We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cedars Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Hotel(Barnstaple)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Barnstaple)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durrant House(Bideford)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveller rating
225
253
135
90
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
253
135
90
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingold englishupstairs roomlovely mealwedding receptionstayed one nightsuperior roomfollowing morningbed was very comfortablehigh standardfull englishshort breakplenty of parkinga lovely stayrestaurant staffcooked breakfastbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 752 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

what can i say about this inn? absolutely fab!!! we were their for a very special 90th birthday for our mum. the staff were brilliant in making the room look amazing. the buffet was absolutely delicious and the staff were always attentive for our needs. they really helped to make it run smoothly. ask and they were there. the gardens were lovely and we were able to sit outside in the sunshine and a member of staff, adam i think, took a lovely photo of us from somewhere above!!! priceless. my room was very spacious and clean and had everything i needed in there . the rooms are all around a lovely courtyard and the gardners were in there tackling the dreaded weeds. my bed was made every day, bins emptied and tea and biscuits replenished. towels replaced. breakfast, what can i say. you will never want to eat for the rest of the day. everything you want and plentiful. and of course delicious especially the full english which is what i had but the rest looked good too. the staff were always very attentive and would get whatever you asked for. smiling all the time and very friendly. great service from all the staff. thank you all for making my stay so pleasurable. i will definitely visit again and recommend you to my friends and family.

Room Tip: choose your own. south side quieter, corner suites large and sunny or higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I am pleased to see all the team delivered as expected. I am pleased you had a fantastic time and we all look forward to seeing you again in the future.Kind regards Peter and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Pub looks nice from the outside.. Dinner was good. Wine also. However rooms very tired and need massive refurb. Begrudged the fact i needed to phone reception about non existent wifi and phone clearly not been cleaned in years! Breakfast was scarey.. Food was ok but service not the best and staff quite strict and unwelcoming. Luckily we don't have conferences in barnstaple very often!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for choosing Cedars for your conference. I can assure you we are updating our rooms on an ongoing basis. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have stayed in Many places and this hotel is a great disappointment, on arrival the reception was dirty with all paint Chipping's on the floor, .. Finally got a room key, we stayed in the pub not the hotel, omg pictures say it all, the hall is grubby and dirty, the carpets are stained including the chair outside our room, the ceiling paper is falling off , we got to our room and it stank of carpet freshener, one small window that is black with dirt we opened to breath..... The bathroom is dated and needs updating, mould in room and bathroom see pictures. We paid £100 per night, I am appalled, it should be £45 per night max. We had dinner In The restaurant, my husband asked the waitress what table was ours she showed him, he came and got me to find the table was given to someone else, we ordered dinner, the meal was great other than I asked for pepper sauce and was given mushroom. The service was terrible, we ordered a bottle of wine, the waitress plonked it in front of us unopened and no wine cooler and then abandoned us. The manager came he gave us cutlery for our soup as we had none and got us a wine cooler. Dessert was fine. Breakfast was good other than you get told, toast over there , you need to cook it yourself, we got served coffee to be told milk is by the toaster if we wanted it. The service in this hotel is disgusting. If it has stars which I need to see they should be downgraded and I will write with my complaint if they do have stars. First and last visit cedars, what you see is not what you get, be warned when booking. The second night in the dining room we ordered wine , it never came, ordered lasagne it was burnt stuck to the dish and was tasteless. Customer service yet again non existent. Never again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracey t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are acting upone your feedback to make constant improvements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

All the staff including the manager who carried my case up the stairs for me, they were so helpful and very friendly. Very comfy and clean room, lovely breakfast I would highly recommend this hotel. The grounds are lovely around the hotel and its not too far from Barnstaple or Braunton.

Room Tip: If you stay in the main building there is no lift but the manager carried my case to the room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seapath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give your review. I am pleased to see the work that has been completed in the grounds has been noticed. We invest time and money in team training and I am pleased to see my team delivered again on this occasion. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Peter Elder General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here last night as I was working away in Barnstaple
Found this hotel on the internet and very please
Wonderful food and quality breakfast (great staff and hard working Eric)
Great feel to the place and very comfortable
I had room one which was very spacious with a great bed
Disappointed with bathroom, dated and being integral with no window
Drain smell, clean but needs money spending on it

I will stay again in the future

Thank you

Brian (Lancashire)

Room Tip: As above only stayed in bedroom one
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roundtable187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedars Inn barnstaple. I am pleased that you have discovered us and would like to assure you that we are undergoing work to improve our bathrooms, this is an ongoing project. I will ensure I pass on your comments about service to Eric and the team. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews