with dead spiders, bugs and insects, bars on the window. It was like a prison cell. Downstairs there are a couple of sofas, no fire, no welcome, dark,grubby, austere and bleak bleak bleak. The restaurant is similar and the food served early because once it is dark there is nowhere to go. We were in bed by 9pm.

The guided tours included a walk to the river where we were shown an area where local people picnic, and leave copious amounts of rubbish, Their choice, but hardly a tourist attraction. An elephant ride had no proper seat. English tourists are not mahouts and we had to cling on to a roap that fastened sacking to the elephant. We could not get off and there was noone to help us as the mahout could not speak any English. A more able guest jumped off and returned to the lodge stating 'this place is an absolute joke' Trouble is the joke was on us.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank charlieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bansbari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bansbari Lodge

Property: Bansbari Lodge
Address: Park Gate Manas National Park, Manas National Park, India
Region: India > Assam > Baksa district > Manas National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manas National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Bansbari Lodge Manas National Park, Assam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing