We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor quality accommodation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kikar Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rupnagar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kikar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rupnagar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very poor quality accommodation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Firstly, the positives: great spa/massage, excellent zip lining and quad trekking. The staff helpfulness for the activities mentioned and for horse riding was good, very nice people. Pool area was clean and nice. The food in restaurant was good.

Negatives: the deluxe suite room condition was a disgrace! Dirty looking, smelly and horrible decor, NOTHING like the website. Feel very cheated in this respect. There a flock of geese on site, kept us awake most of the night with their noise. The staff at restaurant can be very unhelpful, but some are ok.

My advice is go to Kikar Lodge for the activities but do not stay overnight, the accommodation value is of 3-4,000 Rs quality only, NOT 10,000 Rs that we paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandhup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry to hear about your experience at the lodge, having said that i have looked into the problem and have taken the appropriate steps to make sure that this does not happen again.
I personally invite you and your family to come and stay with us so that i can change your opinion about us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally the next time you plan a visit. Look forward to hosting you and the family soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    80
    33
    22
    24
See reviews for
114
27
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I spent 2 nights & 3 days with my 8 yr old son who loved all the excitement of living in a tent & all the activities. Management & staff were polite & helpful and the food was good. The place is well managed by Sachin & his team who take care of the hosts.
Cellular connectivity is a huge problem but then one doesn't go to a place like this to constantly stay connected.
The spa is good but it gets noisy and when you're having a massage you don't want to hear loud noises.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Avneeshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback.
I have already looked into the noise factor at the spa, so that the next time you visit us you would get a noise free massage.

I look forward to hosting you and your lovely family with us soon.

Best Wishes,

Amarindar Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My wife and I spent two nights and three days at Kikar Lodge. The setting is in the middle of a natural forest with the flora and fauna of the Sivaliks. The rooms are air-conditioned large and well appointed. The cot is very comfortable as were the sofas. there is a provision of a sit out with a table and chairs. A pair of bed room slippers (use and throw) made the stay even more comfortable. The toiletries consisted of a dental and shaving kit which is usually not provided elsewhere. the soaps have a lovely fragrance, and in our case it was mint and lemongrass. Instantaneous hot water is available and thoughtfully a discreet clothesline as well. The cupboards had a number of hangers.
The staff is soft spoken and efficient and respond to requests with alacrity. The chefs are obviously well trained, and the spread is sufficiently varied both at any given meal as well as over the range of meals. Requests for items not on the spread are entertained. The honey is natural.
There are pools with not only deck chairs, but cots as well where one can doze of under the sun or the shade after a swim.
There are a range of activities. The zipline(tyrolean traverse) is the longest that I have ever experienced and firmly anchored. Beside mountain bikes which one finds in most places, there are cross-country buggies, which is rare to find.
Requests for a taste of the local culture in the form of bhangra dancers are catered to, given some notice.
My wife enjoyed the experience hugely. It certainly was value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaitaan_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you and your wife with us, and look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Best Wishes for the entire team at Kikar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
110 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Hi,
This is a very good place to see the natural forest beauties.
the rooms are according to best living in forest. the staff is great & helpful, the food is excellent.

the only thing is dont try for Night safari, it is nothing to see but the other adventures sports are wonderful.

good place to go with family.

Room Tip: The resort is in interior of villages, so please on your GPRS from highway to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harshch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feed back, i look forward to having you back with us soon.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Pro: Adventure Sports - Great adventure sport facility especially Zip Line by Flying Fox, Natural surroundings

Con: Bad Service, Poorly Maintained property , Average Food, Poor Hospitality, Approach road to property

Had visited last weekend as a part of group of 30 odd people. The room assigned to us had an A/C that had no temprature control, Water Geyser that did not work the room was dirty and had damp all over .

A very average property for the price it demands. Do not expect great service or hospitality!

Advice : If you are not booked in Forest or Pool view rooms this place is ridiculous and worst than a budget hotel

Room Tip: Forest View or Pool View only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MohitLohia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Sir,
I am very sorry to hear about your visit to the lodge, we at the Kikar Lodge take utmost pride in providing good wholesome food and to top it all world known Punjabi hospitality.
I have personally looked into the points mentioned by you and assure you that all the cons that you had mentioned have been turned into pros.
On behalf of the Lodge i personally invite you to come and visit us again so that i can change your mindset about us.

Look forward to having you back with us soon.

Amarindar Singh

Best Wishes,

Amarindar Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rupnagar hotels

new delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We truly had a great time being at the Kikar property. Each moment is memorable. Wanted to thank you for all your support and concern.

Truly appreciate getting a different room immediately after my sister's accident and then agreeing to our early check-out. The entire staff (at reception/housekeeping/kitchen/security/room service) was very courteous, helpful and prompt.

Special thanks to Satish and his team. Our stay was made comfortable by the Chef's as well - we got what we wanted to have with great taste!

The Flying Fox team too was very supportive and patient despite we being too demanding at a certain point. The Zipline Tour was an awesome experience.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we do hope to be there more often!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroraaakriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Maam,
Thank you for your feedback, i will surely pass on the compliments to the staff. I hope that your sister is better now.
I look forward to hosting you some time soon, please do not hesitate to contact me the next time you choose to travel to The Kikar Lodge.

Best Wishes,

Amarindar Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Last weekend I alongwith my group of five friends visited the kikar lodge......It is really an awesome place. We had a good time there and also the food quality was nice... the staff of the lodge were very supportive.......It has all the amenities that you expect from a resort like this....

But in order too add fun lodge management should also arrange for some dj/music nights on the weekends.................the road that leads to the lodge from Nurpur have potholed road about 5kms....it is hard to drive through small roads as you go through village firnis....i know it is hard for you guys to deal with village panchayats................but try to compromise with the to resolve the road issues.......

thanks....concluding a must place............

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Birdevinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. we look forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rupnagar
17.2 mi away
Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort
23.1 mi away
Legend Sarovar Portico
19.0 mi away
Hotel Gianz
Hotel Gianz
#5 of 8 in Baddi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hunky Dory
BEST WESTERN Hunky Dory
#1 of 1 in Dhar Kalan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
24.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Park
6.9 mi away
Anand @ The Satluj
Anand @ The Satluj
#1 of 5 in Anandpur Sahib
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kikar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kikar Lodge

Property: The Kikar Lodge
Address: Village Kangar, Nurpur Bedi | Ropar, Rupnagar 140117, India
Region: India > Punjab > Rupnagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rupnagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
The Kikar Lodge Punjab/Rupnagar, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing