We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff - lovely decorated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Il Vecchio Frantoio
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff - lovely decorated”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Extraordinary location up in the hills with a view on olive trees and the valley - a very peaceful location. The staff was very friendly and the food was tasty. It was cold for the season so they made fire just for us, even though we were the only guests. We had quite a romantic dinner in front of the fire place :). The room was clean and warm.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarynaBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    34
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
39
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balzan, null, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This Agriturismo is an old farmhouse with authentic features run by Corrado and his wife. The rooms are nothing special and lack clothes storage, however are very clean and comfortable. The huge pool is beautifully clean and there are gorgeous mountain views all around. The gardens and surrounding outdoor areas are immaculately kept. Food is abundant and totally delicious. I recommend this place for families since it's halfway up a mountain and totally isolated, therefore our two daughters (8 and 6) could run around freely without us having any worries even if they weren't in sight. The girls had great fun playing with Billy the family dog and a few stray kittens. Would love to go back just to chill by the pool and take in the views!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed here 4 nights and enjoyed it very much. Particularly memorable was the staff-- very sweet and tried hard to please even tho my tentative Italian proved as incomprehensible to them as their Sicilian did to me. The farmhouse is beautifully situated and the food was very good (but heavy on the salt). It took awhile, however, before they caught on that we simply couldn't cope with the staggering amount of food. We decided against full or even half board and settled for a discussion (of sorts) with the chef every night. There's no menu and we had no idea how much it would cost but it was very reasonable, especially considering all the wine we drank.
The room itself is a bit pricey but I think that's typical of agrotourismos. Perhaps rusticity costs.
For that price i would have expected a bit more--perhaps a mirror in the room, a shower that didn't flood the floor, towels without the texture of sandpaper, and an owner who restrained from smoking inside. But all in all, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caminoista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

For 2 nights we enjoyed the beautiful nature around this agriturismo in May 2011.
We made looooong walks from this place and every time we arrived back 'home' a sumptuous dinner was served to us. We ate all alone in the dining hall enjoying the local specialities.
Beforehand we let them know what we do and don't like. And every night we got too many delicious plates to choose from.
(remember: when you think you cannot eat anymore, there is always more coming!!
We had a nice big split level room, clean small bathroom. A bit old fashioned, but I think that adds to the charm of the experience. We felt very welcome and experienced open and friendly service, even as a gay couple in rather conservative Sicily. Grazie mille!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeroen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Wood, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We stayed at this wonderful agriturismo near the small town of Scillatofor for 3 nights in May 2009. The rooms were typically small with small bathrooms as is typical in Italy, but were well appointed and in good condition. Rooms were kept clean and usable. The farm was a typical olive growing and processing operation dating back several hundred years with the accompanying ambiance of such a place. The highlights were the breakfasts and dinners. They were served family style and consisted of multiple courses of outstandingly prepared foods. The quantity and quality were unmatched during our 3 week stay in Italy and Sicily. Couple all of this with the beautiful surroundings of the Monti Madonie mountains and nearness to Cefalu and the coast. We undertook many scenic drives and loved the beautiful spring wildflowers and scenery of the quaint mountain towns. The owners, Corrado Cipolla and his family, are great people. Corrado speaks passable English and can answer any questions you have. We will stay there again on our next visit to Sicily.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowe210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scillato
12.0 mi away
Relais Santa Anastasia
Relais Santa Anastasia
#1 of 4 in Castelbuono
513 reviews
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo L'Antico Casale
Agriturismo L'Antico Casale
#2 of 6 in Polizzi Generosa
80 reviews
7.8 mi away
Antico Feudo San Giorgio
Antico Feudo San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Polizzi Generosa
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Sorgente Delle Madonie
La Sorgente Delle Madonie
#2 of 10 in Polizzi Generosa
70 reviews
3.2 mi away
Il Baglio di Nonna Clelia
Il Baglio di Nonna Clelia
#4 of 10 in Polizzi Generosa
26 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sciabake
Sciabake
#3 of 6 in Polizzi Generosa
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Vecchio Frantoio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Vecchio Frantoio

Property: Il Vecchio Frantoio
Address: Contrada Firrione 1, 90020 Scillato, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Scillato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Scillato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Vecchio Frantoio 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the charming frame of the Natural Park Of The Madonie, in the valley which from Scillato looks at direction of Polizzi Generosa, surrounded downstream from the northern Imera river and upstream from Punta Minieri and Monte dei Cervi, rises the agricultural company "Il Vecchio Frantoio"; our Farm Holiday is located in contrada Firrione, dipped between secular olive-trees. The village, which in the past had historical importance and hegemonic mark, as the loopholes and the strategic domain and defence position testify, reached, after to be belonged to the Dukes Of Ferrandina...L'agriturismo Il Vecchio Frantoio si trova in Sicilia nel Parco delle Madonie a soli 4 Km dall'Autostrada Palermo/Catania, al centro della Sicilia ed in collegamento in breve tempo con tutti i luoghi piu importanti del turismo siciliano come Piazza Armerina, Agrigento, Taormina, Cefalu e tanti altri. Sorge in contrada Firrione (mt. 700 S.L.M.), Immersa tra ulivi secolari con la tipica struttura delle antiche masserie dei primi del '600. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Vecchio Frantoio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing