We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good concept and execution” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nameri Eco Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nameri National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nameri Eco Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good concept and execution”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in a tent here for one night in Apr'14. I would recommend Nameri Eco Camp.

Points to note:
1. Great location. Away from the hustle and bustle. Two hornbills visit the trees here every morning. I loved the location and greenery. There is a river flowing nearby (Kameng) - a ten minute walk away
2. The forest officers' cabin is a couple of minutes walk away. A morning jungle trek can be booked from here. This is a walking trek of the jungle, and I highly recommend this
3. Food is okay. You need to inform the restaurant in advance about lunch / dinner etc. We had a bad experience the day we were leaving when the restaurant said they could not give us lunch (or any food actually) since we had not told them we would not be having lunch there. While I appreciate the remote location, this also means that they should stock up. This also indicated that they were not willing to go an extra mile for guests
4. Acco is basic (tented acco). Don't expect luxury

Overall, I liked it here, and would have liked to stay another night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    63
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
29
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just felt so nice to see this Eco- camp, a very well maintained place lot of green, cottages looked very attractive, the camp fire set in the middle of the lawn was a great relief during our December visit. Went for a river rafting which was little boring as it was for almost 2 hours nothing much to do apart from scanning the banks of the river, could see some water birds n migratory birds. Had food from the restaurant in the camp, good food with some freshly fried fish from the river. Will be back next time for our visit to Assam for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Any room is good as all the rooms are adjacently to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buxy_Abraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

(1) Its economical
(2) The tents do not have locks, but the place is reasonably safe
(3) Food served was tasty
(4)The hospitality demonstrated was good
(5) The facility was good. We were on a wild life visit and we could see many hornbills inside the resort itself.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Perfect place for nature lovers. Eco-camp provides basic essentials, comfortable surroundings and good hospitable people around. The camps would be better if they are given a new look . Hot water which is essential was missing and caused inconvenience being winters.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank annaverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
305 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

It was dream to be at anameri such small place and so full of life a couple of years ago, A fiend of mine booked me to this place. and i got to go and be in the river for my first river rafting. It is so cool and smooth in that place. Best place for rafting for beginner.
Food is typically north eastern fair. one can go around the place and feel the nature with you.
At night it is evening around a camp fire and lovely snacks.
Only bad thigs are king size mosquitoes sucking your blood.
Have fun at Nameri

Room Tip: Reach early have place in a tent to ward the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devinder s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have been going to the Eco Camp at Nameri since 2005, its only after my most recent trip that I thought of sharing my opinions about it. If you are looking for luxury in the midst of the jungles, this trip is not for you. However if you are a lover of nature and want to see it at its pristine best, please visit this gem of a place in the North Bank of the Brahmaputra by the Jia Bhorelli river. The camp is just that ... a camp. There are tents, a couple of cottages and recently added guest rooms for scientists that are also let out. These are quite comfortable, but basic. There is a largish lawn in the centre that can be used for bonfires and cosy gettogethers. The staff can make excellent roast pork or chicken Assam style that is really yummy on the fire, so be sure you ask for it in advance. During the bay time you can start your wild life watching from the camp itself, birds and butterflies abound and avid watchers can catch some rare species at their very doorstep. There is an early morning nature walk in the forest that allows serious birdwatchers to further this experience. Those that are not so wildlife savvy can walk to enjoy the jungle and maybe catch a glimpse of some big game! the rafting down the Jia is not to be missed. The gentle rapids make this a child friendly trip. Be sure to order a picnic lunch along with the trip. And please do not miss the assamese fare of the quaint restaurant. It's light on the stomach and tasty!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanhan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I was quite disappointed at Nameri Eco Camp. The tents are all old, worn-out and poorly maintained with blotches on the walls and entrance. The tents cannot be sealed (shut) properly as the edges are torn. The toilet and wash area too was not up to the mark. The food quality too is quite average. Certainly not worth for the cost we paid. However, this is the only private accommodation at Nameri and therefore unavoidable if you want to visit Nameri.

The best part of the stay was the Nature trail inside Nameri forest. A lovely forest with a great briding experience!

Room Tip: 2 Cottages are available but they too are as bad as the tents, with planks on the floor with enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KedarGore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nameri National Park
20.7 mi away
Hotel KRC Palace
Hotel KRC Palace
#1 of 7 in Tezpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
#3 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
18.2 mi away
The Fern Residency, Tezpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kalash
Hotel Kalash
#4 of 7 in Tezpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jia Bhorelli Wild Resort
Jia Bhorelli Wild Resort
#2 of 3 in Nameri National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hotel Pineyard
Hotel Pineyard
#7 of 13 in Tezpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nameri Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nameri Eco Camp

Property: Nameri Eco Camp
Address: Nameri National Park and Tiger Reserve | Potasali Sonitpur,Assam, Nameri National Park 784103, India
Region: India > Assam > Nameri National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Nameri National Park
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Idyllic forest village of Nameri Tiger Reserve.Birding ,Rafting and trekking in the core area of the tiger reserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nameri Eco Camp Nameri National Park, Assam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing