We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Echo Valley Ranch & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at Echo Valley for 3 nights and the ranch is In a beautiful location in the middle of no where! The lodge is very homely and comfortable and the staff are so friendly! We Loved all of the animals, especially the dogs and the horses. What a wonderful life the animals have, so well cared for and loved with absolute freedom. We thoroughly enjoyed the riding and the wranglers were fab and great fun especially Emily-Anne!
Champagne on arrival was also a nice touch :)
It was very hot during our stay, and the rooms become very hot so it can be difficult to sleep.
For breakfast and lunch there is a great selection of food prepared by Chef Jason, but worth noting there's no option for dinner. When we arrived we did ask if there would be options and we were advised that just one meal is made and everyone has the same, however your unaware of what's for dinner until you sit down to eat. We found this a problem one night when salmon was served, unfortunately 3 out of 4 of us don't like salmon so therefore we went without and just had rice and lettuce!! We didn't get the feeling it was ok to ask for something else from what we were advised on arrival.
We did have such a lovely time and would recommend echo valley for sure but did feel that for how much we paid to stay here we shouldn't have had to go without dinner for a night.

Room Tip: No air con in rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

An opportunity not to be missed when travelling in Canada. The atmosphere was extremely friendly and welcoming and it was like staying with family. The cabins were clean and well appointed, food was delicious and abundant and the staff were kind, helpful and very friendly. Horse riding was one of the activities offered and the horses were clean, well cared for and obviously very happy. We arrived on Canada Day and were treated to a wonderful barbecue in the evening, with all the staff going out of their way to make us feel at home. We had a relaxing stay and would highly recommend this working ranch for anyone. Thank you Norm and Nan for making us so welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hazel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent two nights here in July with a tour group. The location and surrounds are breathtaking and the owners and staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful.We experienced an outdoor barbecue and campfire on our first night and the rest of the meals were delicious and plentiful, all home-cooked from ingredients straight off the ranch. There are many activity choices ranging from horse riding, fly fishing , hiking ect . I had a beautiful facial in the spa and took part in the morning yoga class. Whilst our rooms were great we didn't have a fan or fly screens and the mozzies are here are plentiful and large, however there was ample supply of personal repellants to keep them at bay.My expectations were fully met and more for our experience at Echo Valley. Thanks Nan , Norm and staff

Room Tip: Ask for a private cabin, not in the main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Raewyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a Deluxe Cabin in July 2014.
The ranch is located in an extremely beautiful valley and the staff is outstanding and very family/kids friendly.
But it's definitely not a "world class destination" or "five star oasis".
The interior of the cabins and lodge are low standard, old and untended. The place overall is not very clean and many things are broken/tired. The gym (at least 15 year old equipment) and pool is Motel standard.
For the two star standard it's overpriced and urgently needs a major renovation.
We stayed at the Paws up in Montana two years ago which is a real luxury ranch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank TEU793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormD, Owner at Echo Valley Ranch & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

We thank you for the positive comments that you made about the experience you had during your stay, they represent some of the values that are important to us RE.
“The ranch is located in an extremely beautiful valley and the staff is outstanding and very family/kids friendly.
Green Features: Very environment friendly - everything is collected and recycled. Water out of own spring.”
We may see “luxury” in a different way to yourself and are sorry that you did not appreciate our accommodation, as reflected in your very harsh statements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent 3 lovely days here in this oasis in Jesmond. Wonderful staff, home cooked meals which were excellent, comfortable rooms & beds, & a great place to relax. Lots of activities if you are so inclined, including horse riding, to keep you occupied.
We would highly recommend a stay here if you are visiting Canada.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Diane852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at Echo Valley Ranch for a weekend in June and the vacation exceeded all of my expectations. This is a truly unique vacation destination. It was private and relaxing, but there was also a great feeling of community and warmth coming from the staff and other guests. The meals were certainly a highlight each day – many of us kept going back for seconds because the food was just that good. We tried to experience all the ranch had to offer over the weekend, from the early morning yoga lessons to the horseback riding and fly-fishing. Everything seemed to run smoothly and the staff easily accommodated our requests. Plus it’s hard not to enjoy yourself when you’re surrounded by the natural beauty of the mountains and rolling green hills. Our group was constantly taking pictures because it was just so picturesque! As some of the other reviewers have mentioned, the ranch’s border collies are the perfect companions – always by your side whether you are horseback riding or going to for a walk. For any animal lover, this place is paradise!

We definitely looking forward to returning to EVR one day. It was a wonderful, relaxing trip and we all wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

There are other beautiful places in the world. Maldives, Tibet... But EVR is the only place I have visited that combines all the below: beautiful nature, comfortable accommodation, delectable cuisines, wide range of activities, intimate and friendly family setting.

- Alpine grasslands full of wild chrysanthemums and dandelions; pristine forests dotted with lovely lakes and creeks;
- Tastefully decorated cabin rooms and very comfortable beds with premium bed linens;
- Jason is amazing! Food is great and even more amazing is his ability to turn around so many styles from western to Indian to Chinese. Aside from the salads and steaks, I also had Jason's wonderful stir-fried kailan - done just right; juicy inside and crispy outside. Up to the standard of the best Chinese chefs! And the chicken, pork and beef from the ranch taste decidedly better than commercial products.
- Great tutors and great horses! Even for first-timers like us, it was a breeze. Also loved the casual walks accompanied by the dogs led by Jojo and Anna, and even Nemo the cat! Morning Yoga by Trinity, fly fishing lesson by Mark... There are so many things I could do I just regret not having booked a longer stay.
- You feel like the staff is one family, and you are invited over for a stay as a friend. You have meals together around a big table. You chat and enjoy the food and wine together with some of the staff, while the remaining staff take turns to serve. After dinner you may play board games or chat around a bonfire and watch the sunset. I forgot that it's a paid vacation and paid service; I felt that I am just visiting good friends in a beautiful place, so I can completely unwind and relax.
- No cell phone reception. Great for people like me who want to get all out of the hectic working life!
- Wonderful owner couple Norman and Naan welcome you like an old friend. Lots of fun just listening to their stories and adventures like African safari by private plane.

So to summarize in one word: the best vacation I ever had!

(Only suggestion for improvement is water pressure on the second floor of the main lodge. Sometimes it can be a bit low.)

Room Tip: All rooms have great views. I don't think the choice of room is important, because at EVR you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luang_prabang_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Echo Valley Ranch & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Valley Ranch & Spa

Address: 10635 Jesmond Road, Jesmond, British Columbia V0K 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Jesmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jesmond
Price Range: £319 - £964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Echo Valley Ranch & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in 'cowboy country' above the Fraser River in BC's scenic Cariboo Region, Echo Valley Ranch & Spa entices those seeking a restorative sojourn, as well as those looking for a higher-octane activity. Whether your idea of heaven is a trail ride through rolling hills, a 4x4 wildlife safari, or a day at the spa, at Echo Valley guests find harmony and rejuvenation. The fusion of eastern and western influences is best seen at the spa, where both western massage and Thai treatments soothe muscles and mind; while dining options encompass dishes from east and west, fuelled by produce from the ranch livestock and kitchen garden. Activities also include hiking, bird watching and fly-fishing, as well as trips to white water rafting. Winter options range from snowshoeing to ice fishing and snowmobiling. Echo Valley is an idyllic spot for weddings and elopements, and caters to meetings and retreats for corporate groups. Flying into the ranch's private runway is one way to arrive; the ranch is also accessible with a scenic five hour drive from Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Echo Valley Ranch & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Valley Ranch Hotel Jesmond
Echo Valley Ranch And Spa
Echo Valley Hotel
Echo Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing