We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place for a family retreat”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Sticklepath, Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CBurke791
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great place for a family retreat”
Reviewed 5 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The barn itself is fantastic, it is very spacious with enough beds to sleep a large family. There are plenty of bedrooms, most sleep two and some sleep 3/4.

The downstairs lounge room is very large and the pool table is great for entertaining, also there are a selection of board games which were fun to play.

The kitchen is large and spacious, there are plenty of cupboards, spaces to sit and eat, a television and a small 4 seated table. The only thing which is disappointing about the kitchen is that it only contains one tall fridge freezer, we needed more room for food and drink being that there were 11 of us altogether. There is a drinks refrigerator but it couldn’t fit all of our beer and pop in.

The garden is huge and there is plenty of space to play sports or have a paddling pool etc, and there is a table and chairs next to a barbecue which is good in the sun. The only drawbacks of the garden are that there was no parasol to shade from the sun and it has a steep small decline which the kids tumbled down a few times.

The bathrooms were all great, the shower cubicles and baths were all clean and the showers were powerful. No problems whatsoever.

My only recommendations would be:

- air conditioning because the heat in the bedrooms was unbearable at night during this heatwave we are in

- flynets for the windows because if you opened the windows to cool the room down then flies, bees and wasps would fly in

- another fridge freezer

All in all, the place is lovely and, in all fairness, most of the problems I experienced were intensified by the recent heatwave... Rock Barn was wonderful and I would strongly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanBull
Southwater, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It's own cricket ground”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed for a week with a group of friends and our kids (10 in total). Really enjoyed the spacious, open plan of the living area. A long dinning table easily accomodated us all and a very well appointed kitchen made feeding us easy. The conversion itself is a lovely job, plenty of areas to do your own thing and a 'forum-like' seating area for group comings together.
Plenty of parking space was available as were the requisite number of bathrooms and bedrooms. Effectivly this property was built with 10+ people in mind and it fits the bill perfectly.
For some of us, the kids in particular (3 and 7), the outside grassy area was the best feature. The patio outside the kitchen double doors has a large seating area that looks up onto a almost 'terrace-like' grassy area. The middle tier was perfect so setting up a little cricket pitch the upper tier for more reckless throwing and shooting of nerf darts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Grassy, tiered area
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Many thanks for you kind feedback. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay at Rock Barn, perfect for a large group with children.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Professor...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent a week at Rock Barn, total of 9 guests from kids to grand parents. Lovely barn conversion fitted with all the mod cons and finished to a very high standard. The star of the show was the pool table which kept little ones and grown ups entertained every day. Another boon was the side (end?) room with a giant TV where the kids could play and watch their own DVDs.

There are some great (and not so great) pubs and restaurants nearby in Tawton and Zeal with Okehampton only a short drive away for more variety. Rock Barn is out of the way but there are a couple of other barn or out building conversions and a large impressive looking manor house on the same plot. Ample parking for all our cars but take care not to run over the peacocks that roam around the grounds!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space, even for a large family
Liked least: Hard to find anything to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Rock Barn; it sounds like the perfect base for a family get together.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie186...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gorgeous barn conversion”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Two families of four and the grandparents stayed here and we rattled around in the accommodation! The place really does look as the pictures suggest, very luxurious and comfortable. We had tesco deliver here and everything was just as we hoped. The children love playing in the garden and literally ran around the house due to the incredible space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: Some bulbs didn't work
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It's great to hear that you have been so enjoying your stay. The spaciousness of Rock Barn really is wonderful for larger family groups.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing