We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off Road Destination For Groups...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Off Road Destination For Groups...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I traveled to this place after finalizing it after many searches for a vacation with my friends...We were a group of 8 who went here in May 2014. The place was less known to many.. The roads were gud enough for travel as we went in 2 cars from chennai to vagamon. The climate was chill and pleasant. We took a independent bungalow which was very spacious for us which included 2 bedrooms with 2 cots each, also had 2 cots in the main hall n dining room and hall... We were cooked home food for all 3 meals n were gud enough. We went for off road jeep rides, lake visit etc... We had a vry good time as a group n can surely recommend this place for anyone.

Room Tip: Take the Independent bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carthic82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    23
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
36
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
145 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The main attraction of this hotel is Off-Roading. A Very Beautiful boating lake is there surrounded by mountains. The boating & Off-Roading is Awsome. Very friendly staff and management is there. Beware of Leech, keep salt in you pocket for leech.

Room Tip: Beware of Leech.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SAVIN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Let me begin with why I opted for vagamon of all the available vacation hotspots in Kerala. Firstly, we were a group of 10 including 2 elders aged 70+. So our focus was to choose a place in Kerala which has lesser travel, a place close to nature, preferably with a cool and misty climate and mainly we were looking for a cottage kind of accommodation to spend time together. After some serious googling and consulting a friend we discovered this beautiful little hill station called Vagamon. Since this is one of the less explored places in Kerala, there were very few cottage options and we ended up working a full board package with Vagamon Heights. Their hospitality was warm and the staff were at our doorstep whenever we needed them. Food was hygienic and tasted very much like home cooked. We stayed there for 2 nights and 3 days and had a good time.I will not recommend this place for group of friends and adventure lovers as there are not much activities to do.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnniePrecilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerala, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Kudus to management and staff for such a great place. We were a group of 15 and had a great stay. Major attraction is definitely Off-Roading.... Mr. Hari, our driver took my breath out... First tymbin my lyf i had such a ride, in high speed through hill top... we can have lot of great spots.... Boating, villas all maintained well...

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sudheep_Abraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alappuzha, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Dropped into this resort upon a friend's recommendation and had an amazing stay. We checked in at 6 in the evening and we were shown to our 'standard room' (A big bungalow called 'The Four Gables'). As it was getting dark, there weren't any activities to do as it was more of an 'all outdoor fun' place and we settled down after dinner. There are no TV/Internet connection or much of phone range so make sure you carry your entertainment devices just in case you don't get bored.

The rooms are great (2 huge bedrooms) 1 kitchen, 2 baths (again huge) with heater facility. All very clean and spick and span.

The next day all the fun started. After being served with a good breakfast (simple spread, more of common choice, but in enough quantity), we were taken for trekking, off-roading, boating, a walk around the rose-garden, and the viewpoints. We returned to an awesome south Indian lunch.

The highlights of this trip had to be the off-roading and the food. Both were outstanding to say the least. Not taking away credit from the rest, but just mentioning :D

Make sure you go with a group of people (5 min) to enjoy this place to the whole. Away from the city, very very quiet, pleasantly cold at certain months of the year (otherwise rainy). (We visited the place during March, so it was the off-season. During the rainy season, just take care not to come across any leeches)

I heard that they entertain you with campfire, music and barbecue if you have a bigger group.

And not to miss out on the mention, the staff were excellent. Very helping and very friendly.

Room Tip: Any room would do. But if you're with a larger group, they might put you in the Four Gables. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArifNeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I had originally booked for Woodpecker suite for August 14th 2013 and had transferred an advance of Rs.4000. But due to heavy rains/landslide in Idukki district i wanted to cancel the trip. But the proprietor Mr. Rashid said that he could extend the monsoon offer till November of that year and he will refund my advance in case i am not able to make by then. But when i tried to reach them in November to cancel the booking, there has been no response at all. I had sent several mails but has been in vain.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 42Suresh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The place is excellent for who enjoy the nature. You don't have TV in the room which i stayed. So enjoy your timing by walking around, talking and other activities. Its calm and you have lot of privacy. We never had a feeling of the resort, we felt as if we are in any known person's home. The food was excellent. The staff's support and cooperation was good and require a special mention. I surely recommend you can visit Vagamon heights. One suggestion, you should go as a group then it will be more fun.

Room Tip: You have single room cottage or double room cottage which i will recommend because it gives a feeli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAYAKRISHNAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagamon
0.9 mi away
Chillax Vagamon
Chillax Vagamon
#1 of 2 in Vagamon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
7.5 mi away
Urumbi Hill Palace Plantation Resort
0.5 mi away
Holiday Vagamon
Holiday Vagamon
#3 of 18 in Vagamon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Falcon Crest
Falcon Crest
#1 of 18 in Vagamon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.6 mi away
Green Meadows Vagamon
Green Meadows Vagamon
#4 of 18 in Vagamon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Winter Vale Green Stay
Winter Vale Green Stay
#2 of 18 in Vagamon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate

Property: Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate
Address: Off Pullikkanam-Vagamon Road | Vagamon, Vagamon, India
Region: India > Kerala > Vagamon
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Vagamon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing