We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Operated to a formula: one that works well.”
Review of Cedars Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedars Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sticklepath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Owned by Greene King and part of Old English Inns this establishment is operated to a tried-and-tested formula. Shareholders will be able to testify that the formula works: for investors as well as for clients.

The approach is very much Food and Beverage ………………………………… with rooms. The three acre site is well laid-out to optimise space for car parking and al fresco eating. The bedrooms are mostly situated in a secluded courtyard away from the Function Room, restaurant and bars. They are compact, without being in any way cramped with en suite shower room. All the trimmings associated with this style of establishment are to be found, with the addition of free Wi-Fi which even a septuagenarian can access without help! There is a very full programme of good-value evening entertainment, mostly tribute bands, is vigorously promoted and would appear to sell very well. These locally promoted and produced events are doubtless as profitable as they are popular.

The quality of food and service at both dinner and breakfast was good, in accordance with the established formulae. There was no danger of encountering anything new, different or particularly exciting but that isn't what this hotel is about. Mr and Mrs Average Guest can be happy with the menu choice, the presentation on the plate, texture and taste: job done.

On arrival at 1400 on a Sunday there was evidence that lunchtime had been busy. With a Carvery offering priced at £8.99 and other keenly-priced eating options the popularity of The Cedars for locals and holidaymakers alike is unsurprising. The formulaic approach includes adequate staffing with pleasant folk who have been well trained in what to do. It all seems to work very well. There were quite a few jovial antipodeans in evidence, which added to an already relaxed atmosphere.

A walk round the outside of the buildings reveals peeling paint and rotting woodwork in the vast expanse of conservatory that is the restaurant. It is earnestly to be hoped that the shareholders' dividend is not funded from a lack of maintenance on the properties. Come on, bosses, loosen the purse-strings to local management. The pool of water on the window-sill beside table 39 at breakfast on Monday 10th August will not have been the only incidence of water ingress to the conservatory area after a few showers overnight. Whilst the wallet is open, let the GM have a monthly sum to get a garden contractor in to tame the areas of dense weed and undergrowth that detract from the aesthetic opportunity afforded by the site as a whole. His remit might even be extended to the removal of moss and creeper from the roofs of the bedroom blocks!


The hotel displays a Four AA Star sign at Reception: why? It is not suggested for a moment that this rating was not properly awarded but the question remains unanswered. It really isn't Four-Star:-
• Not a mention of help with luggage on check-in.
• Rooms and bath / shower rooms are both on the small side.
• No offer of laundry / dry-cleaning in the Guest Services wallet.
• Minimalist approach to bathroom toiletries.
• No room-safe.
• No linen in the restaurant: i.e. no tablecloths and only paper serviettes.
• Restaurant chairs are a motley collection associated more with a junk shop than with interior design.
None of the above is or should be a problem to the target-market guest. Management and staff are good at what they do and clearly satisfy the needs and wants of most of their guests most of the time…………………………………… but not at a four-star level. Is this another quirk of the remote bosses in the Bury St. Edmunds Head Office?

Room Tip: Ask for a ground-floor room if you want to avoid hauling your luggage up a short but steep flight of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review not only your stay, but an indepth review of the Cedars Inn Barnstaple. The Cedars is a 4 star inn and not a 4 star Hotel, as this does have a major difference on the product being offered. Greene King have invested money on improvements and continue to do so, but being such a large / old property we would require very deep pockets to complete every thing at once. I would like to reasure you that maintenance is ongoing and the Garden contractors are working extreemly hard to keep on top of the gardens. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Cedars last December. We had a wonderful day and the staff at the Cedars were attentive throughout. All guests enjoyed the food and there was also flexibility for our vegetarian guests and the children. We would like to extend our thanks to wedding coordinator Kevin Allen and his team who ensured that our wedding day was flawless despite a few late guests!!! We also stayed at the Cedars for our wedding night and the room was spacious too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeeva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your review , I will pass on your lovely comments to Kevin and the team. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The Service was good, I had the Beef n Ale pie and found it very nice... The other half had the fish n chips, nice crispy batter...
It was a bit draughty by the door (wet and windy night) but we were asked if we wanted to move.... Our own fault...
Happy Customer

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BobScott100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I am pleased to see you have a nice meal with us at the Cedars Inn. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Live local and thought would give Cedars another visit as it has all the attributes to be a successful business, having pleasant/extensive gardens and a very good eating area set within a large conservatory. BUT.......the food lets it down. We visited for a Sunday evening carvery and felt meal was expensive given the choice of vegetables and small servings of meat. Also the remains of food from previous diners was on the carpet around a number of tables which did not give a good impression and could so easily have been dealt with.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AnotherTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry to see you did not have the best experiance at Cedars. The Carvey is very popular and I believe on the day you came - we were training a new chef on the carvery. Thank you for your review. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We knew we would have a new puppy by the time our trip to Devon was upon us, so set about finding suitable accommodation.

When we contacted the hotel to confirm they were "dog friendly" the receptionist was excellent in dealing with our enquiries, making sure one of the appropriate rooms was allocated.

She also helped with suggestions on what to bring, and explained how the hotel layout, food options, and location would be perfect for our stay with our new addition.

The hotel room suited us perfectly, We had dinner in the pub/restaurant with our puppy sat contentedly by our side in the garden. I had a very early start (pre breakfast timing), but was delighted when my request for a breakfast pack to take with me was met with a "sure no problem". My husband did enjoy the full English breakfast included in our rate, and said it was excellent. We will definitely return. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: There are many room options - a quick call to the hotel will help you get your room and location pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bandjotg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I am pleased to see my team delivered on all requests. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and good luck with the new puppy. Kind regards Peter and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a superior room which we had booked on laterooms for £65. Our room was in the main building. Room 1 - the Tarka room. It was a nice big room with a very comfy bed. Couldn't fault the cleanliness of the room, the bed linen or the towels. Some furniture looked rather tired. The two issues that we had were with the bathroom. The shower head is fixed into the wall and it would be fine if you were under 5ft tall but we had to duck to wash! The second problem was the loo. It took around 5 minutes to fill once flushed and the flush was hopeless. It couldn't even cope with two squares of loo paper. We reported it to Reception who said they would get maintenance to look at it. Breakfast was fine in the conservatory and all the staff were really friendly.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Peeweebones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I would like to thank you for your review. We will ensure when the rooms are refurbished, we will not put fixed shower heads in again, this should remove the problem for tall people ... The toilet systems have now been upgraded to eco systems and will flush immediately - even if just flushed. Thank you for your comments. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We decided to go to the cedars for a meal on the first night of a week holiday. On first impressions it seemed very nice and we ordered our meal. On the arrival of my steak and ale pie I took the first mouthful to find it was stone cold in the centre!!!! Obviously they took the meal back to get me a fresh one whilst my wife ate hers and by the time mine arrived back she was finished leaving both of us pretty much to eat alone. I must admit that the second meal, though hot was far from great.
To make matters worse the couple on the table next to us also sent a meal back! To make matters worse we were ask to pay the meal in full.
We are staying within a short walking distance from the Cedars all week but can assure you we will NOT be returning there not even for so much as a drink!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I am extreemly sorry to see you did not have the best experiance at the Cedars, I have passed you comments on to the team and we will use your feedback to make improvements. Kind regards Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sticklepath
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,586 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
571 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
6.1 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Inn

Address: Bickington Road, Sticklepath, Barnstaple EX31 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Sticklepath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sticklepath
Price Range: £66 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Hotel Barnstaple

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing