We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere near a 4* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nowhere near a 4* hotel”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

No airconditioning. 20min wait for two drinks at the bar because we were ignored by barman. Room full of spiders and bugs. Attitude from the receptionist upon checking out when queried a bill we were given. The room was filthy. Coffee at breakfast hard to obtain. No milk for the cereal. Horrible uncomfortable beds/pillows. Maybe got 8 hours sleep in total across two nights. Family wedding was spoiled because those staying at the hotel had no sleep either night due to noise/horrible beds/stifling heat. Have emailed the hotel, complaint not even acknowledged yet. Will NEVER stay here again. Will point out that the food was exceptional.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicky_21685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Nicky

Please find my direct email as I would like the opportunity to discuss this matter further with you.

gm.mercuretunbridgewells@jupiterhotels.co.uk

Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    282
    244
    123
    72
See reviews for
173
371
17
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in room 120 with a lovely living room which had a tv, 3 chairs and a table and desk, a bedroom with a four post bed which was high off the ground (which I liked but my partner did not), the bathroom was small but functional.

The only downside was that the floor boards were very creaky and I did wake my partner when visiting the bathroom in the morning. The room is close to a staircase and we could really hear other visitors climbing or descending them as well as being close to a cleaning cupboard which was rather noisy in the mornings. The room was also quite dark due to the small windows and insufficient lighting.

We also found that the staff weren't particularly attentive, and when calling reception we would wait a long time for a response.

Room Tip: room 120 was nice but I would avoid using it again due to the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear DebG91

Thank you for your feedback and I appreciate your attention to detail regarding condition of the property.

I do hope this doesn't deter you from using us again.

Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for a week with work - didn't choose or pay for the hotel myself.

From the outside the hotel looks pretty good and the reception area/bar is also pleasant. However the corridors and rooms are very dated and in desperate need of a refurb.

The hotel and rooms were extremely hot and lack of air conditioning made sleeping difficult.

Nearly all staff I dealt with were poor or worse. From blasé receptionists who would smile but do the bare minimum to kitchen staff who don't even appear to be able to cook basic food. I asked to speak to a manager one evening and was kept waiting 45 minutes only to be told they had left!

Breakfast choice was poor with only a few cereals to choose from - hot breakfast varied in quality was typically stale bread for fried bread (twice) and half-cooked bacon (daily).

Free wifi was a real bonus. Didn't use pool as always looked too busy with kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonp820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Simnp820

I would very much appreciate it if you could give me some more detail regarding your feedback and would therefore ask if you could contact me directly on this email : gm.mercuretunbridgewells@jupiterhotels.co.uk

Kind Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed with large group ,bedrooms are passable some need updating as can be dark on dull days . Welcome tray basic no extra's . Dining room needs attention badly , including décor and light fittings . Service in dining room was passable but many new staff who clearly lacked proper guidance . Breakfast was acceptable but not off higher quality expected of a four star hotel . Had to point out to staff about lipstick on two glasses which were put out for fruit juice , told younger member of the waiting team so do not know if this was passed on to the kitchen . As there were two large groups in at the time , at times tables not always cleared away so that people had to sit at un cleared tables . Our group has stayed in three star hotels with better service than this one so would question the four star rating .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Victor P

Thank you for your feedback and please be assured they have all been taken on board. If you would like to contact me directly please use this email : gm.mercuretunbridgewells@jupiterhotels.co.uk.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed one night on business.

Room was small but clean and bed was comfortable. No tea or coffee in the room here which was surprsing.

Out working until late so I had room service - No answer on the phone so I had to take a trip down to reception - not great, but at least the guy on reception sorted my order out while explaining they were very busy and there would be a wait for my sandwich.

Breakfast was appaling. Just not enough staff. Lots of empty tables but no cleared or set ones. Ended up at a dirty table which nobody bothered to clear while I helped myself to breakfast (average quality food) and borrowed unused cutlery from a "part used" table. No coffee as that would have required staff bringing it over which they did not - gave up in the end and had another glass or orange juice instead. Reception offerred to refund the breakfast charge - misses the point somehow.

Also, I found next morning that room 124 (Ground floor room) has a large window that does not lock - Absolutely unacceptable and impossible that someone in the hotel did not know about this - housekeeping open and close windows every day.

Mercure need to get their act together, very dissapointed at this poor effort.

Room Tip: If you are in room 124 check that they have fixed the window!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnC_883186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback. I was disappointed to read of your experiences but please be assured that all aspects have been reviewed and standards have been re addressed, with particular reference to breakfast standards. If you are in the area soon I would be pleased to meet you to discuss further.

Kind Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pembury hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just visited the Mercure for 5 days with a coach party from Norfolk. Never have I had just awful food. 2 coaches crammed into the tine dining room on the first night trying to serve a buffet meal. Everything was cold from the plates to the food. All very well having a good leisure centre they want to get a new chef. Had better food in a 2* hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Freda I

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your group stay with us. Please be assured that I have been in contact with your tour operator.

Please re contact me if you are in the area in the near future as I would like to give you my personal reassurances of the correct standards we are delivering moving forward.

Sincere Apologies.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembury
3.0 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
670 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
857 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#13 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
170 reviews
15.3 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Tunbridge Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tunbridge Wells

Property: Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Address: 8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Pembury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Tunbridge Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Tunbridge Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel Pembury
Ramada Hotel Tunbridge Wells
Ramada Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells Ramada
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Royal Tunbridge Wells/Pembury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing