We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vanilla County Heritage Plantation House
Nearby Hotels
Treebo Adrak Summer Sand Hill Resort(Vagamon)(Great Value!)
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wood Palace Resort(Kuttikkanam)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Room Service
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
225
12
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
12
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock poolsbaby mathewhis wifespice gardenthe main houseother guestswonderful hostsvery special placefamily homewonderful foodspent nightsguided tourbanana jamtea shopheritage propertyrubber treeswonderful homestay
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Baby and Rani are incredible hosts and you will eat very well when you visit!
They made us feel so very welcome. We were able to take time to rest up and be on our own when we chose and have some company and visits arranged for 'out and about' whenever we chose. Taking it all at our own place ... this was the perfect place for our first stopover in Kerala.
I would certainly recommend this as a great place to stay. The house is great and a lot of the produce that is served to dinner is from the local area... as near as the back garden in many cases! The staff are great and the location is really interesting, with enough scope to explore the many different places on offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Vanilla County as part of an Explore Back Roads of Kerala group cycle trip. After a tiring morning's ride we arrived at Vanilla County and were immediately greeted by Baby Matthew and his wife Rani with a cool refreshing drink. My husband and I had were lucky enough to have a room in the house which had access to two balconies, one complete with hammock and views over the beautiful garden and surrounding area! Other members of the group were either in the house or in rooms or permanent tents in the garden.

Vanilla County location and welcome was a lovely as the name suggests, Baby Matthew spent time explaining the history of the building, the rubber, vanilla, coffee and pepper plantations. One highlight has to be the delicious food cooked by Rani – many different types of curry, porridge for breakfast with homemade banana or pineapple jam and pancakes, yum. And another would be the nature walk down to the rock pools which were so refreshingly cooling after the hot walk. We did this walk on Ben's birthday and although neither of us were brave enough to jump off the rocks into the pool Baby Matthew did organise a lovely cake to celebrate once we returned to the bungalow for dinner.

Room Tip: Family room in the main house
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateBen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Some time ago I spent 4 days on Vanilla County Plantation. It was one of my best experiences ever. It is located amidst beautful plantation trees growing vanilla, pepper and other spices. The plantation is the perfect place to calm down and enjoy the day in a hammock after walking the nearby hills with excellent views or swimming in the natural. Kerala "God's own country" really deserves its name when look around green hills, waterfalls and butterflies above you. I also love Kerala food with fish, baked bananas a great combinations of spices ... could have that every day.
I am still in touch with the very nice owner-family and I certainly want to come back :-)
Katharina, Austria

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaa3332013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Baby and Rani are the perfect hosts and just can't do enough for you. The house is amazing and we couldn't get over the quality, variety and quantity of the delicious food they served us. The highlight of our visit had to be our picnic at the rock pool, after a 2 hour trek down the hill and our swim there. It truly is a piece of Paradise and we will be returning. If you want to sample a simpler life, at ease with nature, then visit Vanilla County. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trangmard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Mr. Baby Matthew and Rani have been one helluva host. Wish we could stay longer. I was looking for a slice of kerala in this authentic homestay and they made it possible. Every member of the family loved the experience. The food and spread was divine. Every moment we enjoyed and learnt new things. The swim in the rock pool brought us closer to nature. The plantation walk was informative but relaxing. Vagamon drive left us wanting more of the tea gardens. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Stay in cinnamon room with the swing. The room pics are exactly was they look like.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IshitaGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews