We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FARR DIS PLASE WAZ KRAP AZ”
Review of Waipapa Point

Waipapa Point
Auckland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FARR DIS PLASE WAZ KRAP AZ”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

farr i waz just chillin wif my boiz afta we grabd a buket of kfc and dis seel thing just cums up and bites me aye i buzzed out so i asked him for a 1 outs but he just gaped it aye hahahahha buzzi az day

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sione W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Isolated piece of coastline with sealions. Check out the rocks on the beach for fossilised remains but leave them where they were found.

Helpful?
Thank Cascade52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waipapa point”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Wild natural and raw. Definitely back to rugged nature. Well worth a stroll and picnic if you like rugged sea views

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Swept off my Feet!”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Swept off my feet - figuratively and literally!

The coastline of the Catlins is notoriously dangerous, and there have been many shipwrecks in the region. The most notable of these, and also one of New Zealand's worst shipping disasters, was the wreck of the passenger steamer Tararua, en route from Port Chalmers to Melbourne via Bluff, which foundered off Waipapa Point on 29 April 1881 with the loss of all but 20 of the 151 people aboard. A lighthouse was built on the point in response to the tragedy.

We were expecting to see a tired looking lighthouse and couldn't-have-been-more-boring museum displays of its shipwreck history. Instead, we stumbled on a colony (yes, not one, not two, but a whole colony) of sea lions. Dangerous looking creatures that occasionally "fought" off a competitor. Keep your distance!!!

The winds were howling and we couldn't walk in a straight line. It was an experience of a lifetime being literally blown off your feet.

A very intriguing experience. Try it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nlaykhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sea lions a highlight”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

A little bit of a drive along a gravel road but well worth it! Stunning views of the rugged coast in the South Island. We saw sea lions right by the light house!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank nessaklnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waipapa Point also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Southland Region, South Island
Southland Region, South Island
 

Been to Waipapa Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing