We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very new but very cold hotel / Ein komplett neues, aber leider sehr kaltes Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fosshotel Westfjords

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fosshotel Westfjords
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patreksfjordur
Certificate of Excellence
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very new but very cold hotel / Ein komplett neues, aber leider sehr kaltes Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Fosshotel Westfjords is a completely new hotel - at least it seems like that - the building right next to the sea and the rooms are very modern and appear to be pretty new. The hotel was quite pricy, which leads to my first complaint - how can a hotel cost that much and still try to rip off their customers by offering wifi on a buy-only base? This is not acceptable in 2013.

My second complaint will also affect people who do not care about wifi - the room was very cold. The room itself had only one radiator below the window, which was deactivated when we came into the hotel. The problem is, the only way to avoid people from looking into the room (ground floor) was by closing a heavy curtain (you also need the curtain against the short darkness( - which covered the radiator as well - and so the heat could not get into the room. In the bathroom there was a very cold stone floor which looked like it would have a floor heating - but it did not.

The hotel was nice, but for this price I expect a warm room and free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herbert_eins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    77
    28
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
110
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here at a discounted price because the Radagerdi hostel had an overbooking problem (for what's worth, it looked like an honest mistake on their part).

It's a brand new structure, with clean and modern rooms. Our double room with bathroom had a big and comfortable bed and offered a beautiful view of the bay.

They charged for the use of WiFi. Also, WiFi signal coverage was quite poor in the rooms. However, there was an Internet workstation available for free in the lobby. Breakfast was pretty standard. As usual in Iceland, the staff was very nice and helpful.

This hotel is in a great location for visiting Breidavik and seeing the famous puffins. There's also a nearby public bath with a beautiful view and a small supermarket in case you don't wanna eat at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

In this relatively remote region of Iceland this Fosshotel was a pleasant surprise. Our room was more than ample in size and with comfortable beds. The bathroom is not large but neither was it confining. The shower was excellent. After a day taking in the beauty of the area (and driving the occasional unpaved roads) this stylish hotel was a comfortable place to return to. Service from the staff was quite good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalif08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for one night in mid June and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was very clean and comfortable and we really appreciated the heavy curtains. It was incredibly quiet. In the hall, our neighbor's tv was very loud but in our room, we couldn't hear it at all. The restaurant was excellent. We had both dinner and breakfast there. The staff were friendly and helpful. Of all the places we stayed in Iceland, this was our favorite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawne03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Honestly I can't believe that hotels still try to make money with Internet. That's like taking money for the bathroom.
Generally speaking this hotel is decent and the fact that the personell had no clue what service means (anyway they try) the rooms are my nice and clean.
I just always wonder who chooses the hairdryer in such hotels...-Can only be a man with short or no hair. As a woman with long hair you either spend hours or you get the flue because you go out with wet hair.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TecksFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
201 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Fosshótel Vestfirðir is a new 3 star hotel in the small fishing village of Patreksfjörður in the North Westfjords of Iceland. As a new hotel, it was fresh and clean. It had only been open 2 months when we stayed there. The shower stall is very small and the water had a tendency to flow over the lip of the shower getting the floor soaking wet. This was the only place in all of Iceland where there were internet charges. These were absurd and wouldn't have been expected as all the other places we stayed (15 nights) offered free wireless connections that were all strong. This irritant needs to be change. It is hard to miss this hotel as it is in a prominent place as you first enter the village.
NOTE: This hotel had no shampoo or Kleenex. On the positive side, they did have an elevator and a plug-in close to the desk, which was quite large.
We stayed here 2 nights and had dinner at a GREAT restaurant called "Thorpid" in town. We like it so much the first night that we went back the 2nd night. Our favorite eating place in all of Iceland!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvcruzin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Pros:
-Hotel is new (thus clean) and modern
-Room space is well utilized
-Cable tv
-Great breakfast buffet included in our room rate. The breakfast staff are wonderful; personable, and professional. Too bad the front desk staff is the opposite.
-The restaurant and small bar is compact, relaxed and modern looking. With cocktails going for USD $16 and food quite pricey (yes, everything is expensive in Iceland) we opted to dine out which resulted in one of the highlights of Patreksfjordur - discovering Stúkuhúsið café/restaurant. A short drive away from the hotel, it offers charm, ocean views and homemade cooking from a gregarious female proprietor. Definitely worth a visit whether to use the internet, have a great cup of coffee with desert or for a relaxing homemade dinner.
-Parking is free and directly next to building
-Great views
-Good base location for exploring area including Latrabjarg bird cliffs and hot pools

Concessions:
-Newly opened, the front desk staff is in dire need of hospitality training (greeting guests properly, smiling, sufficiently answering questions & responding with more than a one word yes/no, etc.) Ditto housekeeping staff - nothing was replenished, including the towels we had left on the floor, nor cleaned, only slightly tidied & bed made. I'm confident all the kinks will be worked out in time.
-Charges for internet. This was the only hotel we stayed at in Iceland that charged for internet. There is one complimentary guest computer in the lobby where you may access the internet but you are competing with all other guests for usage. Despite booking through booking.com we were not offered free Wifi so search for specials.
-We were given a handicapped room, which was fine, however as there was no shower bay, the shower leaked all over the floor creating a mini swimming pool we tried to alleviate with towels (which weren't replenished) vs. tracking water throughout the room.
-Expensive, as are all hotels in this area, & not sure value is in line with cost
-What most stood out with us is while nice & new, overall we found the design and accommodations of this chain hotel lacking the charm of the area. Without looking out the windows, this hotel could have been in any major city in the U.S. It did not convey Iceland, or Westfjords. Being a chain, I'm not sure there is much that can be done to alleviate this however, it is a shame that this area got a new hotel which does not properly reflect all the beauty, culture & charm it has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LvtrvlLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patreksfjordur
0.3 mi away
Hotel West
Hotel West
#1 of 5 in Patreksfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guesthouse Stekkabol
Guesthouse Stekkabol
#1 of 2 in Patreksfjorour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
23.2 mi away
Flokalundur
Flokalundur
#1 of 2 in Patreksfjorour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Breidavik Guesthouse
Breidavik Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Patreksfjorour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bjarmaland
Bjarmaland
#1 of 1 in Talknafjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Latrabjarg
Hotel Latrabjarg
#2 of 2 in Patreksfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Westfjords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Westfjords

Property: Fosshotel Westfjords
Address: Adalstraeti 100, Patreksfjordur 450, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Patreksfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patreksfjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Westfjords 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Westfjords is a new 3 star hotel that opened in June 2013 in the small fishing village of Patreksfjordur in the Westfjords of Iceland.The Westfjords are known for its unique and breathtaking scenery everywhere you look. This location is the gateway to some of the greatest attraction in Iceland like Latrabjarg, the largest bird cliff in Europe, Raudisandur beach, Dynjandi waterfall and many other spectacular places in the surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fosshotel Westfjords reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing