We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel with awesome Restaurant”
Review of Hotel Saptarshi

Hotel Saptarshi
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Saptarshi
Ranked #8 of 11 Bankura B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Saptarshi was an obvious choice when I had to spend one night at Bankura on the route to Digha. I had tasted the food at its Restaurant on 2 earlier occasions and had very good memories. The Biryani and Fish Chilly was fabulous. However my experience of the Hotel was a disaster. We reached around 8 in the evening by which time they hardly had any rooms left. They offered a non A/c room on the first floor. AT first glance it appeared to be too down to earth, the linen and pillows were below par. But the worst part was the bathroom which had a level problem. The water flowed in the opposite direction. We had to abstain from using it. The nightmare was enhanced by the mosquitoes and the constant chattering of the hotel staff outside the room which could be heard clearly because of the huge open ventilator. The room service guy was the only silver lining, the good chap wondered why we had not been told about the defect by the front desk person. As per his statement all rooms on that particular side of the building had the same defect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajesh-Born2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akduttahotels, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Saptarshi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Hi Mr. Rajesh,

We are sorry for your inconvenience caused during your stay. We have removed our General manager operations and have replaced him with someone with better experience.

Also we have asked our staff to not talk in the corridors at any point of time.

We have also assigned a fresh team in contract basis for maintaining toilets and all the rooms properly.

We are again very sorry for your inconvenience caused. We had taken up food section very importantly till date however these issues in rooms and stay were notified to us and as such we have introduced a feedback system at our hotel and are constantly monitor pleasant stay of each of our customers.

Hope you will keep this one time bad experience aside while revisiting us again in the future.

Regards,

Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

Even Though it's a sister concern of the famous hotel Saptaparna, it doesn't live upto the expectations.
Poorly maintained rooms, pathetic bathrooms, service is also not that good.
The only saving grace is the restaurant, which serves scrumptious food.
Over all not so good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventuresSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Had a bad time last week as I was compelled to stay in one of the dingy shabby room for 1 night in this hotel. Had a talk with them before reaching there, but upon reaching there I was informed that no A/c room was available. They were offering Dlx suite which in my opinion would be waste of money in a short business trip. So decided to take a non-ac room, considering the only plus point..its' location near railway station, as it was my first trip to that town. Room was "decorated" with a broken table & chair. Food was so-so, but rates are comparable with any 3 star hotel. So a definitely no from my side in my future trips & not advisable to others. There are few other hotels in vicinity with more or less same amenities in cheaper rates.

Room Tip: better avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saikat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akduttahotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Saptarshi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Hello Sir,

Its unfortunate that you find the BEST hotel in Bankura the worst.

Okay now the points:
1. You said you asked for an A/C room and got a NON A/C. We checked through our reservation bookings and found you had booked a NON A/C room and later on while checking you wanted to upgrade the room to an A/C room. Unfortunately our staff couldn't give you another A/C room as they were already booked and hence offered a Deluxe Suite at a very cheap rate comparable to A/C. But in your review you never mentioned this.

2. Cleanliness you cut all points. Never mentioned whether there was dirt, soil on bed, bedding not properly done, room service not available or calling phone, bell not working. But you still cut points on that.

3. Broken chair and table? Sorry but we regularly check each and every room and never found a broken piece nor any of previous customers except you have pointed this out.

4. You are talking of other hotels in the same vicinity. Well not sure if you read about our group but the vicinity hotels : Hotel Debarshi, Hotel Saptaparna are all our group hotels.

5. Food in all the group hotels are same and similar and we have won several awards only because of our food. We have regularly boast of several stars in our hotel just because our food is great. Please specify which food did you order and what did you expect out of it?

Still if you feel that it was our fault kindly notify us on your next booking and we will offer you a 10% discount.

Regards,
AK Dutta Hotels Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Saptarshi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saptarshi

Address: Lalbazar, Bankura 722101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Bankura District > Bankura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bankura
Price Range: £13 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of city Bankura at Lalbazar, Saptarshi is one of the oldest and finest Hotels in Bankura. Just 10 minutes drive from the station Hotel Saptarshi has seen not just Corporate but also Celebrities. Be it Moon Moon Sen or Superstar Prasenjit Chatterjee or Mithun Chakraborty this Hotel has come of its age with its share of all kinds of people. Having set a standard for itself in terms of good food, nice ambiance as well as bigger rooms you will surely enjoy your stay at Hotel Saptarshi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Saptarshi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saptarshi Bankura, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing