We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for travellers - combined restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairwinds Motel & Restaurant
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Convenient for travellers - combined restaurant”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

It's a pleasant small motel privately operated located on the shore of an inlet with all the front facing rooms having excellent rear view across the water and hillsides. Good sized room with two double beds, dining table, desk with light, with free internet. There's a huge sideboard with shelves, but hanging space is in the lobby to the room, which doubles for wet clothes drying area. Bathroom and shower were adequate. It's an older property which perhaps is getting near time for some upgrading, but what's there is fine and realistic for price. Somewhat restricted on power points, only one available without disconnecting other items.

The reception desk doubles for the restaurant entrance, there was a range of meals available at reasonable prices, also some variety at breakfast too. Perhaps only downside for me was very slow service at breakfast it took me 50 minutes despite being first in at 7am and wanted to be on the road at 8am for an appointment nearly two hours drive away.

Locals also use the restaurant, as well as passing drivers, there's not much in way of restaurants in that area from what I noticed.

Room Tip: The ones that face the road will have view across inlet to the rear, the ones at the and facing car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuartholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed for one night and not impressed. Walked in and checked the bathrooms which were not finished, with tiles missing. Unfortunately felt it was not clean enough to take a shower. There was mold on the edge of the tub and a hole in the tub surround. The water smelled and tasted horrible. We had a few bugs which explained the traps around the room. On checking out we told the owner and had an excuse for the room condition. Next time we will stay down the road at a B&B

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheet Harbour hotels

Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
479 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Good location & spacious rooms. Enjoyed a view room on the water that was very affordable. But, the beds were very hard & uncomfortable. Plus, the water smelled & tasted strongly of iron. The staff were friendly folks.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Not impressed about anything! The rooms are very very musty and smell enough that your clothes have that smell after staying here. The carpet had seen better days and have not been vacuumed in a while. The tub on the other hand almost needs to be replaced. I actually went to the hardware store and got a bottle of Lysol and cleaned it my self. We also bought beach towels at the drug store because the "bath towels" are the size of hand towels. The water is very hard and I found it hard to even brush my teeth. The room did have a window AC unit that we needed to ask how to use, found out it was hooked up to a switch. The TVs in the room are in need of an upgrade. Not sure what the norm is but our room was not cleaned in the three night stay we had there. Over all I would skip staying here but not sure what the other options are in the area.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelingC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

With few places to select from for accommodations in the area, this is an adequate place to stay for 1 night. It is pricey for what it is and very outdated in room decor. There was a greasy stained cardboard box behind the chest of drawers and the grout in the bathroom was mouldy. Hand written signs stuck over the wall didn't impress me either. Wifi barely worked (1 bar and I was close to the office). For 1 night, it was okay.

Room Tip: Rooms with a "view" are more up to date... but still nothing beyond basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CrownVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I found it difficult to order from the menu being for the most part a vegetarian. The menu items are similar to the other restaurants in the area. I did order the baked fish (haddock) and salad - $16.00! I asked that the fish be well done. My seat allowed me to see the prep kitchen. I saw the cook take plastic wrap off a plate and place a piece of haddock on another plate. When this same plate was brought to my table I asked the waitress if the fish had been microwaved. She said "yes, that is how it is baked". Not only was it microwaved, but with plastic wrap!! Unacceptable! A good piece of haddock ruined by the microwave.

Room Tip: Stick with the fish and chips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nsbeachlover2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
165 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This motel is probably the best in a section of wilderness where motels are few and far apart. It is a good place to spend the night after a long drive. I have seldom seen a friendlier staff that try hard to accommodate you. The internet is hardwired and didn`t work the night we were there. The dining room is good but serves `pub fare`. The room we had had a very nice view on the river but could have used an upgrade in the bathroom; the carpet had seen better days. The price was fair and the bed comfortable

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klodio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fairwinds Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwinds Motel & Restaurant

Property: Fairwinds Motel & Restaurant
Address: 22522 Main Street Highway #7, Sheet Harbour, Nova Scotia B0J 3B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Sheet Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sheet Harbour
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwinds Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairwinds Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwinds Motel & Restaurant Sheet Harbour, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing