We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crayfish Creek Van and Cabin Park and Spa House
Nearby Hotels
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stanley Hotel(Stanley)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stanley Seaview Inn(Stanley)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tall Timbers Tasmania(Smithton)
US$115
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waterfront Wynyard(Wynyard)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$83
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wellers Inn(Burnie)
US$106
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Ikon Hotel(Burnie)
US$127
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
17
27
4
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
27
4
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspowered sitenice ownerssurrounded by treescamp groundcaravan parkfelt privatebeautiful bushgreat spottwo night staybasic campingplaygroundtreehousestanleyvansshowerbushyamenities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

First things first this place is an Eco park. It is not a 5 star campground. So if you want 5 star facilities, swimming pool, golf course, putt-putt course, jungle gym for the kids - go to one of the sterile campgrounds in/near suburbia.
Also if you don't like bush settings, resident wildlife including pademelons, ducks and nesting blue wrens or if you don't like the possibility of meeting a snake, scorpion, spider or mossie - please stay at home.
The water comes from the local creek so it is tannin stained. It is perfectly drinkable and my whites were still white after using the washing machine. (cf. other reviews)
Crayfish Creek is a remote site and as such doesn't have the benefits of a local sewage treatment works hence, like a lot of places, it relies on a septic system which can at times depending on prevailing conditions lead to a brief odour.
It also isn't ruined by having a great big mobile phone tower plonked in the middle. Enjoy your holiday - leave your mobile at home!

We spent 2 weeks camping there and it was idyllic apart from 2 nights which were spoilt by a minority of fellow campers who decided drinking, shouting and loud music were missing from the bush setting.
The creek is beautiful and fun especially on the rising tide. Great kayaking and "crabbing".
It is situated close to fishing spots, Rocky Cape NP, Stanley and is close enough for trips to the West Coast.
If you want a relaxing bush camp with access to basic facilities in a picturesque place - here it is!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The positives, the site was super roomy, enough for 4 families. My son loved the playground, cycled everywhere, including the beach which was covered in tiny crabs and amazing sunsets. We would ask for a site away from the sewerage ponds however, as the smell was overwhelmingly awful. I did notice it disappeared when walking beyond our site, so it must have been local to our site. I wouldn't put any whites in the machines, as they all came out stained, not sure it's the water or the previous users. Overall this camp ground has amazing potential with small investment for 100% positive reviews. Some advice, Get rid of the 20c coin shower, yours is the only one that has this, and it's a bit annoying having to stumble around for another 20c getting everything wet with shampoo in your hair, I'd happily pay an extra $5 per night and simply have a timer. All the best.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kgeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Blink and you'd miss the turn off to Crayfish Creek Caravan Park - but at your own detriment!

This has to be one of Australia's best hidden and most picturesque family friendly holiday parks. We've just spent two nights here and had a ball so much so we're planning a return visit later this year.

The kids have had a ball in the play area, our campsite was perhaps the most tree shaded picturesque spot we've ever had and that's before we mention the amazing river for swimming, the super friendly and helpful family who run the park and it's overall cleanliness and beauty.

Quite simply don't miss it on any trip to Tassie's amazing north west !

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Jonty2221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a relaxed campsite with powered and unpowered sites available from about $18 upwards. It is not the Hilton, so I'm not going to start complaining about minor details such as a spiderweb in the bathroom as that would be petty. There are also a few rustic cabins around to be rented.
It is fantastic for kids as it borders onto a river which is extremely safe in the afternoon as there is a large sandbank and only a small amount of water. There is also a playground and kids can ride their bikes around safely and the beach is nearby too.
I found the owners/managers to be extremely helpful unlike the previous reviewer (imho reviewer must have done something wrong to provoke that kind of response). It was also pretty clean as I observed cleaners hard at work in the bathroom and kitchen daily.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlw1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our fire permit was revoked after 1 night and we lost our bond. booked for two nights, left after 1 night. Fire permits issued for campfires but equipment not inspected before permit issued. On our return form and early morning trip we were greeted with a sign taped to our fire pit, "FIRE PIT CONDEMNED, REFER MANAGEMENT. I questioned the caretaker on the phone about suitable fire pits and was told my pit was acceptable on the phone. Apparently, after the fact, my pit was not acceptable. Caretaker rides around on a pushbike, glared at us each time he rode by. Caretakers car has a hatchet stuck in the bonnet, no doubt from a frustrated guest... a nice place but not worth the permanent residents or the caretakers attitude... beware of your bond.. it is apparently easy money for the park..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank blackiceboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caradale, Owner at Crayfish Creek Van and Cabin Park and Spa House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

We have retained three bonds in three years, a good result.
We welcome these comments as it may encourage others to properly read the clearly defined fire pot permit.
Fire pots are a privilage in our park, not a right. And it is hoped that with complience, this privilage can be retained while maintaining safety for others and respect for this unique environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews