We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate B&B with outstanding pub food”

The George & Dragon
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George & Dragon
Ranked #3 of 4 East Harling B&B and Inns
Tonbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“First rate B&B with outstanding pub food”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

A friend and I stayed during a recent golfing trip, I was hoping for an adequate little place just to get some sleep every night but the place exceeded my expectations in every way.
There are 4 room, each with en suite bathroom. Tea and coffee facilities are provided but if you do run out the staff are more than happy to top them up for you (even going as far as to let me know where the supplies were kept if we needed anything!).
Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. You need to order it the night before but this is fine for me. We had our three evening meals in the bar/restaurant downstairs and have to say that the food was excellent.
The staff were incredibly accommodating and always greeted you with a smile on their faces. Nothing was too much trouble for them, we could have ordered breakfast for any time between about 5.00 and 9.00 am!
Overall a very nice place to stay, and if I were travelling to the area again I would have no hesitation in booking another few nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirRaidPatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    19
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
22
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed in the G&D for three nights with my wife. The G&D is wonderful value for money. The accommodation is contemporary styled with four en-suite bedrooms. The whole place has had a recent refit and everything is spot on. The beds are very comfortable.
Breakfast is excellent. We also eat two evening meals at the G&D while staying. Again the food is excellent with a very good menu covering everything from Steak to bangers and mash!
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed for two nights on business recently, the accommodation and service at The George and Dragon was beyond my expectations. The staff are friendly and very welcoming they make the place what it is, a great pub with good accommodation and excellent food. I will most definitely stay again when I’m in the area and have already recommended it to my colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

great pub and good accomodation food was excellent. staff very friendly. would definately stay again had a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlton l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We visited the George & Dragon one lunchtime and really enjoyed it.
The restaurant has a lovely ambience to it and the staff were helpful and pleasant.
We had the home made burger and chips...be warned you need to be hungry as the portions are huge ..no room left for a pudding which was a shame as they looked delicious.
We will be going there again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaygirlBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I don't normally write reviews on sites like these, but the quality of the accommodation and service at The George and Dragon was well beyond our expectations. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly; on arrival my wife requested and was provided with comprehensive information on train times for the following day, even though the landlady had a full pub and restaurant to take care of downstairs! We also requested meals at unusual times (early and late!) and our requests were never met with anything other than a positive response and a 'no problem' attitude. Even leaving the great service aside, the food, drink and accommodation were first class. I would definitely recommend The George and Dragon to anyone looking to stay in this area. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I visited this B&B for work with two colleagues. We booked our 3 rooms online in advance. We paid for the rooms and our meals on checkout but were not issued with an itemised invoice. Afterwards we noted that when booking, the rooms had been pre-paid but we had paid again when checking out. Simple mistake (on our part for not reminding the B&B when we checked out - but mostly on their part for not keeping a record of advance payments and for double-charging in the first place).

It should have been easy to resolve but more than two months later I am still £165 out of pocket and no refund has been issued. The B&B does not respond to emails or telephone calls about this, even though they initially acknowledged the double-charging and said the amount would be refunded.

I would recommend other travellers avoid this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoniSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m0rge, Owner at The George & Dragon, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Apologies for the inconvenience, but the booking via an agency was not forwarded to ourselves nor have we received the fee. We are in the process of investigating this issue with the agency concerned and will report to the customer withour findings. We did advise the customer to contact the booking agent themselves to resolve this problem. Future guest please rest assured this is a one off issue and if in doubt contact us directly via telephone or our website. Regards George and Dragon team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Harling
7.9 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
424 reviews
4.5 mi away
Breckland Lodge
Breckland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Attleborough
287 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunset House
Sunset House
#1 of 4 in East Harling
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elms
The Elms
#2 of 4 in East Harling
58 reviews
4.9 mi away
Dog and Partridge
Dog and Partridge
#1 of 1 in Wretham
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George & Dragon

Property: The George & Dragon
Address: Market Street, East Harling NR16 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > East Harling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in East Harling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The George & Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The George & Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George & Dragon East Harling, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing