We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chidambara Vilas Chettinad
Ranked #1 of 4 Pudukkottai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We just visited this property for lunch: did not stay there. If you call ahead and book the set Chettinad lunch you can eat with the guests, which was very tasty
. This has the advantage of also allowing you to tour the building. Truly stunning restoration: ornate, huge and mind boggling. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank APalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chidambara V, General Manager at Chidambara Vilas Chettinad, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Chidambara Vilas!!!

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a very tasty lunch and wonderful experience at our Resort during your recent visit . We are indeed grateful to you for your wonderful review and recommendation posted in Trip Advisor.

We, the entire Team Chidambara Vilas, are greatly cheered up by your encouragement and reciprocate our sincere thanks to you.

We would delightfully request you to give us again the privilege of serving you with our warm Heritage Hospitality in the near future.

Thank you,
Nandagopal Kannan
Resortl Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for a day in Chidambara villas.. Its a wonderful treat for ppl who live in a place like Chennai.
During our stay, we haven't heard the words such as "Impossible, No way, etc.." from Chidambara Villas Resort team, which we use to get it any other resorts. They were so kind and very helpful.
Food was awesome.. Calm and quite environment.. It was actually a luxurious ancient experience with the royal treatment ..to say..
Negative points - power fluctuation at day time. Generators were helping us. But we didn't find that too during night.

To name few ppl there--> Resort Manager Mr.Nanda and his staff, Car driver Mr.Nehru..
Thanks to all of you for making our stay a memorable one.. We will surely make a trip with our family once.
Thanks once again
PriyaMaran

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the swimming pool. so it really doesn't matters which you room you take.. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyaMaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chidambara V, General Manager at Chidambara Vilas Chettinad, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from “Chidambara Vilas”- A Luxury Heritage Resort!!!

Thank you for selecting Chidambara Vilas as a destination for your stay. Entire team joins me in thanking you for your compliments for the hotel. It was a great pleasure meeting and interacting with you.

Your review adds to more smiles and serves as a motivation to our entire team at the Resort. We will be delighted to welcome you always to the hotel.

With Warm Regards,

Nandagopal Kannan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed 1 night in this beautiful mansion. The room was charming and comfortable for the most part. When we went to shower there was no hot water and when we called the front desk they told us that it would be turned on and we would have hot water soon. The hot water was turned off again overnight. This is hardly what one would expect from a quality hotel.
Our tour company had arranged lunch for us and we were served a cup of lukewarm soup that tasted like an oil spill. We then had a plate of assorted items that included curried chicken bones and a slice of fried fish that smelled like it was left over from the week before. There was some rice, dal and some vegetable on the plate as well. All were served lukewarm.
I had the foresight to discuss dinner with the manager to avoid a repeat of the lunch since there was nowhere else to go. He informed me that we could expect the same chicken curry and fish. I asked that we be served something else as we did not enjoy the lunch. Dinner started with the same soup served lukewarm, followed by another serving of curried chicken bones and a very oily fish curry that was redolent of ammonia. Everything was lukewarm again and when we mentioned it to the server, he told us that the kitchen was far from the dining room so things cooled off. I had words with the manager who agreed not to charge us for dinner, although i would have much rather eaten a good meal and paid for it
At breakfast, i requested some orange juice only to be told that the only juice available was lime juice. It was served warm and with sugar added, and was not palatable. That was followed by a very modest serving of fresh fruit. After almost 5 weeks in India, i did not want another dosa, idli or uttapam, but just a plain north american breakfast. The omelet was served unadorned and the only breakfast a reasonable facsimile of cotton batten.
And to top it all off, the wi fi did not work in the room, only outside.
My wife and i were the only guests on that night, so we could only conclude that we were served leftovers as it was not worth stocking the larder for us and our guide.

Room Tip: Bring your own food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chidambara V, General Manager at Chidambara Vilas Chettinad, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Our Esteemed Guests,

Greetings from Chidambara Vilas!!!

We would like to thankfully acknowledge your Guest Feedback and we are indeed concerned about your stay.

We had taken note of your average remarks against Hot water, Food quality and WI-FI facility. We would take extra care in mentioned subjects to rectify and avert the lapses in the future.
We are indeed thankful to you for the trouble you have taken to bring this to our attention and such feedback does help us to understand how our services have been evaluated by our customers and how they could be improved. As a customer you have every right to expect the best standard of service from our Hotel we shall ensure that we sincerely strive hard to our best to get our customers satisfied in our services.

Looking forward to welcoming you to our Hotel again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nandagopal Kannan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

out of the world experience..away from the maddening crowd...best chettinaud food i've ever had....we enjoyed our stay....very courteous and hospitable staff members....great architectural building....would like to come here always....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priyadms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chidambara V, General Manager at Chidambara Vilas Chettinad, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Chidambara vilas Luxurious Heritage Resort !!!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Chidambara Vilas . We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us. Your review adds to more smiles and serves as a motivation to our entire team at the Resort. We will be delighted to welcome you always to the hotel.

Do let us know of your next visit.

Regards,

Nandagopal Kannan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Gorgeous and magnificent hotel, good service, all fine except that it was impossible to sleep for the awful music blaring from 4 to 7 in the morning. Everyone in the village turn on the radio during the night. If you decide to go to this hotel remember the earplugs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abinnaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chidambara V, General Manager at Chidambara Vilas Chettinad, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings !!!!

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Chettinad. We are very sorry for the
early morning sound disturbance you experienced. Being in a village, during this period of the
year ( Margazhi month Dec - Jan ) the local temples open earlier than usual with the temple music played very loudly over which we have no control. Hence this disturbance. However, we are taking to stop this.
We once again thank you for you for your valuable review.

With Regards,

Premchandran,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

During our tour to South India we had opportunity to stay in this excellent hotel for two nights and the stay was unforgatable. Its a huge property and very well decorated. a lovely conference which is known as durbar hall wheren we did our yoga. Lovely swimming pool. The manager and taff - very friendly and helping. It is like staying at home

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are very good but in my view all the rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vegadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chidambara V, General Manager at Chidambara Vilas Chettinad, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings !!!!

We thank you for staying with us on your visit to Chettinad and for the wonderful review of our
Chidambara Vilas. We are happy to note that you and your group enjoyed staying with us.

Thanking you once again & looking forward to meet you again.

With Regards,

Premchandran
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had lunch at this place while on a tour of Chettinad. For Rs.750 per head, the lunch was very delicious. Not spicy or oily yet very tasty.

We also had a tour of the hotel property (heritage home). It was awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SUK404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chidambara V, General Manager at Chidambara Vilas Chettinad, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from “Chidambara Vilas”- A Luxury Heritage Resort!!!

We thank you for your review about our hotel in the Trip Advisor.

While taking your positive comments on board, we truly value your feedback that will enable us to know how our services are evaluated and where attention and improvement are required to get our Valued Customers satisfied in accomplishing our commitment towards Customers Satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again for a Veritable Heritage Hospitality Experience

Kind regards,
Nandagopal Kannan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pudukkottai
4.4 mi away
Visalam
Visalam
#1 of 2 in Kanadukathan
247 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel MVV Residency
Hotel MVV Residency
#3 of 5 in Karaikudi
5 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bluebell Residency
Bluebell Residency
#4 of 5 in Karaikudi
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Chettinadu Mansion
Chettinadu Mansion
#2 of 2 in Kanadukathan
202 reviews
3.3 mi away
Saratha Vilas
Saratha Vilas
#1 of 1 in Kothamangalam
205 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chettinadu Court
Chettinadu Court
#2 of 5 in Karaikudi
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chidambara Vilas Chettinad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chidambara Vilas Chettinad

Address: Ramachandrapuram, Kadiapatti | Off Thirumayam Fort, Pudukkottai 622505, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Pudukkottai District > Pudukkottai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pudukkottai
Price Range: £76 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chidambara Vilas Chettinad 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"CHIDAMBARA VILAS" -Luxury Heritage Resort - a landmark in Chettinad hospitality!!! The 108 year old palatial mansion is one of the finest masterpieces of Chettiar art and architecture. Chidambara Vilas offers the palatial comforts of a true Chettinad home. Chidambara Vilas is strategically located at Ramachandrapuram, Kadiapatti, about 04 km off the historic fort of Thirumayam - an Archeological Survey of India monument in Pudukotai Dist. It is located at the mid point in the famous Tanjore- Madurai-Trichy Circuit. It became operational from 3rd Nov 2010. The property offers 25 guest rooms, experiential dinning restaurant, demo kitchen, formal restaurant, informal bar area, and a swimming pool. The hotel is situated at a distance of 75 km from Tanjore, 90 kms from Madurai and 80 kms from Trichy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chidambara Vilas Chettinad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing