We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    274
    236
    110
    66
See reviews for
164
347
17
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My Son and his best man were booked into the hotel the night before the Wedding and found the place Excellent apart from a little Expensive to eat and drink .
Free Wi fi would not work at all even staff Failed on this.
My Wife and I met up with them there and we found the place neat Tidy and very clean
Service from Staff very pleasant and friendly overall a good place to stay

Room Tip: Didn't see anything wrong here at All
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Eglf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Tony_Eglf

Just a quick note to thank you kindly for your feedback and I really look forward to welcoming your family back to the Mercure Tunbridge Wells very soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed for just one night with a friend for an event at this hotel. I would like to point out how things could improve rather than just criticise. The room needs updating , beds uncomfortable and towels need to be much softer . The shower cubicle was damp and mouldy.It took too long to get answer from reception via telephone. Staff need to be well presented rather than have black clothes on , image is important , the receptionist however was helpful and polite.
I think £5.50 for a pot of tea not even served with a saucer nothing more than extortion.
The meal was tastless and very poor quality , wine not even drinkable , breakfast not much better , presentation again very poor , employing very young staff with no training is again not what customers need.
The pool area was terrible , steam room too hot and sauna not hot enough , shabby changing area and the Jacuzzi water was cloudy , I did not see any staff an elderly lady member commented how things had deteriorated .

Room Tip: no lift so ask for a ground floor if you don't want to carry luggage up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Bettina S

Thank you for your feedback and please be assured that I have reviewed all aspects. I do hope you decide to stay with us again, please feel free to contact me directly if you decide to do so.

gm.mercuretunbridgewells@jupiterhotels.co.uk

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pembury hotels

Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

No airconditioning. 20min wait for two drinks at the bar because we were ignored by barman. Room full of spiders and bugs. Attitude from the receptionist upon checking out when queried a bill we were given. The room was filthy. Coffee at breakfast hard to obtain. No milk for the cereal. Horrible uncomfortable beds/pillows. Maybe got 8 hours sleep in total across two nights. Family wedding was spoiled because those staying at the hotel had no sleep either night due to noise/horrible beds/stifling heat. Have emailed the hotel, complaint not even acknowledged yet. Will NEVER stay here again. Will point out that the food was exceptional.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicky_21685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Nicky

Please find my direct email as I would like the opportunity to discuss this matter further with you.

gm.mercuretunbridgewells@jupiterhotels.co.uk

Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in room 120 with a lovely living room which had a tv, 3 chairs and a table and desk, a bedroom with a four post bed which was high off the ground (which I liked but my partner did not), the bathroom was small but functional.

The only downside was that the floor boards were very creaky and I did wake my partner when visiting the bathroom in the morning. The room is close to a staircase and we could really hear other visitors climbing or descending them as well as being close to a cleaning cupboard which was rather noisy in the mornings. The room was also quite dark due to the small windows and insufficient lighting.

We also found that the staff weren't particularly attentive, and when calling reception we would wait a long time for a response.

Room Tip: room 120 was nice but I would avoid using it again due to the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear DebG91

Thank you for your feedback and I appreciate your attention to detail regarding condition of the property.

I do hope this doesn't deter you from using us again.

Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembury
3.0 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
630 reviews
15.3 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
269 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Tunbridge Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tunbridge Wells

Property: Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Address: 8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Pembury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Tunbridge Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Tunbridge Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel Pembury
Ramada Hotel Tunbridge Wells
Ramada Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells Ramada
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Royal Tunbridge Wells/Pembury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing