We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let's clean up our act, shall we?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bankura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bishnupur Tourist Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Booked a Dbl A/C room through the WBTDC office at BBD Bagh (as the web booking service was malfunctioning at that time).
Turned up at the tourist lodge at 11 am. The room was not ready. Left the luggage and went out for a walk. Came back at 12.30. Were showed to the room which had windows facing the back of the kitchen and the open air garbage dump of the hotel. Asked the reception to show us another room. Were told, there is none left!
But that was just not true! Our friends booked another A/C Dbl but couldn't come. Technically there room was available as they did not have the time to inform the Tourist Lodge that they were not coming. However, decided not to argue!
We paid Rs.1400 + Taxes for the room. Here in TripAdvisor, fellow member PDUTT is saying that he enjoyed complimentary breakfast. We were not offered any! The service in the Dining room was also very erratic! There was some sort of training going on where (probably) hotel management students from some local institute were learning to serve food to each other!! Had to wait till the mess was cleared!
The plumbing in the bathroom of our room (particularly the shower) was pathetic. The plumber came all right but was not of much help.
The hotel staff tried to appear helpful, sans the Manager, who always adorned the reception desk and did nothing. But courteous staff hardly makes up for mismanagement and below average service.
Considering the rich heritage of Bishnupur, it has the potential of becoming a major tourist attraction of Bengal, provided the tourism department can manage their show well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SirshoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

Excellent service, spacious lawn on one side and a large car parking area on the other, delicious foods, courteous staffs, very convenient location and rooms with all basic amenities. Room tariff of Rupees 1100 + Tax for A/C rooms with complimentary breakfast for two seems to be very reasonable.
Online booking through website of West Bengal tourism is the best option with check in time being 12:00 hrs and check out 11:00 hrs. For sightseeing of the temples and other attractions, Guides are available. Guide rate being Rs 225/- and it takes at least 2 and a half hours to cover all the spots. Rasmancha, one of the top attractions is located very near while some other attractions such as Dalmadal Cannon, Chhinnamasta temple are around 7 to 8 minutes walk towards south from the hotel. The Sarbamangala temple, R.K. Ashram, Lalbandh etc are toward east and around 4 minutes walk.
The number of A/C suite is only one - it would have been better if there were some more A/c suites which would have been convenient for larger families. Other wise this hotel has the best infrastructure, best location in Bishnupur and nice courteous staffs with a smile on their face and always ready to help their guests.

Room Tip: A/C rooms are must during summer. In winter, any room can be choosen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PDUTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I booked online 3 a/c rooms from the 13th to 15th April, 2013 at Bishnupur Tourist Lodge. In small towns, it is hard to get any nice hotel. So the Govt. Tourist Lodge was a good place to stay in comfort. The rooms were large and clean. The bathroom in each room was spacious with plenty of water. The staff were very responsive and sober. The ambiance of the Lodge was very beautiful. The red flowers of Krishnachura was blooming this time. I heard the sweet songs of various birds in the precincts.

But I have to say that the quality of food was not at all attractive. The menu was very simple. I wish had the quality and variety of food been improved, I would give them full marks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jamil_Sayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

there are only small cheap places to stay. so the lodge is the best deal. it is nice imposing building, but like most government run establishments, poorly maintained. cleanliness is marginal however the staff is courteous.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdt111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We reached there on the verge of Bishnupur Utsav 2012, while all the Organiser and WBTDC officials were present to organize the festival. Early booking is a must in this time of the year. Our booking was confirmed and so we were given Room no 205/206 with balcony overlooking the garden. Moreover, my car car was permitted to parked just below my balcony, far from the regular busy parking place. The rooms were spacious, clean and well furnished but lacks a carpeted floor which may be a concern in the winter. The toilet as per the govt standard, big and the taps not dripping. The hotel staffs were busy at that time but somehow they managed to serve us as per our requirement. In fact, the front-office officials were too much cordial and helpful. This lodge offers the breakfast free and it bears quite a good taste but less in quantity. The meal rates, both veg and non-veg are a bit costly but it do not add more negative points as there are good food available nearby. The morning mist can be enjoyed in the adjacent garden which is professionally managed and bears a good looks. It has a bar. The lodge really offered me a home-far-from-home feelings.

Room Tip: The lodge is a busy one, so make an early booking. The AC rooms are good but near the dinning. I fel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tusharkanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We have not stayed in too many Govt hotels, and had minimum expectations. So the delight was genuine, when we got a large room, which had space to spare even after the additional bed was put in. The bathroom was large, and a walkout closet with the cupboard gave the needed luggage space and privacy. Balcony overlooked the garden, and the morning sun came in through this side. The food was good, typical Bengal fare, with the "Posto Bara" (Fried couscous cakes) being the signature dish. But the highlight of this stay must be the hotel staff. They are not the uniformed, pasted smile, robotic service one gets used to in chain hotels. It is indeed difficult sometimes to make out the staff from the guests, and offer help and opinion on every aspect of the stay, be it customising the lunch, calling (and haggling) for the care hire, getting the rickshaw in attendance, even when we have just mentioned a desire, and chasing away monkeys (yes, they are there on the trees that abound). The cleanliness in the room may not be great, the food may be a bit too homely (especially the fare is short on the "paneer butter masala" and may be a stretch for vegetarians), but the staff more than made up for these shortcomings. They made the stay almost like a visit to a family.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors, to avoid thefrequent passersby on ground floor corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kolkata_Babu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The best hotel in Bishnupur.
The room we stayed was 207 the suite.The room was a large single one and not a suite type(having 2 seperate rooms).There are also few AC rooms and Non AC rooms too but one have to book this hotel before coming to this place,specially if it is a weekend.

The staffs are co-cordial and helpful and are always ready to extend their views about the places to visit with a smile.

Only tea and snacks are serviced in room.Lunch and Dinner are served in the Dinning Hall ONLY and are served HOT.The complimentary breakfast is very nice.

The Garden area of this Hotel is beautifully decorated with many beautiful plants.
One can find the Bengal Tourism Flags always flying high....

And unlike any other hotel where the staying time is 24 hours here you check-in at 12Noon and check-out time is 11a.m....

Room Tip: Always prefer to stay in the suite and the AC rooms ONLY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandyKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bankura
19.9 mi away
Hotel Saptaparna
Hotel Saptaparna
#4 of 11 in Bankura
16 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Saptarshi
Hotel Saptarshi
#8 of 11 in Bankura
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deer Park Eco Home
Deer Park Eco Home
#11 of 25 in Santiniketan
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishnupur Tourist Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishnupur Tourist Lodge

Address: Bishnupur P.O., Bankura 722122, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Bankura District > Bankura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Bankura
Price Range: £17 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Bishnupur Tourist Lodge Bankura, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing