We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellente”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agriturismo I Fornari
LOndon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellente”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Another well-deserved 5-star review for I Fornari. Very well-run agriturismo, great facilities and location. Very good and plentiful food from Gianluca and good selection of wines from Cilento, Campania and Italy.
Irene on the reception was extremely helpful - grazie mille.
Complimentary walking map and guide books were unexpected but welcome and very useful - esp the map.
Lovely area and within striking distance of major attractions like Paestum, Palinuro, Castellebate etc.
Also close to the best buffalo mozarella producer in Italy (ie the world) - Tenute Vanullo - but get there early and be prepared to wait - and allegedly the best pizza in Italy in Agrigento.
NIce accomodation, great pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vittorio D, Proprietario at Agriturismo I Fornari, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thans a lot for your nice review. You are very kind, our best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    25
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I was a tad concerned traveling to rural southern Italy given my inability to speak more than a handful of Italian. Irene at the front desk not only made those concerns disappear, she consistently went out of her way to ensure our stay was wonderful. The very attractive property sets amid the olive-tree-covered mountains. Rising early in the morning was rewarded by fog-shrouded mountains. In fact, we stepped into the quickly dissipating fog from our balcony. The food was delicious and plentiful. In fact, we asked the staff to give us less for dinner as we hated to see it wasted. Agriturismo I Fornari is off the beaten path; it's a wonderful place to recollect and savor the breath-taking beauty. The staff is most accommodating, even offering to drive us various places.

Room Tip: We stayed in the farmhouse and would recommend that. There did not appear to be any poor locations.E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wivoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vittorio D, Proprietario at Agriturismo I Fornari, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you very much! We hope to give you our welcome again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn IL USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I recently stayed at this agriturismo while researching my family history. The staff was most gracious and went out of their way to accomodate my every need. Since my Italian is limited, I had been a little concerned about a language barrier. But, Irene, who works the front desk speaks English and went above and beyond to help make my stay fantastic! The location is a little out of the way, but well worth the drive. The breakfast had many delicious choices & the dinner was very filling! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting this part of Italy!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKreiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

A really comfortable Agriturismo near Monte Stella for a good price. All the stuff of I Fornari wants to give you a very pleasant stay. If you want you can use a pool with a breathtaking view (we didn´t use it!). From here you can reach the "Varianta 18" very quick and are able to drive to all regions of Cilento. For trecking tours inside Cilento, for example through the famous Gola de Colore, you need a little bit time (about 1,5 hours one trip) because some of the roads are in not very good condition.

The dinner in I Fornari is amazing. You get first antipasti like some vegetables, salami, ham and cheese, afterwards as primo piattio some homemade pastas, as segundo piatto different kind of meat mostly with vegetables and fruits or tartes as a dessert. Many ingredients of the meals are produced at the agriturismo! The wine list is extra ordinary! If you want you can order Brunello, Bolgheri or other great grapes - if your budget isn´t so high don´t worry - the Cilento wines are wonderful and not very expensive in the restaurant (between 12 and 18 €). If you like to read more please visit our homepage, wehr-reinhold.com.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfram W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkel en rodenrijs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The south of Italy is well known for its hospitality. Nothing could be more true for I Fornari and her staff. Though the owner and much of the staff does not speak english they go to great lengths to cater to all your needs.

With its location in the hills of the cilento, only a 15 minute drive from fantastic beaches in pioppi of marina di caselvelino, it is a great place to discover the region. Its about a 2 hour drive from napoli. If you come from that direction don't be putt off by the wild wild west area around battipaglia, what is waiting behind it from agropoli/peastum is very much worth it. If you like historic sites, go to velia or paestum (20 minute drive). The famous pompei is around a hour and a half drive.

When you're not in de the mood for cooking you can eat at i fornari in the true spirit of campania. Honest food, a taste of the country life. They have a great wine cellar as well so there will always be a matching wine to your dinner.

At night you'll sleep in a nice house in between the olive trees. what more can you wish for?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

It's been a while since we stayed here. But when we talk about great Italian food we always mean Gianlucas amazing breakfasts and dinners. By far the best food we got in both of our recent trips to Italy. When we got rained on in Sicily we quickly changed plans and drove for hours to return to I Fornari, to get one last taste. So we think it is definitely worth booking dinner here - not much else around without major driving on small, windy streets at night anyways. Rooms are absolutely clean, nicely furnished, but fairly small and little dark. We did not mind at all, because the huge balcony overlooking the valley more than made up for it! We took many day trips in the area, hiked for quite a bit, and drove home every afternoon, thinking of what Gianluca would dish out that day...
Wonderful service by the most helpful and friendly people, who even managed to locate a specific camera lens for sale nearby after we damaged ours.
Just don't try to find the place after dark! Even with directions it can be quite a challenge to get there for the first time. Arrive when there's still light out - so you can be all relaxed for your first dinner treat.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiaLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed in ginestra and Olivella cottages - 8 of us mix teenagers and adults - you are up in the mountains, looking down into the valley and also up at higher towns and across at other hills - view from the swimming pool and Ginestra cottage were great - our hosts were great - and a good mix of nationalities around the wonderful pool - cottages were spacious - aircon, cooking facilities, good shower - we ate at the place - huge 20 euro evening meals, and great 8 Euro breakfasts - although with 8 the cost built up, so we cooked ourselves, or ate out or at the pizza place 3kms along the road to the next town. We drove to and down to Camerotta to do a boat trip, and you are 10 mins drive from the main SS18 road/motorway, and all the towns between, or drove down the smaller roads to get to towns. The beach is a 10 15 min drive away, but we loved the pool more. A great bakery down in the valley - and plenty of supermarkets. You are high up, so it requires a 5 min drive up a narrow road with hairbend corners and a few scary drops to get to anywhere, even if you just need a pint of milk. If you can cope with that then this is a perfect place to stay - kids loved the pool and the inernet connection. They took the bikes out but in the heat and with the climbs they didn't get more than a mile or so.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RIckyWManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stella Cilento
2.9 mi away
Agriturismo Zio Cristoforo
Agriturismo Zio Cristoforo
#1 of 10 in Casal Velino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Vecchio Frantoio
Il Vecchio Frantoio
#1 of 2 in Stella Cilento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo I Moresani
Agriturismo I Moresani
#1 of 3 in Marina di Casal Velino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Agriturismo Il Vecchio Casale
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Terra di Elea
Agriturismo Terra di Elea
#2 of 7 in Marina di Ascea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
14.9 mi away
Agriturismo San Leonardo
Agriturismo San Leonardo
#3 of 22 in Palinuro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo I Fornari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo I Fornari

Property: Agriturismo I Fornari
Address: Localita Fornari 2, 84070 Stella Cilento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Stella Cilento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Stella Cilento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Agriturismo I Fornari 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo I Fornari is located in the heart of the Cilento National Park, at the foot of Mount Stella, nestled in the hills overlooking the sea, among olive groves and thick greenery of nature. The "Fornari" with the best offer first-rate services, attention to detail and hospitality of our land. Good food, quality products, high-level hospitality, relaxation, nature and fun are the key elements that distinguish our farm. Offering elegant rooms, fine and meticulous in detail and properly equipped apartments, Agriturismo I fornari allows a wellness break with a spacious swimming pool with large solarium, an outdoor hot tub and a spa pool composed of indoor heated pool and whirlpool, turkish bath, sauna, emotional shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo I Fornari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing